amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Poetry (see Also Stories In Verse)

Showing 1-10 of 61 books

rated!
rated!

Little You / Gidagaashiinh

by Richard Van Camp, illustrated by Julie Flett, translated by Angela Mesic & Margaret Noodin
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 5
  • Grade: p to k
tagged: new baby, poetry (see also stories in verse), nursery rhymes

Richard Van Camp, internationally renowned storyteller and bestselling author of Welcome Song for Baby and We Sang You Home, has partnered with talented illustrator Julie Flett to create a tender board book for babies and toddlers that honors the child in everyone. With its delightful contemporary illustrations, Little You is perfect to be shared, …

rated!
rated!

The Night Is Deep and Wide

by Gillian Sze, illustrated by Sue Todd
edition: eBook
  • age: 0 to 2
  • Grade: p to 17
tagged: bedtime & dreams, poetry (see also stories in verse), stories in verse

Rich imagery, gentle rhythm and soothing repetition will lull your little one to sleep as the tulips close for the night, one by one. In this bedtime story written as an Italian villanelle, poet Gillian Sze makes use of the poetic forms of cyclic pattern and rhyme scheme to create a melodious lullaby.

A young child comes in from picking flowers as t …

rated!
rated!

Catch the Sky

by Robert Heidbreder, illustrated by Emily Dove
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 8
  • Grade: p to 4
tagged: poetry (see also stories in verse), imagination & play, seasons, non-classifiable

“Clever and effective for the pre- and primary school nature shelves.”—Kirkus 

In the vein of Jack Prelutsky and Dennis Lee comes a celebration of the sky with thirty zippy poems that will lift kids’ spirits and let their imaginations soar.

What do you see when you look up at the sky? In this “lyrical” picture book (Booklist) for ages 3-8 …

rated!
rated!

A Great Big Night

by Kate Inglis, illustrated by Josée Bisaillon
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 4 to 9
  • Grade: p to 4
tagged: poetry (see also stories in verse), friendship, frogs & toads, music

A rolllicking, rhyming picture book about music-making critters, community and friendship.

The music train was a happy sight
Clickity-clackity three on bikes
Rolling in for a great big night.

When three travelling frog musicians roll through the forest on their painted bicycles, the other animals know they're in for a great big party. Only one o …

rated!
rated!

If I Were a Zombie

by Kate Inglis, illustrated by Eric Orchard
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover eBook
  • age: 9 to 100
  • Grade: 4 to 17
tagged: poetry (see also stories in verse), halloween, fantasy & magic, monsters

Two young children imagine what it would be like to be a zombie, a ninja, or a robot. This hilarious rhyming picture book is now in paperback.

If I were a zombie
I'd package my drool
put it in Mason jars
sell it at school.

This hilarious picture book written by Hackmatack Award-nominated Kate Inglis has two children trying to outdo one another …

rated!
rated!

I Found Hope in a Cherry Tree

by Jean E. Pendziwol, illustrated by Nathalie Dion
edition: Hardcover
also available: eBook
  • age: 3 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged: imagination & play, emotions & feelings, poetry (see also stories in verse)

Jean E. Pendziwol’s newest picture book is a lyrical meditation on nature and hope.

The child in this story observes the sun by playing with her shadow, though sometimes it disappears. She listens to the wind tell stories, even when it howls like wolves. She tastes snowflakes — sometimes sweet and delicate; other times sharp on her cheeks. And f …

rated!
rated!

Whispers of Mermaids and Wonderful Things

Atlantic Canadian Poetry and Verse for Children

edited by Sheree Fitch & Anne Hunt
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 5 to 12
  • Grade: k to 7
tagged: poetry (see also stories in verse), canadian

From celebrated children's poet and author Sheree Fitch and early childhood educator Anne Hunt comes a new paperback edition of the celebrated illustrated compendium of Atlantic Canadian poetry and verse for young readers. Spanning centuries, from Milton Acorn, Bliss Carman, and Rita Joe to Budge Wilson, Shauntay Grant, and Kathleen Winter, and a b …

rated!
rated!

Summer Feet

by Sheree Fitch, illustrated by Carolyn Fisher
edition: Hardcover
also available: eBook
  • age: 4 to 8
  • Grade: p to 3
tagged: seasons, poetry (see also stories in verse), imagination & play

Hello toes, our tootsie friends
Hello, summer feet again!

Canada's Dr. Seuss, Sheree Fitch, is back with a brand-new tongue-twisting picture book that celebrates all things summer. From those first barefoot days, wobble-dy walking over rocks and pebbles, to wandering-wild while searching for sea glass and, finally, huddled-up cozy at a late-summe …

Show editions