amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

9781773056579_cover Enlarge Cover View Excerpt
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $14.99
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
published: Jun 2021
pages: 192
ISBN:9781773056579
publisher: ECW Press

Unatoned

A Memoir

by Brent LaPorte

tagged: personal memoirs, abuse
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $14.99
edition:eBook
also available: Paperback
published: Jun 2021
pages: 192
ISBN:9781773056579
publisher: ECW Press
Description

 

For readers of Alan Cumming’s Not My Father’s Son comes a heart-wrenching memoir that interrogates an abusive father and his dark legacy.

Children who experience physical, mental, and emotional trauma at the hands of a parent often grow into adults who suffer from mental illness and find it difficult to build lasting, healthy relationships. Some find it impossible to integrate into society and are constantly searching for the love and approval that they never received as a child. The abuse impacts all aspects of the survivor’s life.

In his new memoir, Brent LaPorte asks his dead father questions that will never be answered. Unatoned not only explores the dark nature of LaPorte’s father, but the darkness that has, at times, enveloped him, too. In confronting life choices that have hurt those around him, he asks: is it possible to break the cycle of a violent, alcoholic family history and live a life that is productive, loving and, above all, happy?

In exploring the challenges of his youth, married life, and careers, LaPorte lays bare failings and triumphs, sharing pain and struggle to ultimately tell readers: none of us are alone. This is not a “self-help” book, rather the story of a man’s request for atonement for sins past. His father’s — and his own.

 

Contributor Notes

 

Brent LaPorte was born in the Ottawa Valley and through his tumultuous childhood moved several times throughout the Valley and Northern Ontario. He lives in Courtice, Ontario, has been married for 30 years, and has two adult children. This is his second book.

 

Buy the e-book: