amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Friendship

Showing 1-10 of 1756 books

rated!
rated!

Our Playground Rules!

by Kallie George, illustrated by Jay Fleck
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged: imagination & play, friendship, values & virtues

Explore what it means to share space and have fun on the playground with this sweetly funny picture book of playground rules based in social-emotional learning.

There are so many reasons why our playground RULES!
 
1. Everyone gets a turn, no matter how long it takes...
2. We play fair (even when the weather isn't).
3. We try to be patient, which i …

rated!
rated!

Sylvie

by Jean Reidy, illustrated by Lucy Ruth Cummins
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 4 to 8
  • Grade: p to 3
tagged: insects, spiders, etc., city & town life, friendship

One small spider takes a big risk to bring together the people she watches over in her apartment building in this charming picture book from the celebrated author and illustrator of Truman.

Sylvie hangs on a silvery thread, safely hidden under her damp, dark fire escape. Sure, it’s a little too close to the dumpster below, but if she stays carefu …

rated!
rated!

A Garden of Creatures

by Sheila Heti, illustrated by Esmé Shapiro
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 4 to 8
  • Grade: p to 3
tagged: death & dying, rabbits, friendship

A tender and deeply moving picture book about loss and the big questions it leaves behind from New York Times bestselling author Sheila Heti and acclaimed illustrator Esmé Shapiro.

Two bunnies and a cat live happily together in a beautiful garden. But when the big bunny passes away, the little bunny is unsure how to fill the void she left behind. A …

rated!
rated!

Alice Fleck's Recipes for Disaster

by Rachelle Delaney
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: cooking & food, friendship, mysteries & detective stories

When Alice agreed to appear in a reality cooking show with her father, she had no idea she'd find herself in the middle of a mystery! Will Alice and her new friends be able to save the show? A light-hearted and funny middle grade novel for fans of Rebecca Stead and Linda Mulally Hunt.

Alice Fleck's father is a culinary historian, and for as long as …

rated!
rated!

Alina in a Pinch

by Shenaaz Nanji
edition: Paperback
  • age: 6 to 8
  • Grade: 1 to 3
tagged: prejudice & racism, cooking & food, friendship

Moving to a new city means Alina has to make new friends, and nothing is worse than lunch at a new school. When her grandmother visits, Alina is inspired to help her cook the delicious Afro-Indian meals she’s always loved, but a cruel note from a mysterious lunchtime bully leaves a bitter taste that even Nani’s excellent cooking can’t erase.

W …

rated!
rated!

A Bend in the Breeze

by Valerie Sherrard
edition: eBook
also available: Paperback
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: survival stories, friendship

When eleven-year-old Pascale Chardon finds herself on a lifeboat drifting toward an uncharted island with no memory of how she got there, all she wants is to get back to her family. The islanders, however, have a different objective.

For many decades, the islanders have been anticipating the arrival of someone foretold only as the Long Awaited. The …

rated!
rated!

The Weird Sisters: A Note, a Goat, and a Casserole

by Mark David Smith, illustrated by Kari Rust
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 6 to 9
  • Grade: 2 to 12
tagged: mysteries & detective stories, humorous stories, friendship, fantasy & magic

The first book in a mystery series features three sleuthing sisters

One spring evening, three strange visitors arrive in the town of Covenly. Sisters Hildegurp, Yuckmina, and Glubbifer are hoping to start fresh with a new business: a pet store! Their first customer is nine-year-old Jessica Nibley, who has lost her pet goat and hopes the sisters can …

Show editions

Sub-categories