amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

General

Showing 1-10 of 45 books

rated!
rated!

The Science of Boys

by Emily Seo, illustrated by Gracey Zhang
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: peer pressure, general (see also headings under animals), friendship

Twelve-year-old science nerd Emma Sakamoto wants to reinvent herself when she starts high school. When stylish new girl Poppy asks for Emma’s help getting the attention of her crush, Cole, Emma lies and tells Poppy that she’s writing a book about the science of boys. Emma’s friend, George, offers to help Emma apply scientific principles to th …

rated!
rated!

Barry Squires, Full Tilt

by Heather Smith
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: coming of age, self-esteem & self-reliance

Barry Squires, Full Tilt takes readers on a romp through the streets of St. John's and into the Squires household, a place where tragedy strikes but love prevails. Derry Girls meets Billy Elliot with an East coast twist.

It's 1995. When the Full Tilt Dancers give an inspiring performance at the opening of the new bingo hall, twelve-year-old Finbar ( …

rated!
rated!

One Last Job

by Sean Rodman
edition: eBook
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: law & crime, multigenerational

Michael has been getting into trouble lately.

As a consequence, his mom is making him look after his grandfather for the summer. The thing is, Gramps isn’t your average senior citizen: he’s a retired burglar with a lifetime of criminal knowledge. When a thief breaks into Gramps' apartment and steals a necklace with great sentimental value, the u …

rated!
rated!

Tremendous Things

by Susin Nielsen
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: friendship, coming of age

From Governor General's Literary Award--winning author Susin Nielsen comes a funny and heartfelt story about learning how to rise above your most embarrassing moment with humor, best friends and a killer triangle solo.

We all have moments that define us. For the comically clueless Wilbur, his moment happened on the first day of middle school, when s …

rated!
rated!

The Field Guide to the North American Teenager

by Ben Philippe
edition: Paperback
  • age: 13 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: emigration & immigration, coming of age

William C. Morris YA Debut Award Winner!

A hilarious YA contemporary realistic novel about a witty Black French Canadian teen who moves to Austin, Texas, and experiences the joys, clichés, and awkward humiliations of the American high school experience—including falling in love. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon, When Dimple Met Rishi, and John Gre …

rated!
rated!

Dan Versus Nature

by Don Calame
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: camping & outdoor activities, boys & men

From screenwriter Don Calame comes another outrageously funny and raunchy tale of teen boys whose plans go awry — this time, on a survivalist camping trip.

Shy and scrawny Dan Weekes spends his time creating graphic novels inspired by his dream girl and looking out for his mom as she dates every man in the state of California. Then his mom drops a …

rated!
rated!

The Fashion Committee

by Susan Juby
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: fashion & beauty

Project Runway meets I'll Give You the Sun in a hilarious and surprising he-said, she-said story about a fashion competition that will change both of their lives, from acclaimed author Susan Juby.

     Charlie Dean is a style-obsessed girl who eats, sleeps and breathes fashion. John Thomas-Smith is a boy who forges metal sculptures in his garage and …

Show editions

Sub-categories