amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Historical

Showing 1-10 of 44 books

rated!
rated!

The Bones of Ruin

by Sarah Raughley
edition: Hardcover
also available: Paperback
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: historical, apocalyptic & post-apocalyptic

An African tightrope walker who can’t die gets embroiled in a secret society’s deadly gladiatorial tournament in this “bloodily spectacular” (Chloe Gong, New York Times bestselling author of These Violent Delights) historical fantasy set in an alternate 1880s London, perfect for fans of The Last Magician and The Gilded Wolves.

As an African …

rated!
rated!

The Call of the Rift: Crest

by Jae Waller, read by Sera-Lys McArthur
edition: Audiobook
  • age: 13 to 17
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: epic, historical

 

Step through the portal into a world ravaged by chaotic spirits and corrupted magic in the third book of The Call of the Rift high fantasy series.

Kateiko Rin lives a quiet life with her parents and her people in the coastal rainforest. Everything changes when her estranged uncle washes up on their shores, harried and half-dead, trailed by two blue …

rated!
rated!

Rescue at Fort Edmonton

by Rita Feutl
edition: eBook
also available: Paperback Paperback
  • age: 12 to 16
  • Grade: 5 to 8
tagged: historical, canada

Janey doesn't want to spend the summer away from her friends in Toronto--and certainly not in Edmonton with the grandmother she hardly knows. But her parents will be away--her mother in Turkey designing housing for earthquake victims, her dad on business trips. Her first surprise is her feisty grandma, who meets her at the airport in her vintage Ca …

rated!
rated!

Rescue in the Rockies

by Rita Feutl
edition: eBook
also available: Paperback Paperback
  • age: 12 to 16
  • Grade: 5 to 8
tagged: historical, canada

Can 14-year-old Janey disentangle her time-hopping dilemma and save not just her own life, but the past lives of others, before it’s too late?

Rescue in the Rockies follows Janey as she is forced to spend the holidays with her grandma – and her grandma’s new beau, Charlie, who has invited along his German grandson, Max – in Banff, Alberta. J …

rated!
rated!

Southern Sun, Northern Star

by Joanna Hathaway
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: historical

Battles, revolution, and romance collide in Southern Sun, Northern Star, the conclusion to Joanna Hathaway's stunning, World Wars-inspired fantasy series.
Reeling from the tragedy that beset her family, Princess Aurelia has joined the resistance in Havenspur, spying on the Northern leaders who were once her allies and determined to stop her uncle …

rated!
rated!

Storm from the East

by Joanna Hathaway
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: historical

Part war drama, part romance, Storm from the East is the second epic fantasy adventure in Joanna Hathaway’s Glass Alliance series.
War has begun in the South. The days of soldier Athan and Princess Aurelia’s secret summer romance feel like a long-distant memory.
On the frontlines of combat, Athan proves a star fighter pilot as he struggles to …

Show editions

Sub-categories