Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Children's Fiction Chapter Books

Anne's School Days

Inspired by Anne of Green Gables

by (author) Kallie George

illustrated by Abigail Halpin

Publisher
Tundra
Initial publish date
Jul 2021
Category
Chapter Books, Orphans & Foster Homes, Classics
Recommended Age
6 to 9
Recommended Grade
1 to 4
  • Hardback

    ISBN
    9780735267206
    Publish Date
    Jul 2021
    List Price
    $16.99
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9780735267343
    Publish Date
    Jul 2022
    List Price
    $10.99

Classroom Resources

Where to buy it

Description

The third book in an early-reader series inspired by Anne of Green Gables, starring the spirited Anne Shirley as she navigates her first days of school and the incorrigible Gilbert Blythe.

Anne loves autumn in Avonlea, and she's been enjoying her first three weeks of school. It helps that she walks to school with and sits next to her kindred spirit, Diana Barry. However, one day, Gilbert Blythe joins the class. According to Diana, he's very handsome, and smart too. However, Gilbert immediately gets on Anne’s nerves. When he pulls on Anne’s braid and calls her “Carrots” because of her red hair, enough is enough. How can Anne enjoy school when Gilbert is ruining everything? Anne vows never to talk to Gilbert again, and even stops going to school for a time when her teacher forces Anne to sit next to her rival. But later, when Anne has an accident on the pond and her wooden plank sinks, who should come to her rescue but her nemesis, Gilbert Blythe?

Lovingly adapted by Kallie George with beautiful nostalgic illustrations by Abigail Halpin, this series is perfect for fans of Anne, new and old.

About the authors

KALLIE GEORGE works as an author and editor in Vancouver, and she holds a master's in children's literature from the University of British Columbia. In addition to writing and editing, Kallie is a speaker and leads workshops for aspiring writers. She finds all eggs enchanting, even ordinary ones.

WEB: www.kalliegeorge.com

ALEXANDRA BOIGER grew up in Munich, Germany, where she studied graphic design, and then began a career in feature animation, allowing her to work for Warner Bros. UK and DreamWorks. Since transitioning to children's book illustration, she has worked on numerous popular titles, including the Tallulah series. She lives with her husband and daughter in northern California.

WEB: www.alexandraboiger.com

Kallie George's profile page

Abigail Halpin's profile page

Editorial Reviews

"Capture[s] the heart and essence of Anne Shirley and her escapades." —Library Matters

Other titles by Kallie George

Other titles by Abigail Halpin

Related lists