amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Coming Of Age

Showing 1-10 of 159 books

rated!
rated!

Both Sides Now

by Peyton Thomas
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: lgbt, coming of age

A witty and warm-hearted novel about a trans teen finding his place in the world perfect for fans of Red, White and Royal Blue
 

There’s only one thing standing between Finch Kelly and a full-blown case of high school senioritis: the National Speech & Debate Tournament. Taking home the gold would not only be the pinnacle of Finch’s debating car …

rated!
rated!

Facing the Sun

by Janice Lynn Mather
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: coming of age, class differences, friendship

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants meets The Education of Margot Sanchez in this Caribbean-set “heartwarming and sincere” (Kirkus Reviews) story about four friends who experience unexpected changes in their lives during the summer when a hotel developer purchases their community’s beloved beach.

Change is coming to Pinder Street…
Eve is …

rated!
rated!

Tremendous Things

by Susin Nielsen
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: friendship, coming of age

From Governor General's Literary Award--winning author Susin Nielsen comes a funny and heartfelt story about learning how to rise above your most embarrassing moment with humor, best friends and a killer triangle solo.

We all have moments that define us. For the comically clueless Wilbur, his moment happened on the first day of middle school, when s …

rated!
rated!

Green Glass Ghosts

by Rae Spoon, illustrated by Gem Hall
edition: Paperback
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: lgbt, self-esteem & self-reliance, coming of age

From writer and musician Rae Spoon: a rollicking yet introspective young adult adventure about screwing up, finding yourself, and forging a new life on your own.

At age nineteen in the year 2000, the queer narrator of Green Glass Ghosts steps off a bus on Granville Street in downtown Vancouver, a city where the faceless condo towers of the wealthy l …

rated!
rated!

Athabasca

by Harry Kleinhuis
edition: eBook
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: parents, coming of age, canada, depression

Jack is 14 going on 15. For the past seven years, he and his younger brother and sister, and his mother and father, have lived in a remote cabin on the Athabasca River west of Edmonton. It's the late 1930s, and the river is almost as wild and untamed as it was before humans began settling along the riverbanks.

The reason for the Whyte family living …

rated!
rated!

Cowboys Don't Cry

by Marilyn Halvorson
edition: Paperback
also available: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: coming of age

Shane Morgan's world is shattered when his mother is killed in a car accident. His father and hero, a famous rodeo star, drowns his sorrow in booze and soon is just a rodeo clown with a drinking problem. Then the two inherit a small ranch, and Shane looks forward to having a real home, making friends, and getting through a whole school year in the …

rated!
rated!

Cowboys Don't Quit

by Marilyn Halvorson
edition: Paperback
also available: Paperback eBook
  • age: 12 to 17
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: coming of age

In Cowboys Don't Cry, Shane and dad finally settled into a new life on a ranch in Deer Valley, Alberta. They'd been through some rough times after Shane's mother died in a car accident and his father was drinking too much. But all that was behind them and they were getting along fine together. Or so Shane thought.

Now, in Cowboys Don't Quit, his dad …

rated!
rated!

Black Beach

by Glynis Guevara, read by Raven Dauda
edition: Audiobook
also available: Paperback eBook
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: coming of age, caribbean & latin america, girls & women

 

Sixteen-year-old Tamera lives in La Cresta, a rural fishing community on a Caribbean island. Despite having the support of relatives, including her dad, Earl, her elder sister, Mary and her best friend and first cousin, Jan, she struggles to deal with her mom’s mental health issues and the absence of her boyfriend, Dalton who moves out of the vi …

rated!
rated!

The Discovery of Flight

by Susan Glickman, read by Shauna Haracka
edition: Audiobook
also available: Paperback eBook
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: girls & women, death & dying, coming of age

 

The Discovery of Flight is a novel in two voices about the relationship between two sisters, the older of whom is disabled by cerebral palsy and only able to communicate with assistive technology (she can control her computer by moving her eyes). It interweaves the fantasy novel sixteen-year-old Libby is writing for Sophie’s thirteenth birthday, …

Show editions

Sub-categories