Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Young Adult Fiction Horror

Lockjaw

by (author) Matteo L. Cerilli

Publisher
Tundra
Initial publish date
Jun 2024
Category
Horror, LGBT, Paranormal, Occult & Supernatural
Recommended Age
14 to 18
Recommended Grade
9 to 12
  • Hardback

    ISBN
    9781774882306
    Publish Date
    Jun 2024
    List Price
    $23.99

Classroom Resources

Where to buy it

Description

Death is neither the beginning nor the end for the children of Bridlington in this debut trans YA horror book for fans of Rory Power and Danielle Vega.

Chuck Warren died tragically at the old abandoned mill, but Paz Espino knows it was no accident — there's a monster under the town, and she's determined to kill it before anyone else gets hurt. She'll need the help of her crew — inseparable friends, bound by a childhood pact stronger than diamonds, distance or death — to hunt it down. But she's up against a greater force of evil than she ever could have imagined.

With shifting timeframes and multiple perspectives, Lockjaw is a small-town ghost story, where monsters living and dead haunt the streets, the homes and the minds of the inhabitants. For readers of Wilder Girls and The Haunted, this trans YA horror book by an incredible debut author will grab you and never let you go.

About the author

Contributor Notes

MATTEO L. CERILLI is a transmasc author and activist who helped found the Students for Queer Liberation (Toronto) and works with the No Pride in Policing Coalition. He writes widely across genres and age categories. Lockjaw is his debut book.

Editorial Reviews

"Cerilli delivers a stunning debut in this gripping paranormal horror novel about queer teens growing up in a community that doesn’t accept them and the insidious danger of apathy." —STARRED REVIEW, Publishers Weekly

"A horrifyingly honest tale with a hopeful ending, this engrossing novel is sure to get hearts racing and leave readers reflecting upon their own place in their communities." —STARRED REVIEW, BookPage

"Experimental, metaphorical, and poetic, this quiet novel is for thoughtful readers not averse to horror themes." Booklist

"A horrifyingly honest tale, Lockjaw will keep you guessing with its creative storytelling, while its full-bodied characters will keep you reading as they band together to kill the monster haunting their town." BookPage

"Cerilli does a masterful job of creating a memorable setting. . . . It is hard to believe that Lockjaw is Matteo L. Cerilli’s debut novel. Readers will look forward to many more to come! Highly recommended." CM: Canadian Review of Materials
“Lockjaw sinks its teeth into readers with a compelling horror mystery and refuses to let go” —Quill & Quire
“This YA novel will satisfy teen and nostalgic adult readers of horror and mystery" —Vikki VanSickle