amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Humorous

Showing 11-20 of 45 books

rated!
rated!

Optimists Die First

by Susin Nielsen
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: diseases, illnesses & injuries, general (see also headings under social themes)

This touching, hilarious tragi-comedy by award-winning author Susin Nielsen proves: Life is out to get you. But so is love. A quirky alternative to the "sick lit" genre for YA readers.

     Petula's funny, and a crafting genius, but no social star at high school, and it doesn't help that she's isolated herself after her adored toddler sister died. P …

rated!
rated!

10 Things I Can See From Here

by Carrie Mac, read by Susannah Jones
also available: Paperback
  • age: 14 to 17
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: lgbt, depression

Perfect for fans of Finding Audrey and Everything, Everything, this is the poignant and uplifting story of Maeve, who is dealing with anxiety while falling in love with a girl who is not afraid of anything. Think positive. Don't worry; be happy. Keep calm and carry on. Maeve has heard it all before. She's been struggling with severe anxiety for a l …

rated!
rated!

The Truth Commission

by Susan Juby
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: siblings, assimilation

A quirky, darkly funny novel from an acclaimed author--great for fans of Libba Bray and E. Lockhart.

     Normandy Pale and her friends are The Truth Commission. They have no fear; they're committed to exposing the things that no one else is brave enough or tactless enough to ask about at their high school for artists. But then, one of their truth …

rated!
rated!

The Ted Staunton Seven 2-Pack

by Ted Staunton
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: film

This two-book set features Ted Staunton's Jump Cut, from Seven (the series) and Coda (The Seven Sequels). In Jump Cut, Spencer is disappointed in the destination his late grandfather has chosen to send him to: Buffalo. But it turns out Buffalo is full of surprises—including an ancient movie star, a gangster and a very cute girl. Coda continues S …

rated!
rated!

Dan Versus Nature

by Don Calame
edition: Hardcover
also available: Paperback
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: camping & outdoor activities, boys & men

From screenwriter Don Calame comes another outrageously funny and raunchy tale of teen boys whose plans go awry — this time, on a survivalist camping trip.

Shy and scrawny Dan Weekes spends his time creating graphic novels inspired by his dream girl and looking out for his mom as she dates every man in the state of California. Then his mom drops a …

rated!
rated!

Say You Will

by Eric Walters
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: dating & sex, romantic comedy

A funny, heartfelt novel about one high school boy's quest for a prom date, perfectly timed for the surge in realistic YA.
     Sam is not exactly what you'd call a regular guy: while his IQ is stratospheric, his social skills don't quite rank as high, and his dating history: well, there's no history to speak of . . . yet. But Sam has set out to f …

rated!
rated!

Harry Flammable Teachers' Guide

Dundurn Teachers' Guide

by James Venn
  • age: 12 to 15
  • Grade: 7 to 10
tagged: self-esteem & self-reliance, film

Flames follow high schooler and aspiring movie star Harry Flanagan wherever he goes.

Despite a disastrous attempt at driving a bike through a burning refrigerator box in second grade, high schooler Harry Flanagan never gives up his goal of becoming a movie star or at least a stuntman. However, since the bicycle episode, it seems as if fires pop up …

rated!
rated!

Nothing Man and the Purple Zero

by Richard Scarsbrook
edition: eBook
also available: Paperback
  • age: 13 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: lgbt, superheroes

Marty Apostrophes and Bill Brown are from opposite sides of the tracks, but their friendship allows them to overcome bullies and scrape through classes (with Bill doing the lion's share of the scraping). Bill's obsession with the classic cars owned by Marty's family leads to a joy ride in a 1937 Cord 812 Sportsman, and the accidental foiling of a r …

Show editions

Sub-categories