amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Poetry (see Also Stories In Verse)

Showing 1-10 of 68 books

rated!
rated!

Little You / Gidagaashiinh

by Richard Van Camp, illustrated by Julie Flett, translated by Angela Mesic & Margaret Noodin
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 5
  • Grade: p to k
tagged: new baby, poetry (see also stories in verse), nursery rhymes

Richard Van Camp, internationally renowned storyteller and bestselling author of Welcome Song for Baby and We Sang You Home, has partnered with talented illustrator Julie Flett to create a tender board book for babies and toddlers that honors the child in everyone. With its delightful contemporary illustrations, Little You is perfect to be shared, …

rated!
rated!

Sunny Days

by Deborah Kerbel, illustrated by Miki Sato
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 5
  • Grade: p to k
tagged: seasons, poetry (see also stories in verse), weather, camping & outdoor activities

 

With more enticing collage art and sparkling rhyme from the creators of Snow Days, a preschooler’s celebration of sunny weather and all the activities it makes possible

Morning sun, golden skies
Softly waking sleepy eyes

For preschoolers, sunny days are full of possibility. A sunbeam on the ground is the perfect place to curl up with a furry frie …

rated!
rated!

The Sun is a Shine

by Leslie A. Davidson, illustrated by Slavka Kolesar
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 0 to 2
  • Grade: p
tagged: weather, poetry (see also stories in verse), seasons, non-classifiable

A gentle and poetic board book about weather systems across the world. Young readers will enjoy meeting children from around the globe and experiencing the phenomena of the sky as each child thanks Mother Earth for bringing the sun, wind, rain, snow, lightning and thunder to them. Magical illustrations enhance evocative text in a delightful blend …

rated!
rated!

My Heart Beats

by Rina Singh
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 0 to 2
  • Grade: p
tagged: emotions & feelings, love & romance, poetry (see also stories in verse), sounds

No matter what language we speak, no matter where we live in the world, our hearts beat with the same rhythm. We may hear and say the sounds differently—doki doki in Japanese, tu tump tu tump in Italian, dugeun dugeun in Korean, dhak dhak in Urdu, boum boum in French and thump thump in English—but when our hearts beat, all the sounds mean the s …

rated!
rated!

The Night Is Deep and Wide

by Gillian Sze, illustrated by Sue Todd
edition: eBook
  • age: 0 to 2
  • Grade: p to 17
tagged: bedtime & dreams, poetry (see also stories in verse), stories in verse

Rich imagery, gentle rhythm and soothing repetition will lull your little one to sleep as the tulips close for the night, one by one. In this bedtime story written as an Italian villanelle, poet Gillian Sze makes use of the poetic forms of cyclic pattern and rhyme scheme to create a melodious lullaby.

A young child comes in from picking flowers as t …

rated!
rated!

Catch the Sky

by Robert Heidbreder, illustrated by Emily Dove
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 8
  • Grade: p to 4
tagged: poetry (see also stories in verse), imagination & play, seasons, non-classifiable

“Clever and effective for the pre- and primary school nature shelves.”—Kirkus 

In the vein of Jack Prelutsky and Dennis Lee comes a celebration of the sky with thirty zippy poems that will lift kids’ spirits and let their imaginations soar.

What do you see when you look up at the sky? In this “lyrical” picture book (Booklist) for ages 3-8 …

Show editions