amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

9781773216386_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $29.99
edition:Audiobook
also available: Hardcover Paperback eBook
published: May 2022
ISBN:9781773216386
publisher: Annick Press

The Queen of Junk Island

by Alexandra Mae Jones, read by Katherine King So

tagged: lgbt, ghost stories, self-esteem & self-reliance
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $29.99
edition:Audiobook
also available: Hardcover Paperback eBook
published: May 2022
ISBN:9781773216386
publisher: Annick Press
Description

 

From debut author Alexandra Mae Jones comes a compelling, nuanced exploration of bi identity and body image with a ghostly backdrop—perfect for fans of Nina Lacour. 

Still reeling from a recent trauma, sixteen-year-old Dell is relieved when her mom suggests a stay at the family cabin. But the much-needed escape quickly turns into a disaster. The lake and woods are awash in trash left by a previous tenant. And worse, Dell’s mom has invited her boyfriend’s daughter to stay with them. Confident, irreverent Ivy presses all of Dell's buttons--somehow making Dell’s shame and self-consciousness feel even more acute. Yet Dell is drawn to Ivy in a way she doesn't fully understand. As Dell uncovers secrets in the wreckage of her family's past--secrets hinted at through troubling dreams and strange apparitions--Ivy leads her toward thrilling, if confusing, revelations about her sexuality and identity.

Set during a humid summer in the mid-2000s, The Queen of Junk Island simmers with the intensity of a teenage girl navigating the suffocating expectations of everyone around her.

 

About the Authors

Alexandra Mae Jones

ALEXANDRA MAE JONES is a queer writer based in Toronto. Her short fiction has been published in several literary magazines, and she is a freelance reporter for CTVNews.ca.

Author profile page >

Katherine King So

ALEXANDRA MAE JONES is a queer writer based in Toronto. Her short fiction has been published in several literary magazines, and she is a freelance reporter for CTVNews.ca.

Author profile page >
Contributor Notes

 

ALEXANDRA MAE JONES is a queer writer based in Toronto. Her short fiction has been published in several literary magazines, and she is a freelance reporter for CTVNews.ca. She is the 2020 Prairie Fire Fiction Contest winner.

 

KATHARINE KING SO is an actor, artist, and filmmaker. Katharine is a graduate of the Mel Hoppenheim School of Cinema at Concordia University and Black Theatre Workshop's Artist Mentorship Program. As a queer, half-Asian woman, her work aims towards insight into reclamation and visibility. She acknowledges those who have come before her to lay a groundwork for LGBTQ2S+ and BIPOC individuals in media.

 

Recommended Age and Grade
Age:
16 to 18
Grade:
10 to 12

Buy the e-book: