amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Young Adult Fiction

Showing 1-10 of 2430 books

rated!
rated!

Lies My Memory Told Me

by Sacha Wunsch
edition: eBook
  • age: 13 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: thrillers & suspense, coming of age, parents

From thrilling debut voice Sacha Wunsch comes a heart-stopping psychological mystery in a world where memories can be shared—and one girl can’t trust any of them.
Enhanced Memory changed everything. By sharing someone else’s memory, you can experience anything and everything with no risk at all: learn any skill instantly, travel the world fro …

rated!
rated!

Reversing Time

One Boy's Quest to Change History

by Charlotte Mendel
edition: Paperback
tagged: literary, recycling & green living, time travel

A fast-paced fantasy YA novel that explores vital themes in today’s society – such as climate change and the environment – within the context of an exciting page-turner. This timely adventure story will empower and excite young people at the same time

rated!
rated!

For King and Country

by Gloria Wesley
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: canada, war & military, military & wars, prejudice & racism

At seventeen,, Will Westley lies about his age to try to enlist to fight in the First World War. He is determined to make his late father proud and take care of his mother. After several unsuccessful attempts — he is rejected for his color, not his age — Will is finally accepted. He is eager and proud to join the #2 Black Battalion — Canada's …

rated!
rated!

Facing the Sun

by Janice Lynn Mather
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: coming of age, class differences, friendship

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants meets The Education of Margot Sanchez in this Caribbean-set “heartwarming and sincere” (Kirkus Reviews) story about four friends who experience unexpected changes in their lives during the summer when a hotel developer purchases their community’s beloved beach.

Change is coming to Pinder Street…
Eve is …

rated!
rated!

Swallow

by Sam Schill
edition: Paperback
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: black comedy

Revenge is a dish best served cold.

The students at Roanoke High School have created a soundtrack that runs constantly in Mildred Waco’s mind . . .

Change your hair, Mildred.

Change your face, Mildred.

Change your body, Mildred.

Everyone hates you, Mildred.

Are you really going to wear that, Mildred?

The stares, the snickers, the constant teasing—c …

rated!
rated!

Salvation

by Caryn Lix
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: alien contact, thrillers & suspense, emotions & feelings

When Kenzie and her friends find themselves trapped on a strange planet, they must risk everything to save themselves and Earth in this thrilling final book in the Sanctuary trilogy.

Fall down seven times, get up eight.
These are the words Kenzie has always lived by. The problem is, she’s fallen down too many times to count.
Kenzie and her friend …

rated!
rated!

Hunted by the Sky

by Tanaz Bhathena
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: epic, class differences, girls & women

A riveting story of discovery, forbidden romance and idealism against all odds, set in a fantasy world inspired in part by Indian history and myth. For fans of Sabaa Tahir and Tomi Adeyemi.

Gul has spent her life running. She has a star-shaped birthmark on her arm, and in the kingdom of Ambar, girls with such birthmarks have been disappearing for y …

rated!
rated!

Nothing Can Possibly Go Wrong

by Prudence Shen, illustrated by Faith Erin Hicks
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover Paperback
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: humorous

You wouldn't expect Nate and Charlie to be friends.
Charlie’s the laid-back captain of the basketball team. Nate is the neurotic, scheming president of the robotics club. But they are friends, however unlikely—until Nate declares war on the cheerleaders and the cheerleaders retaliate by making Charlie their figurehead in the ugliest class elec …

Show editions