Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction Dystopian

Falling Shadows

by (author) Christian Guay-Poliquin

translated by David Homel

Initial publish date
Jun 2022
Dystopian, Literary, Survival Stories
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Jun 2022
    List Price

Classroom Resources

Where to buy it


In Falling Shadows, a lone man walks in the forest towards the hunting camp where his family has taken refuge to escape the upheaval caused by a widespread power failure. He knows he is threatened. One day, having lost his way, a twelve-year-old boy, mysteriously fearless and familiar, calls out to him. The unusual duo will have to face the hostility of the wilderness and thwart the offensive groups that now inhabit the woods.

This is Québec writer Christian Guay-Poliquin’s much anticipated third instalment in the series of gripping post-apocalyptic novels initiated with Running on Fumes and prolonged by the international bestseller The Weight of Snow, both translated by Governor General’s Award winner David Homel and published by Talonbooks in 2016 and 2019. The Weight of Snow was long-listed for the 2020 Sunburst Award and was translated into fifteen languages. Throughout these novels, Guay-Poliquin has developed a unique storytelling craft; his narratives are grounded in the demands and details of daily life and in a world ripe with experience.

Adventurous and cleverly assembled, Falling Shadows questions the meaning of community and revisits the thrilling excitement associated with the wilderness and survival classics like McCarthy’s The Road and King’s The Stand.

About the authors

Christian Guay-Poliquin was born back when the environmental stakes were limited to a hole in the ozone and acid rain. Though his books refer to the codes of post-apocalyptic fiction, their ambition is not to tell another end-of-the-world story. Instead, they bring us face to face with the strengths and fragile quality of human relations. His trilogy of novels Running on Fumes (2013), The Weight of Snow (2016, winner of the Governor General’s Award Literary Award for French-Language Fiction), and Falling Shadows have been published in several languages around the world.

Christian Guay-Poliquin's profile page

David Homel was born in Chicago in 1952 and left that city in 1970 for Paris, living in Europe the next few years on odd jobs and odder couches. He has published eight novels, from Electrical Storms in 1988 to The Teardown, which won the Paragraph Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction in 2019. He has also written young adult fiction with Marie-Louise Gay, directed documentary films, worked in TV production, been a literary translator, journalist, and creative writing teacher. He has translated four books for Linda Leith Publishing: Bitter Roase (2015), (2016), Nan Goldin: The Warrior Medusa (2017) and Taximan (2018). Lunging into the Underbrush is his first book of non-fiction. He lives in Montreal.

David Homel's profile page

Other titles by David Homel