amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

General

Showing 1-10 of 45 books

rated!
rated!

Among Silent Echoes

A Memoir of Trauma and Resilience

by Phyllis Dyson
edition: Paperback
tagged: personal memoirs, women

Twenty-five years after her mother's brutal death made the headlines, Phyllis Dyson felt compelled to unearth the truth about her mother's illness. By chronicling the events of her childhood, uncovering family secrets and betrayals and gaining access to government documents, Dyson has captured the heart of her family's tragedy in a debut memoir.
F …

rated!
rated!

Unatoned

A Memoir

by Brent LaPorte
edition: Paperback
tagged: personal memoirs, abuse

 

For readers of Alan Cumming’s Not My Father’s Son comes a heart-wrenching memoir that interrogates an abusive father and his dark legacy.

Children who experience physical, mental, and emotional trauma at the hands of a parent often grow into adults who suffer from mental illness and find it difficult to build lasting, healthy relationships. Som …

rated!
rated!

The Wig-Maker

by Janet Gallant & Sharon Thesen
edition: Paperback
tagged: family, multiracial families

A powerful tale of violence, grief, resilience, and transformation, told in the voice of Janet Gallant, transcribed and lineated as a long poem by Sharon Thesen, The Wig-Maker gathers and weaves together themes and incidents that accumulate toward "the moan" of racism, sexual abuse, maternal abandonment, suicide, mental illness, and addiction.

Thou …

rated!
rated!

Heal Your Kids, Heal Your Heart

The Mom's Guide to Thrive after Loss, Trauma & Abuse

by Natalie Pereman
edition: Paperback
tagged: domestic partner abuse, dysfunctional families

Your kids can recover from the damaging effects of domestic violence.

Have you left the abusive relationship but find yourself still feeling like your kids will never be the same again? Is counseling not giving you the healing results you hoped for? Childhood trauma and PTSD are debilitating, not only for the child but also for the parents who watch …

rated!
rated!

Everyday Violence in the Lives of Youth

Speaking Out and Pushing Back

edited by Helene Berman; Catherine Richardson/Kinewesquao; Kate Elliott & Eugenia Canas
edition: Paperback
tagged: social work

 

Though interpersonal violence is widely studied, much less has been done to understand structural violence, the often-invisible patterns of inequality that reproduce social relations of exclusion and marginalization through ideologies, policies, stigmas, and discourses attendant to gender, race, class, and other markers of social identity. Structu …

rated!
rated!

All We Knew But Couldn't Say

by Joanne Vannicola
edition: Paperback
tagged: personal memoirs, dysfunctional families, lgbt

Finalist for the 2020 Kobo Emerging Writer Prize in Nonfiction

Joanne Vannicola grew up in a violent home with a physically abusive father and a mother who had no sexual boundaries.

After being pressured to leave home at fourteen, and after fifteen years of estrangement, Joanne learns that her mother is dying. Compelled to reconnect, she visits with …

rated!
rated!

Ladder Valley

by Donna Miller
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook
  • age: 15 to 18
  • Grade: 10 to 12
tagged: personal memoirs

We had a saying: “Only the ‘weaker sex’ is tough enough, mule enough, to stick it out in the bush country.” Living on the edge of the Saskatchewan boreal forest, we learned what we were made of—both the good and the bad. The continuation of the award-winning series of memoirs: Black Fury, A Family of Our Own, and Know Thyself. The bitters …

rated!
rated!

Conflict Is Not Abuse

Overstating Harm, Community Responsibility, and the Duty of Repair

by Sarah Schulman
edition: Paperback
tagged: social history, gender studies

From intimate relationships to global politics, Sarah Schulman observes a continuum: that inflated accusations of harm are used to avoid accountability. Illuminating the difference between Conflict and Abuse, Schulman directly addresses our contemporary culture of scapegoating. This deep, brave, and bold work reveals how punishment replaces persona …

Show editions