amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Young Adult Fiction

Showing 1-10 of 2819 books

rated!
rated!

Tell Me When You Feel Something

by Vicki Grant
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: thrillers & suspense, drugs, alcohol, substance abuse, sexual abuse

The perfect after-school job turns deadly for teens working as "simulated patients" at the local med school. Everyone has something to hide and no one is safe in this contemporary YA thriller that exposes the dark reality of #MeToo in the world of medicine, for fans of Karen McManus and Holly Jackson.

It seemed like a cool part-time program — bei …

rated!
rated!

White Lies

by Sara de Waard
edition: Paperback
  • age: 13 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: death & dying, parents, sexual abuse)

Missy’s sweet sixteenth is just around the corner, but her last three birthdays haven’t exactly been cause for celebration. Her beloved little brother died when she turned thirteen and now birthdays are just painful reminders of the void in their lives. If only she had walked him to school that morning, like she was supposed to ...

To add fuel t …

rated!
rated!

The Limitless Sky

by Christina Kilbourne
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 15
  • Grade: 7 to 10
tagged: dystopian, survival stories, recycling & green living

Rook and Gage live worlds apart — but somehow they must find a way to help one another survive.

Trapped in a life she didn’t choose, Rook struggles to find meaning in her appointed role as an apprentice Keeper of ArHK. Even though her mam soothes her with legends of the Outside and her da assures her there are many interesting facts to discover …

rated!
rated!

Jasper's Road

by Susan White
edition: Paperback
tagged: coming of age

Jasper's Road is the follow up to Susan White's popular novels Ten Thousand Truths and Waiting for Still Water. Life on the Walton Lake Road changes for Jasper Williams when Jake Turner moves to the farm to be fostered by Rachel and Ryan. Jasper finds his confidence shaken and the very essence of who he believes himself to be and where he belongs, …

rated!
rated!

The Queen of Junk Island

by Alexandra Mae Jones, read by Katherine King So
edition: Audiobook
also available: Hardcover eBook
  • age: 16 to 18
  • Grade: 10 to 12
tagged: lgbt, ghost stories, self-esteem & self-reliance

 

From debut author Alexandra Mae Jones comes a compelling, nuanced exploration of bi identity and body image with a ghostly backdrop—perfect for fans of Nina Lacour. 

Still reeling from a recent trauma, sixteen-year-old Dell is relieved when her mom suggests a stay at the family cabin. But the much-needed escape quickly turns into a disaster. The …

rated!
rated!

Throwaway Daughter

by Ting-Xing Ye, with William Bell
edition: Paperback
also available: Paperback
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: asia, adoption, coming of age

A Canadian teenager travels to China to explore her ancestry and search for her birth mother in a dramatic and moving YA novel.

Throwaway Daughter tells the story of Grace Dong-mei Parker, whose biggest concern is how to distill her adoption from China into the neat blanks of her personal history assignment. Aside from the unwelcome reminders of di …

rated!
rated!

Swimming in the Monsoon Sea

by Shyam Selvadurai
edition: Paperback
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: lgbt, new experience, asia

Amrith comes to terms with his sexuality in this sweeping coming-of-age story set against the stormy backdrop of monsoon season in 1980s Sri Lanka. For fans of Call Me By Your Name.

Shyam Selvadurai’s brilliant novels, Funny Boy and Cinnamon Gardens, have garnered him international acclaim. In his first young adult novel, now with a new cover, he …

Show editions

Sub-categories