amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

General

Showing 1-10 of 40 books

rated!
rated!

Tremendous Things

by Susin Nielsen
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: friendship, coming of age

From Governor General's Literary Award--winning author Susin Nielsen comes a funny and heartfelt story about learning how to rise above your most embarrassing moment with humor, best friends and a killer triangle solo.

We all have moments that define us. For the comically clueless Wilbur, his moment happened on the first day of middle school, when s …

rated!
rated!

Barry Squires, Full Tilt

by Heather Smith
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: coming of age, self-esteem & self-reliance

Barry Squires, Full Tilt takes readers on a romp through the streets of St. John's and into the Squires household, a place where tragedy strikes but love prevails. Derry Girls meets Billy Elliot with an East coast twist.

It's 1995. When the Full Tilt Dancers give an inspiring performance at the opening of the new bingo hall, twelve-year-old Finbar ( …

rated!
rated!

The Field Guide to the North American Teenager

by Ben Philippe
edition: Paperback
  • age: 13 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: emigration & immigration, coming of age

William C. Morris YA Debut Award Winner!

A hilarious YA contemporary realistic novel about a witty Black French Canadian teen who moves to Austin, Texas, and experiences the joys, clichés, and awkward humiliations of the American high school experience—including falling in love. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon, When Dimple Met Rishi, and John Gre …

rated!
rated!

Dan Versus Nature

by Don Calame
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: camping & outdoor activities, boys & men

From screenwriter Don Calame comes another outrageously funny and raunchy tale of teen boys whose plans go awry — this time, on a survivalist camping trip.

Shy and scrawny Dan Weekes spends his time creating graphic novels inspired by his dream girl and looking out for his mom as she dates every man in the state of California. Then his mom drops a …

rated!
rated!

The Fashion Committee

by Susan Juby
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: fashion & beauty

Project Runway meets I'll Give You the Sun in a hilarious and surprising he-said, she-said story about a fashion competition that will change both of their lives, from acclaimed author Susan Juby.

     Charlie Dean is a style-obsessed girl who eats, sleeps and breathes fashion. John Thomas-Smith is a boy who forges metal sculptures in his garage and …

rated!
rated!

Optimists Die First

by Susin Nielsen
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: diseases, illnesses & injuries, general (see also headings under social themes)

This touching, hilarious tragi-comedy by award-winning author Susin Nielsen proves: Life is out to get you. But so is love. A quirky alternative to the "sick lit" genre for YA readers.

     Petula's funny, and a crafting genius, but no social star at high school, and it doesn't help that she's isolated herself after her adored toddler sister died. P …

rated!
rated!

10 Things I Can See From Here

by Carrie Mac, read by Susannah Jones
also available: Paperback
  • age: 14 to 17
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: lgbt, depression

Perfect for fans of Finding Audrey and Everything, Everything, this is the poignant and uplifting story of Maeve, who is dealing with anxiety while falling in love with a girl who is not afraid of anything. Think positive. Don't worry; be happy. Keep calm and carry on. Maeve has heard it all before. She's been struggling with severe anxiety for a l …

rated!
rated!

The Truth Commission

by Susan Juby
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: siblings, assimilation

A quirky, darkly funny novel from an acclaimed author--great for fans of Libba Bray and E. Lockhart.

     Normandy Pale and her friends are The Truth Commission. They have no fear; they're committed to exposing the things that no one else is brave enough or tactless enough to ask about at their high school for artists. But then, one of their truth …

rated!
rated!

The Ted Staunton Seven 2-Pack

by Ted Staunton
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: film

This two-book set features Ted Staunton's Jump Cut, from Seven (the series) and Coda (The Seven Sequels). In Jump Cut, Spencer is disappointed in the destination his late grandfather has chosen to send him to: Buffalo. But it turns out Buffalo is full of surprises—including an ancient movie star, a gangster and a very cute girl. Coda continues S …

Show editions

Sub-categories