Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Children's Fiction Asian American

The Power of the Pearl Earrings

by (author) Linda Trinh

illustrated by Clayton Nguyen

Publisher
Annick Press
Initial publish date
Oct 2022
Category
Asian American, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Peer Pressure
Recommended Age
6 to 9
Recommended Grade
1 to 4
Recommended Reading age
6 to 9
  • Hardback

    ISBN
    9781773217109
    Publish Date
    Oct 2022
    List Price
    $23.99
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781773217116
    Publish Date
    Oct 2022
    List Price
    $8.99

Classroom Resources

Where to buy it

Description

A charming early chapter book series that explores Vietnamese culture and identity through the eyes of the Nguyen siblings, with elements of the supernatural, spirituality, and social justice woven in.

I touch my earrings and feel a rush of wind. I can almost hear Grandma Nội’s laughter through them.

Spontaneous and energetic Liz, the middle Nguyen sibling, grew up hearing stories from her Grandma Nội about the fantastically fierce Trung Sisters, freedom fighters in ancient Vietnam. And with a new school year about to start, Liz is determined that her taekwondo classes will prove she is just as important and brave as the famous warriors. That is, until the new boy at school, Michael, threatens her plans by turning her best friend against her, telling her the things she can’t do because she’s a girl. Struggling with both her friendships and her place in her family, Liz finds help where she least expects it—in the pearl earrings her Grandma Nội left her as a gift, reminding her of her Vietnamese heritage. Armed with the earrings’ mysterious power, Liz decides to show Michael exactly what girls are capable of.

About the authors

LINDA TRINH is a Vietnamese Canadian author who writes fiction and non-fiction for children and adults. Her work has appeared in anthologies and literary magazines. She explores identity, cultural background, and spirituality. The Nguyen Kids is her first children's book series. She lives with her family in Winnipeg.

Linda Trinh's profile page

CLAYTON NGUYEN is an illustrator and animation student at Sheridan College in Oakville, Ontario, Canada.

Clayton Nguyen's profile page

Editorial Reviews

“Fans of Mindy Kim and Junie B. Jones— check this out! . . . The first book is about discovering who you are, valuing your heritage and understanding your ancestral background. It is also about standing up for your culture and standing up against racism–all folded into a child-friendly story.”

Bedashruti Mitra Basu, Bookstagrammer @bedashrutimitrabasu

Other titles by Linda Trinh

Other titles by Clayton Nguyen

Related lists