Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Children's Fiction Lgbt

Asking for a Friend

by (author) Ronnie Riley

Publisher
Scholastic Inc
Initial publish date
Jun 2024
Category
LGBT, Friendship, Mental Health
Recommended Age
8 to 12
Recommended Grade
3 to 7
  • Hardback

    ISBN
    9781339027647
    Publish Date
    Jun 2024
    List Price
    $24.99

Classroom Resources

Where to buy it

Description

Eden Jones has exactly three friends. And they're all fake.

From a web of lies and anxiety to true friendship and queer joy; this is the wonderful second book from the author of the Indies Introduce and Indie Next List pick, Jude Saves the World.

 

Why go through the stress of making friends when you can just pretend? It works for Eden and their social anxiety . . . until their mom announces she’s throwing them a birthday party and all their friends are invited.

 

Eden’s “friends,” Duke, Ramona, and Tabitha, are all real kids from school . . . but Eden’s never actually spoken to them before. Now Eden will do whatever it takes to convince them to be their friends — at least until the party is over.

 

When things start to go better than Eden expects and the group starts to bond, Eden finds themself trapped in a lie that gets worse the longer they keep it up. What happens if their now sort-of-real friends discover that Eden hasn’t been honest with them from the very beginning?

 

Author Ronnie Riley creates a world full of queer joy and all the ups and downs of true friendship. This book is perfect for fans of Guts or Forget Me Not.

About the author

RONNIE RILEY is a queer, nonbinary, trans femme writer based in Toronto, Ontario, who uses they/them pronouns. They created LGBTNPit, an annual Twitter pitch event for queer, trans, and nonbinary authors using the hashtag #lgbtnpit. They are a Special Event Manager who graduated with honours from George Brown College. It comes in handy for writing since they meet so many interesting real-life characters. Writing, watching TV, and reading books are some of Ronnie’s favourite hobbies. They love digging themselves into a new world and forgetting reality for a while. Ronnie enjoys crafting of all sorts, particularly loom-knitting warm hats, sewing cat toys and lavender heating pads, and cross stitching. They love fiddling around with graphic design, websites, and creating resources for educational purposes. Visit them at https://www.mxronnieriley.com/.

Ronnie Riley's profile page

Editorial Reviews

Praise for Asking for a Friend:

"Riley’s fictional world is one in which queer joy always triumphs... A breath of fresh air." —Kirkus Reviews

 

Praise for Jude Saves the World:

Indie Next List Pick

Indies Introduce Pick

“Full of fierce warmth and humor, Jude Saves the World is a life-changer. A tender, radiant debut.” —Ashley Herring Blake, author of the Stonewall Honor book Ivy Aberdeen’s Letter to the World

 

“A heartwarming exploration of identity, unconditional friendship, found family, and harnessing the force of love to right the world's wrongs.” —Jules Machias, author of Both Can Be True

 

“Jude's story is full of heart, queer celebration, and an intelligent tenderness so needed in today’s homes and classrooms.” —Ash Van Otterloo, author of Cattywampus

 

“Accessible and ultimately hopeful. Jude Saves the World feels like wrapping yourself up in a warm blanket, like a hug to every single reader who might need one. Not only is Jude a courageous kid who just wants to make their world a better, more accepting place, they are a role model for readers hoping to do the same.” —A. J. Sass, author of Ana on the Edge and Ellen Outside the Lines

 

“Filled with courage and positivity, Jude is middle grade’s next Pride icon.” —Kaliisha Cole, Whitelam Books, Reading, MA

 

“This is a beautiful book with amazing, brave characters who fiercely guard friendship as a safe space filled with unconditional love - and set about to make the world that way. Jude Saves the World cracked my heart open and poured joy right in.” —Justin Colussy-Estes, Little Shop of Stories, Decatur, GA

 

“Jude is the brave and loyal friend all young queer kids need.” —Gabriella Crivilare, Prairie Fox Books, Ottawa, IL

Other titles by

Related lists