amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Lgbt

Showing 1-10 of 129 books

rated!
rated!

The Queen of Junk Island

by Alexandra Mae Jones, read by Katherine King So
edition: Audiobook
also available: eBook
  • age: 16 to 18
  • Grade: 10 to 12
tagged: lgbt, ghost stories, self-esteem & self-reliance

 

From debut author Alexandra Mae Jones comes a compelling, nuanced exploration of bi identity and body image with a ghostly backdrop—perfect for fans of Nina Lacour. 

Still reeling from a recent trauma, sixteen-year-old Dell is relieved when her mom suggests a stay at the family cabin. But the much-needed escape quickly turns into a disaster. The …

rated!
rated!

Swimming in the Monsoon Sea

by Shyam Selvadurai
edition: Paperback
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: lgbt, new experience, asia

Amrith comes to terms with his sexuality in this sweeping coming-of-age story set against the stormy backdrop of monsoon season in 1980s Sri Lanka. For fans of Call Me By Your Name.

Shyam Selvadurai’s brilliant novels, Funny Boy and Cinnamon Gardens, have garnered him international acclaim. In his first young adult novel, now with a new cover, he …

rated!
rated!

Wish Upon a Satellite

by Sophie Labelle
edition: Paperback
  • age: 13 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: lgbt, friendship, dating & sex

The glaciers are melting and the climate crisis is on their mind, but nothing shakes the foundations of non-binary teen Ciel’s world more than sharing an unexpected kiss with their best friend, Stephie. Everything they thought was clear is suddenly all mixed up—and that’s without the new problems at school: sexting, peer pressure, and overdue …

rated!
rated!

Bruised

by Tanya Boteju
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: lgbt, self-esteem & self-reliance, death & dying

“A searing portrait of self-discovery; soulful and captivating.” —Kirkus Reviews
Whip It meets We Are Okay in this vibrant coming-of-age story about a teen girl navigating first love, identity, and grief as she immerses herself in the colorful, brutal, beautiful world of roller derby—from the acclaimed author of Kings, Queens, and In-Betwee …

rated!
rated!

The Story of My Life Ongoing, by C.S. Cobb

by Candas Jane Dorsey
edition: eBook
tagged: friendship, coming of age, lgbt

It's not easy "choosing not to choose," especially for a nonbinary teen in 2007.

Corey was born intersex, but their father and stepmother didn’t make a big deal about it. Then Corey’s dad dies suddenly. Now Corey’s disapproving mother wants Corey to "pick a side". Corey’s old enough to say no to medical intervention—but not old enough to av …

rated!
rated!

I Hope You're Listening

by Tom Ryan
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 13 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: thrillers & suspense, lgbt, mysteries & detective stories

2021 Lambda Literary Award - LGBTQ Mystery
2022 ALA Rainbow Book List

In her small town, seventeen year-old Delia "Dee" Skinner is known as the girl who wasn't taken. Ten years ago, she witnessed the abduction of her best friend, Sibby. And though she told the police everything she remembered, it wasn't enough. Sibby was never seen again. At night, …

rated!
rated!

Urchin

by Kate Story
edition: Paperback
tagged: paranormal, occult & supernatural, lgbt, canada

Disguised as a boy, Dor volunteers to work with Guiglielmo Marconi on his wireless radio experiments in St. John's, Newfoundland. But forces beyond nature are also at play, and Dor may have to sabotage Marconi's efforts in order to save her mother from the fairies who have kidnapped her.

Show editions

Sub-categories