amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Diversity & Multicultural

Showing 1-10 of 83 books

rated!
rated!

The Secret Diary of Mona Hasan

by Salma Hussain
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 10 to 14
  • Grade: 5 to 9
tagged: humorous stories, diversity & multicultural, emigration & immigration

Mona learns to find her voice over the course of a year that sees her immigrating from Dubai to Canada in this novel for fans of Front Desk by Kelly Yang.

Mona Hasan is a young Muslim girl growing up in Dubai, United Arab Emirates, when the first Gulf War breaks out in 1991. The war isn’t what she expects — “We didn’t even get any days off …

rated!
rated!

Peter Lee's Notes from the Field

by Angela Ahn, illustrated by Julie Kwon
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: humorous stories, diversity & multicultural, multigenerational

Eleven-year-old Peter Lee has one goal in life: to become a paleontologist. But in one summer, that all falls apart. Told in short, accessible journal entries and combining the humor of Timmy Failure with the poignant family dynamics of Lynda Mullaly Hunt, Peter Lee will win readers' hearts.

Eleven year-old Peter Lee has one goal in life: to become …

rated!
rated!

Project Bollywood

by Mahtab Narsimhan
edition: eBook
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 8
tagged: film, friendship, diversity & multicultural

Salman loves Hindi movies and wants to produce a short Bollywood film for his school project.

He gathers his friends when he's ready with the script, which is a mashup of all the movies he has ever seen. As director, Salman insists everyone follows the script exactly. But it's full of stereotypes and the cast and crew are not shy about expressing th …

rated!
rated!

Nature Lover #6

by Kelly Starling Lyons, illustrated by Nneka Myers
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 6 to 8
  • Grade: 1 to 3
tagged: chapter books, girls & women, diversity & multicultural

Jada Jones is back for the sixth book of this popular, celebrated series perfect for STEM fans!
"Readers who love Ivy and Bean or Katie Woo will want to meet Jada Jones." --School Library Journal

Jada is thrilled when she gets to go on an outdoor class field trip with her Pop Pop, a nature lover, as a chaperone. She can't wait to show him off to her …

rated!
rated!

The Tales of Dwipa

by Prajwala Dixit, illustrated by Duncan Major
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 6
tagged: diversity & multicultural, adaptations, prejudice & racism

Through a framework of traditional tales, fantastic creatures struggle with issues of marginalization, opening discussion for parents and children in an accessible form.

The Tales Of Dwipa is a collection of short stories adapted from the Panchatantra, a collection of simple, engaging, and interrelated animal tales penned by Pandit Vishnu Sharma in …

rated!
rated!

Sangeet and the Missing Beat

illustrated by Kiranjot Kaur
edition: Paperback
  • age: 4 to 10
  • Grade: p to 5
tagged: diversity & multicultural, multigenerational, music

Sangeet loves music, and she's good at composing it, too. Her favourite instrument is the tabla. One day, Sangeet hears all kinds of noises everywhere and together, they have the most incredible beat. But when she tries to play it on her tabla--something is missing! Will Sangeet be able to find her Missing Beat? Teacher resources available on publi …

rated!
rated!

A Park Connects Us

by Sarah Nelson, illustrated by Ellen Rooney
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 7
  • Grade: 1 to 12
tagged: camping & outdoor activities, multigenerational, diversity & multicultural, city & town life

An ode to urban parks and the many ways they connect us to community and nature

This picture book excursion through a city park invites readers to discover how shared green spaces bring us together. Lyrical, upbeat text illuminates the abundant gifts the park offers. Vibrant mixed-media illustrations show a diverse group of visitors as they explore …

rated!
rated!

Eight Days

by Teresa Toten
edition: eBook
also available: Paperback
  • age: 10 to 14
  • Grade: 5 to 8
tagged: death & dying, diversity & multicultural, drugs, alcohol, substance abuse

Governor General’s award-winning author Teresa Toten’s story about one girl’s transformative eight-day road-trip to retrieve her mother’s body.

 

How do you face a heartbreaking past?

One day at a time.

Or as Aggie says, one crisis at a time.

In Teresa Toten’s compelling new novel Eight Days, Samantha finds out that the mother she thought had …

Show editions

Sub-categories