amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

9780735267206_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $16.99
edition:Hardcover
published: Jul 2021
ISBN:9780735267206
publisher: Tundra

Anne's School Days

by Kallie George, illustrated by Abigail Halpin

tagged: chapter books, orphans & foster homes, classics
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $16.99
edition:Hardcover
published: Jul 2021
ISBN:9780735267206
publisher: Tundra
Description

The third book in an early-reader series inspired by Anne of Green Gables, starring the spirited Anne Shirley as she navigates her first days of school and the incorrigible Gilbert Blythe.

Anne loves autumn in Avonlea, and she's been enjoying her first three weeks of school. It helps that she walks to school with and sits next to her kindred spirit, Diana Barry. However, one day, Gilbert Blythe joins the class. According to Diana, he's very handsome, and smart too. He's also very bold, and immediately rubs Anne the wrong way. Things come to a head when Gilbert pulls on Anne's braid and calls her "Carrots" because of her red hair. Anne vows never to talk to Gilbert again, and even stops going to school for a time when her teacher forces Anne to sit next to her rival. But later, when Anne has an accident on the pond and her wooden plank sinks, who should come to her rescue but her nemesis, Gilbert Blythe?

Lovingly adapted by Kallie George with beautiful nostalgic illustrations by Abigail Halpin, this series is perfect for fans of Anne, new and old.

About the Authors

Kallie George is an author, editor, and creative writing teacher. She has written numerous books for children, including the Magical Animal Adoption Agency series, the Heartwood Hotel series, Wings of OlympusDuck, Duck, Dinosaur, and The Lost Gift. Kallie lives in BC, on the Sunshine Coast, with her husband and son. Visit Kallie online at www.kalliegeorge.com.

Author profile page >

Kallie George is an author, editor, and creative writing teacher. She has written numerous books for children, including the Magical Animal Adoption Agency series, the Heartwood Hotel series, Wings of OlympusDuck, Duck, Dinosaur, and The Lost Gift. Kallie lives in BC, on the Sunshine Coast, with her husband and son. Visit Kallie online at www.kalliegeorge.com.

Author profile page >
Contributor Notes

KALLIE GEORGE is an author, editor and creative writing teacher. She has written numerous books for early readers, including Anne Arrives (book 1), Anne's Kindred Spirits (book 2), The Magical Animal Adoption Agency series, The Heartwood Hotel series and The Wings of Olympus series, as well as numerous picture books, such as Goodnight, Anne, If I Couldn't Be Anne, Secrets I Know and The Lost Gift. Kallie currently lives in Vancouver, BC, and feels positively certain she and Anne Shirley are kindred spirits.

ABIGAIL HALPIN is an illustrator living in southern Maine, a few miles from the sea. Her illustrations are a blend of traditional and digital media, and she has illustrated many beautiful children's books including Finding Wild, Fort Building Time and, most recently, Itzhak: A Boy Who Loved the Violin. Her parents gave her a copy of Anne of Green Gables for her eighth birthday, which still sits on her bookcase in her studio, and her work for the Anne chapter book series was influenced by her teen memories of Prince Edward Island as one of the most beautiful, magical spots on the planet.

Recommended Age and Grade
Age:
6 to 9
Grade:
1 to 4

Buy the e-book: