amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Young Adult Fiction

Showing 1-10 of 2737 books

rated!
rated!

Like Home

by Louisa Onomé
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 13 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: prejudice & racism, coming of age, friendship

A poignant and incandescent debut that explores the bonds of community and what it really means to change

Chinelo—or Nelo, as her best friend, Kate, calls her—is all about her neighbourhood, Ginger East. She loves its chill vibe, its ride-or-die sense of community and the memories she has of growing up there. Ginger East isn’t what it used to …

rated!
rated!

Fight Like a Girl

by Sheena Kamal
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: diversity & multicultural, martial arts, parents

Award-winning thriller writer Sheena Kamal delivers a kick-ass debut YA novel about a teenage kick-boxer coming to terms with her father passing away.

Love and violence. In some families they're bound up together, dysfunctional and poisonous, passed from generation to generation like eye color or a quirk of smile. Trisha's trying to break the chain, …

rated!
rated!

Echoes and Empires

by Morgan Rhodes
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged:

From the New York Times bestselling author of the Falling Kingdoms series comes the first book in a brand-new duology about forbidden magic and dangerous secrets, for readers of Victoria Aveyard and Margaret Rogerson.

Josslyn Drake knows only three things about magic: it’s rare, illegal, and always deadly.
 
So when she’s caught up in a robbery …

rated!
rated!

Tess of the Road

by Rachel Hartman
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: medieval

From award-winning Rachel Hartman, Tess of the Road is a tour de force and an exquisite feminist fantasy.

In the medieval kingdom of Goredd, women are expected to be ladies, men are their protectors and dragons get to be whomever they want. Tess, stubbornly, is a troublemaker. You can't make a scene at your sister's wedding and break a relative's no …

rated!
rated!

When Life Gives You Demons

by Jennifer Honeybourn
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 13 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: contemporary

A smart and funny young adult novel from the author ofWesley James Ruined My Life, Jennifery Honeybourn, about a girl who fights demons for a living.
Some people have school spirit.

Shelby Black has real ones.

Shelby Black has spent the past six months training to be an exorcist. Her great-uncle Roy—a Catholic priest—has put her through exorcist …

rated!
rated!

How Not to Fall in Love

by Jacqueline Firkins
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: contemporary

A hardened cynic and a hopeless romantic teach each other about love in this swoony and heartful romance that’s perfect for fans of Tweet Cute and The Upside of Falling.

Harper works in her mom’s wedding shop, altering dresses for petulant and picky brides who are more focused on hemlines than love. After years of watching squabbles break out o …

rated!
rated!

The Story of My Life Ongoing, by C.S. Cobb

by Candas Jane Dorsey
edition: eBook
tagged: friendship, coming of age, lgbt

It's not easy "choosing not to choose," especially for a nonbinary teen in 2007.

Corey was born intersex, but their father and stepmother didn’t make a big deal about it. Then Corey’s dad dies suddenly. Now Corey’s disapproving mother wants Corey to "pick a side". Corey’s old enough to say no to medical intervention—but not old enough to av …

rated!
rated!

The Lost Ones: An AFK Novel (Bendy #2)

by Adrienne Kress
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: monsters, horror, thrillers & suspense

An all-new original novel from the twisted world of the hit horror video game, Bendy!

 

Atlantic City, 1946. Bill, Constance and Brant can’t help but feel like they are missing out on life. Bill craves an existence outside of his father’s influence. Brant is willing to play a dangerous game to further his career and make a name for himself. Const …

rated!
rated!

The Big Reveal

by Jen Larsen
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: dating & sex

Addie is a talented dancer, a true-blue friend, and a fat, fierce, and driven young woman. When she's accepted into the prestigious dance company of her dreams, she thinks nothing can bring her down—until she realizes she doesn't have enough money to go. Refusing to give up, Addie and her friends decide to put on a top-secret, invitation-only bu …

Show editions

Sub-categories