Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Children's Fiction Poetry (see Also Stories In Verse)

Catch the Sky

by (author) Robert Heidbreder

illustrated by Emily Dove

Publisher
Greystone Books Ltd
Initial publish date
Sep 2020
Category
Poetry (see also Stories in Verse), Diversity & Multicultural, General, Imagination & Play, Seasons
Recommended Age
3 to 8
Recommended Grade
p to 4
  • Hardback

    ISBN
    9781771646314
    Publish Date
    Sep 2020
    List Price
    $22.95

Classroom Resources

Where to buy it

Description

“Clever and effective for the pre- and primary school nature shelves.”—Kirkus

In the vein of Jack Prelutsky and Dennis Lee comes a celebration of the sky with thirty zippy poems that will lift kids’ spirits and let their imaginations soar.

What do you see when you look up at the sky? In this “lyrical” picture book (Booklist) for ages 3-8, the award-winning and critically-acclaimed children’s poet, Robert Heidbreder, shares thirty memorable poems that capture the magic and beauty of all the wonderful things kids can see when they gaze at the sky. Gorgeous illustrations by artist and naturalist Emily Dove depict a diverse cast of children playing and cheering under a sky filled with birds and balloons, snow and shooting stars, sunflowers and falling leaves, and helicopters and kites.

“A multicultural cast of children are shown reveling in the outdoors. Readers are encouraged to observe and appreciate the natural world around them.”
Booklist

About the authors

Robert Heidbreder was born in Illinois but now lives in British Columbia. He has enchanted children with his joyful poems and rhymes for more than two decades. A former elementary school teacher (and winner of the Prime Minister's Award for Teaching Excellence), he believes that children's love of silly and absurd combinations of words makes them natural poets. His books include Eenie Meenie Manitoba, Don't Eat Spiders, I Wished for a Unicorn, Drumheller Dinosaur Dance, Python Play, See Saw Saskatchewan, Crocodiles Say, A Sea-Wishing Day, Lickety-Split, Crocodiles Play, Shake-Awakes, Noisy Poems for a Busy Day, Black and Bittern Was Night and Song for a Summer Night.

Robert Heidbreder's profile page

Emily Dove's profile page

Editorial Reviews

“Inviting…these lighthearted poems will entertain the youngest nature and poetry enthusiasts.”
Publishers Weekly

“Deceptively simple... clever and effective for the pre- and primary school nature shelves….this author makes the rhyming, alliteration, and scansion seem effortless.”
Kirkus Reviews

“A multicultural cast of children are shown revelling in the outdoors and witnessing much of what it has to offer. … Readers are encouraged to observe and appreciate the natural world around them.”
Booklist

“Each page spread has a stunning illustration as well as a poem that features air. These poems talk about the importance of air, the recreation we enjoy with it and more. Love!”
Book Nerd Mommy (blog)

Other titles by Robert Heidbreder

Related lists