amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Imagination & Play

Showing 1-10 of 774 books

rated!
rated!

Little Moar and the Moon

Inuktitut

by Roselynn Akulukjuk, illustrated by Jazmine Gubbe
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 6 to 8
  • Grade: 1 to 3
tagged: imagination & play, emotions & feelings, polar regions, humorous stories

Moar has always loved autumn—playing outside with his friends, feeling the weather get colder—but there is one thing about autumn that really worries Moar. The moon. The days become shorter and the moon, with its creepy face and eerie smile, seems to be looking down on him before he can even get home from school! So, one day, Moar is determined …

rated!
rated!

Lala's Words

A Story of Planting Kindness

illustrated by Gracey Zhang
edition: Hardcover
also available: eBook
  • age: 4 to 8
  • Grade: p to 3
tagged: imagination & play, fantasy & magic, parents

From debut author-illustrator Gracey Zhang comes a timeless and timely picture book that celebrates the unassuming power of kind words.

 

Oh, there goes Lala! She carries a pot of water around the corner, down the block, and over the fence, to a patch of dirt and concrete where tiny weeds sprout. "Hello, hello, friends!" she whispers. Lala waters the …

rated!
rated!

The Ship of Fortune

by Olivier de Solminihac, illustrated by Stéphane Poulin
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 5 to 18
  • Grade: k to 12
tagged: imagination & play

A book that will make us reminisce about summers past and dream of a great summer in 2021.

When Michao and his friends arrive at the beach for a day trip, they open the car trunk to find...nothing. Michao forgot to pack their swimsuits and all the beach toys! But there’s still a way to have fun: using their imagination to build a ship and sail it …

rated!
rated!

Show Us Where You Live, Humpback

by Beryl Young, illustrated by Sakika Kikuchi
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged: marine life, environment, imagination & play

This evocative picture book celebrates a child’s connection and kinship with whales. 

Swimming, singing, and blowing bubbles—children and baby whales love many of the same things! This lyrical picture book shows us how whales’ underwater lives are touchingly like our own. 

Patterned in a call-and-response format, Show Us Where You Live, Humpbac …

rated!
rated!

We All Play

illustrated by Julie Flett
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 0 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged: baby animals, native american, imagination & play, friendship

From Julie Flett, the beloved author and illustrator of Birdsong, comes a joyous new book about playtime for babies, toddlers, and kids up to age 7. 

Animals and kids love to play! This wonderful book celebrates playtime and the connection between children and the natural world. Beautiful illustrations show:

  • birds who chase and chirp!
  • bears who w …
rated!
rated!

Nothing at All

by Marie-Helene Jarry, illustrated by Amelie Dubois
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 4 to 8
  • Grade: k to 3
tagged: imagination & play

Daddy would like me to be busy from morning to night.
But today, doing nothing is exactly what I want to do!

Clara is tired of her hectic schedule. All she wants to do is listen to the wind, count the clouds, and get lost in the magic of doing nothing. Why won’t her dad understand? Nothing at All! is an ode to the joys and wonders that can come f …

rated!
rated!

Come, Read With Me

by Margriet Ruurs, illustrated by Christine Wei
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 5
  • Grade: p to k
tagged: books & libraries, nursery rhymes, imagination & play, adaptations, bedtime & dreams

Join two young children as they begin an adventure through a world of books in this story-within-a-bedtime-story. This metered read-aloud pays homage to classic children's literature: readers of all ages will love searching for characters they recognize from fairy tales and beloved picture books amongst the pages. Spiders weave words and mythical d …

rated!
rated!

A Cat Named Tim and Other Stories

by John Martz
edition: Hardcover
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 4 to 8
  • Grade: p to 3
tagged: humorous, humorous stories, imagination & play

In this picture book anthology of four mostly wordless stories, every character is colorful and cool, and every page is an adventure! For fans of Narwhal and Jelly.

In Tim's world, cats can paint on the ceiling and a cheerful porcine couple can wait months for the bus. A duck and a mouse can fly . . . a plane, of course. In "Doug & Mouse," the first …

rated!
rated!

Sonata for Fish and Boy

by Milan Pavlovic
edition: Hardcover
also available: eBook
  • age: 3 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged: bedtime & dreams, imagination & play, friendship

Music inspires friendship and a life full of dreams and adventure in this wordless picture book from Milan Pavlovic.

When a fish hears the singing of a violin, it is drawn out of the water and into the world of a young musician sitting on a shady bench. Soon fish and boy are flying over the rooftops together, past lively street musicians, a flock of …

Show editions

Sub-categories