amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

9780143189169_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $12.99
edition:Paperback
also available: Hardcover
published: May 2017
pages: 320
ISBN:9780143189169
publisher: PRH Canada Young Readers
imprint: Razorbill Canada

The Truth Commission

by Susan Juby

tagged: siblings, assimilation
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $12.99
edition:Paperback
also available: Hardcover
published: May 2017
pages: 320
ISBN:9780143189169
publisher: PRH Canada Young Readers
imprint: Razorbill Canada
Description

A quirky, darkly funny novel from an acclaimed author--great for fans of Libba Bray and E. Lockhart.

     Normandy Pale and her friends are The Truth Commission. They have no fear; they're committed to exposing the things that no one else is brave enough or tactless enough to ask about at their high school for artists. But then, one of their truth targets says to Normandy: "If you want to know about the truth, you might want to look a little closer to home." 
     Written as "narrative nonfiction" by Normandy herself, this unique--and uniquely compelling--story features footnotes, illustrations and a combination of mystery/love story that will capture readers from the first page.

About the Author

Susan Juby

SUSAN JUBY is the author of the critically acclaimed novels Getting the Girl, Another Kind of Cowboy and The Woefield Poultry Collective, as well as the bestselling Alice series (Alice, I Think; Miss Smithers; and Alice MacLeod, Realist at Last). Her most recent book for adults, Republic of Dirt, won the Leacock Medal for Humour. After dropping out of fashion college and getting a BA from the University of British Columbia, Susan went to work in the book industry and obtained a master’s degree in publishing. She currently lives on Vancouver Island with her husband, James, and their dog, who prefers to remain anonymous.

Author profile page >
Contributor Notes

SUSAN JUBY has written a number of acclaimed novels for teenagers and adults, including the bestselling Alice, I Think, a Rolling Stone Best Top 40 Novel and the first of her Alice MacLeod trilogy, which was made into a successful television series. She is also the author of a memor, Nice Recovery, and the adult comic novel The Woefield Poultry Collective and its sequel, Republic of Dirt: Return to Woefield. She is currently working on another book set at the Green Pastures Academy of Art and Applie Design. Susan lives with her huband and their dog in Nanaimo, BC. Please visit her website at www.susanjuby.com.

Recommended Age and Grade
Age:
12 to 18
Grade:
7 to 12
Editorial Review

“In a tell-all, socially networked world, balancing the right to know (and use) 'the truth' against the right to privacy is both confusing and challenging. Readers will root for these engaging characters to chart a successful course through these murky waters. Hilarious, deliciously provocative and slyly thought-provoking, Juby's welcome return is bound to ignite debate.” - Kirkus Review (starred review)

“The narrative/book is smart, darkly funny, sad, and heartening as Normandy learns some hard truths, how to stand up for herself, and how to take charge of her own destiny. While there is no reconciliation in sight, there’s no doubt that the truth has set her free. A surprising, witty, and compulsive read.” - School Library Journal (starred review)

“You know how we have terms like "Dickensian?" I vote that from here on in we should also have "Jubyesque," to describe something particularly funny, offbeat and original.” - Susin Nielsen, author of the Governor General Award-winning The Reluctant Journal of Henry K. Larsen

Buy the e-book: