amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Coming Of Age

Showing 1-10 of 128 books

rated!
rated!

Barry Squires, Full Tilt

by Heather Smith
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 100
  • Grade: 7 to 17
tagged: coming of age, self-esteem & self-reliance

Barry Squires, Full Tilt takes readers on a romp through the streets of St. John's and into the Squires household, a place where tragedy strikes but love prevails. Derry Girls meets Billy Elliot with an East coast twist.

It's 1995. When the Full Tilt Dancers give an inspiring performance at the opening of the new bingo hall, twelve-year-old Finbar ( …

rated!
rated!

Facing the Sun

by Janice Lynn Mather
edition: eBook
  • age: 14 to 99
  • Grade: 9 to 17
tagged: coming of age, friendship, class differences

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants meets The Education of Margot Sanchez in this Caribbean-set story about four friends who experience unexpected changes in their lives during the summer when a hotel developer purchases their community’s beloved beach.

Change is coming to Pinder Street…
Eve is the rock in her family of seven, the one they al …

rated!
rated!

He Must Like You

by Danielle Younge-Ullman
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 100
  • Grade: 9 to 17
tagged: coming of age, dating & sex, girls & women

An authentic, angry, and surprisingly funny and romantic novel about sexual harassment, from the award-winning author of Everything Beautiful Is Not Ruined.

Libby's having a rough senior year. Her older brother absconded with his college money and is bartending on a Greek island. Her dad just told her she's got to pay for college herself, and he's e …

rated!
rated!

The Beauty of the Moment

by Tanaz Bhathena
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 100
  • Grade: 7 to 17
tagged: contemporary, coming of age, diversity & multicultural

Susan dreams of being an artist. Malcolm wants to move him and his sister out of a bad living situation. Sparks fly when the two teens meet at a fundraiser for Syrian refugees. A Canadian YA romance for fans of The Sun is Also a Star.

Susan is the new girl -- she's sharp and driven, and strives to meet her parents' expectations of excellence. Malco …

rated!
rated!

90 Days of Different

by Eric Walters
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover eBook
  • age: 12 to 100
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: self-esteem & self-reliance, friendship, coming of age

On the last day of high school, Sophie's boyfriend breaks up with her. It turns out he thinks she is too predictable, too responsible, too mature...too boring.
When Sophie turns to her best friend, Ella, for comfort and reassurance, Ella just confirms what her boyfriend has said. And that hurts even more.
Then Ella comes up with a plan to help S …

rated!
rated!

You Don't Have To Die In The End

by Anita Daher
edition: Paperback
tagged: coming of age

Eugenia Grimm is a tough girl living in a tough town at the foothills of the Rocky Mountains. She drinks and fights and pushes against expectations. She is also hurting. After her father died by suicide on her eight birthday her older brothers drifted away and her mother up and left when she turned 14. Eugenia has not made the best choices. After a …

rated!
rated!

The Field Guide to the North American Teenager

by Ben Philippe
edition: Paperback
  • age: 13 to 100
  • Grade: 8 to 17
tagged: emigration & immigration, coming of age

Morris Award Finalist for Best Debut YA Novel of the Year!

A hilarious YA contemporary realistic novel about a witty Black French Canadian teen who moves to Austin, Texas, and experiences the joys, clichés, and awkward humiliations of the American high school experience—including falling in love. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon, When Dimple Met R …

rated!
rated!

Age of Unreason

The X Gang

by Warren Kinsella
edition: eBook
  • age: 15 to 18
  • Grade: 10 to 13
tagged: coming of age, music, drugs, alcohol, substance abuse

The X Gang must stand up for their beliefs in a changing world.

A new face of violence and hate has come to Portland, Maine, and the punks in the X Gang find themselves targeted once again. It is the early eighties, and the youth subculture they have grown up in is changing. Kurt, X, and the others have reluctantly concluded that they are unlikely t …

Show editions