amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Children's Fiction

Showing 1-10 of 15555 books

rated!
rated!

Sylvie

by Jean Reidy, illustrated by Lucy Ruth Cummins
edition: eBook
  • age: 4 to 8
  • Grade: p to 3
tagged: insects, spiders, etc., friendship, city & town life

One small spider takes a big risk to bring together the people she watches over in her apartment building in this charming picture book from the celebrated author and illustrator of Truman.

Sylvie hangs on a silvery thread, safely hidden under her damp, dark fire escape. Sure, it’s a little too close to the dumpster below, but if she stays carefu …

rated!
rated!

Tanna's Lemming

by Rachel Qitsualik-Tinsley & Sean Qitsualik-Tinsley, illustrated by Tamara Campeau
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 6 to 8
  • Grade: 1 to 3
tagged: mice, hamsters, guinea pigs, etc., values & virtues, native canadian, polar regions

“Stories have hearts, just like people. And the heart of this story is true, even if the things said or done have been switched around a bit.”

In this follow-up to the critically acclaimed Tanna’s Owl, Tanna finds a small, grey lemming, far too cute to turn over to the scientist who has sent the children out to gather lemmings for his research …

rated!
rated!

The First Cat in Space Ate Pizza

by Mac Barnett, illustrated by Shawn Harris
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: science fiction, animals, action & adventure, cats, humorous

New York Times bestselling Mac Barnett and Caldecott Honor award-winning illustrator Shawn Harris turn their massively popular The First Cat in Space Ate Pizza live cartoon into an action-packed and hysterical graphic novel series—perfect for fans of Dav Pilkey, Raina Telgemeier, and Jeff Kinney. A Kids' Indie Next List Pick!

Something terrible i …

rated!
rated!

A Garden of Creatures

by Sheila Heti, illustrated by Esmé Shapiro
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 4 to 8
  • Grade: p to 3
tagged: death & dying, rabbits, friendship

A tender and deeply moving picture book about loss and the big questions it leaves behind from New York Times bestselling author Sheila Heti and acclaimed illustrator Esmé Shapiro.

Two bunnies and a cat live happily together in a beautiful garden. But when the big bunny passes away, the little bunny is unsure how to fill the void she left behind. A …

rated!
rated!

Spirit of Summerwood

by Vivien Gorham
edition: Paperback
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: horses, equestrian

A stand-alone follow-up to award-winning middle grade novel Touch of Gold, set at a horse camp with a mysterious past, featuring themes of allyship, friendship, and activism.

It's finally summer, and for twelve-year-old Aislinn, that means two sweet, uninterrupted weeks at her favourite place in the world — Summerwood Farm. At Summerwood's all-gi …

rated!
rated!

Lizzy and the Cloud

illustrated by Terry Fan & Eric Fan
edition: eBook
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 4 to 8
  • Grade: p to 3
tagged: fantasy & magic, imagination & play, emotions & feelings

From the critically acclaimed, award-winning creators of Ocean Meets Sky and The Night Gardener comes a whimsical and sweet tale of a young girl who cares for her pet cloud as it grows.

It’s a little out of fashion to buy a pet cloud, but Lizzy doesn’t mind. She’s not looking for a big one or a fancy one, just one that’s right for her. And …

rated!
rated!

Où est ma fille?

by Margaret Pokiak-Fenton & Christy Jordan-Fenton, illustrated by Gabrielle Grimard
edition: Paperback
  • age: 6 to 9
  • Grade: 1 to 4
tagged: native canadian, emotions & feelings

 

See below for English description.

Après deux années passées à l’école loin de chez elle, Margaret est excitée à l’idée de rentrer à la maison, dans l’Arctique, et de retrouver sa famille. Mais la réaction de sa mère n’est pas celle qu’elle espérait. Margaret a changé. Elle a oublié comment chasser et pêcher, et elle a mêm …

rated!
rated!

Goodnight, Anne

by Kallie George, illustrated by Geneviève Godbout
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged: bedtime & dreams, emotions & feelings, orphans & foster homes

A beautiful bedtime picture book based on the best-selling Anne of Green Gables, introducing the irrepressible and beloved Anne to younger readers. It's time for Anne to go to bed, but not before she wishes goodnight to everyone and everything she loves!

Under the watchful eye of her adoptive mother Marilla, Anne has come to cherish life at Green G …

rated!
rated!

Scaredy Squirrel In a Nutshell

by Mélanie Watt
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 6 to 9
  • Grade: 1 to 4
tagged: animals, self-esteem & self-reliance, humorous

The time is now for this anxious little guy: Scaredy Squirrel is back with a brand-new graphic novel series! He's funnier (and scared-ier) than ever, and perfect for readers of Narwhal and Jelly. Now in paperback!

Scaredy is happy to stay in his nut tree. Why would he ever leave? The outside is filled with dangers. Like aliens! And dust! And a cert …

Show editions

Sub-categories