Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction Classics

Who Has Seen the Wind

75th Anniversary Illustrated Edition

by (author) W.O. Mitchell

illustrated by William Kurelek

foreword by Frances Itani

Freehand Books
Initial publish date
Nov 2022
Classics, 20th Century, Coming of Age, Small Town & Rural
  • Hardback

    Publish Date
    Nov 2022
    List Price

Classroom Resources

Where to buy it


About the authors

W.O. Mitchell is one of the most recognized Canadian authors of the last century. He was born in Weyburn, Saskatchewan in 1914, and during a varied career he was everything from a Depression hobo to the fiction editor of Maclean's. His best-loved book, Who Has Seen the Wind (1947) is hailed as the quintessential Canadian coming-of-age novel. Other works include Jake and the Kid (1961), The Kite (1962), The Vanishing Point (1973), How I Spent My Summer Holidays (1981), Since Daisy Creek (1984), Ladybug, Ladybug (1988), According to Jake and the Kid (1989), Roses are Difficult Here (1990), For Ark's Sake (1992), An Evening with W.O. Mitchell (1997) and the play The Black Bonspiel of Willie MacCrimmon (1993). He won the Leacock Medal for Humour for Jake and the Kid and again for According to Jake and the Kid. Mitchell was made an officer in the Order of Canada in 1973 and has been the subject of an NFB documentary entitled W.O. Mitchell: A Novelist in Hiding.

W.O. Mitchell's profile page

William Kurelek, the oldest of seven children in a Ukrainian immigrant family, was born in 1927 and raised on family farms in northern Alberta and Manitoba. At the time of his death in 1977, he was one of the best-known artists in Canada, and his reputation has continued to grow, with his work featured in galleries across the country and highly sought after for private collections. His distinctive works explore his Depression-era prairie roots and his engagement with spiritual and religious imagery. Kurelek also wrote and illustrated many award-winning books, including A Prairie Boy's Winter and A Prairie Boy's Summer. He was made a member of the Order of Canada in 1976.

William Kurelek's profile page

Besides her two previous books of poetry (No Other Lodgings, Fiddlehead, 1978 and Rentee Bay, Quarry, 1983), Frances Itani has published a children's book and co-authored a book of short stories. More recently, Frances Itani, a Member of the Order of Canada, had a spectacular international debut with her first novel, Deafening, which received a Commonwealth Writers’ Prize for Best Book (Canada and Caribbean Region) and was shortlisted for the 2005 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award; it was a #1 bestseller in Canada. Her second novel, Remembering The Bones, was shortlisted for a Commonwealth Writers’ Prize. Itani’s short story collection, Poached Egg On Toast, won the 2005 Ottawa Book Award and the 2005 CAA Jubilee Award for Short Stories. Itani lives in Ottawa.

Frances Itani's profile page

Other titles by

Other titles by