amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Humorous

Showing 1-10 of 43 books

rated!
rated!

Tremendous Things

by Susin Nielsen
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: friendship, coming of age

From Governor General's Literary Award--winning author Susin Nielsen comes a funny and heartfelt story about learning how to rise above your most embarrassing moment with humor, best friends and a killer triangle solo.

We all have moments that define us. For the comically clueless Wilbur, his moment happened on the first day of middle school, when s …

rated!
rated!

Barry Squires, Full Tilt

by Heather Smith
edition: Hardcover
also available: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: coming of age, self-esteem & self-reliance

Barry Squires, Full Tilt takes readers on a romp through the streets of St. John's and into the Squires household, a place where tragedy strikes but love prevails. Derry Girls meets Billy Elliot with an East coast twist.

It's 1995. When the Full Tilt Dancers give an inspiring performance at the opening of the new bingo hall, twelve-year-old Finbar ( …

rated!
rated!

Followers

by Raziel Reid
edition: Hardcover
also available: Paperback
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: black comedy, drugs, alcohol, substance abuse, television & radio

A naïve teenager is thrown into the high-stakes, back-stabbing world of reality television in this gossipy, satirical romp, perfect for fans of reality TV.

After a disastrous date results in her arrest, sixteen-year-old Lily Rhode is horrified to discover her mugshot is leaked on a gossip website. Lily is the niece of Whitney Paley, a Hollywood ho …

rated!
rated!

The Field Guide to the North American Teenager

by Ben Philippe
edition: Paperback
  • age: 13 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: emigration & immigration, coming of age

William C. Morris YA Debut Award Winner!

A hilarious YA contemporary realistic novel about a witty Black French Canadian teen who moves to Austin, Texas, and experiences the joys, clichés, and awkward humiliations of the American high school experience—including falling in love. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon, When Dimple Met Rishi, and John Gre …

rated!
rated!

Crime Club

by Melodie Campbell
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: mysteries & detective stories, law & crime, black comedy

Sixteen-year-old Penny has moved with her mom and huge dog, Ollie, to live above a small-town pub owned by her aunt. It's a relief to start over in a place where no one knows her father is in prison.
It's summer, and the only person she knows is her nerdy cousin Simon. Soon she meets Simon's best friend, Brent, and Brent's twin sister, Tara, and t …

rated!
rated!

Amber Fang: Hunted

by Arthur Slade
edition: Paperback
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: black comedy, vampires, dark fantasy

Amber Fang enjoys life's simple pleasures. A perfect evening for her includes a good book, a glass of wine and, of course, a great meal, preferably straight from the jugular.
Raised to eat ethically, Amber dines only on delicious cold-blooded killers. But confirming that her chosen victims deserve to die takes time. And patience. So it's a good th …

rated!
rated!

Dan Versus Nature

by Don Calame
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: camping & outdoor activities, boys & men

From screenwriter Don Calame comes another outrageously funny and raunchy tale of teen boys whose plans go awry — this time, on a survivalist camping trip.

Shy and scrawny Dan Weekes spends his time creating graphic novels inspired by his dream girl and looking out for his mom as she dates every man in the state of California. Then his mom drops a …

rated!
rated!

The Fashion Committee

by Susan Juby
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: fashion & beauty

Project Runway meets I'll Give You the Sun in a hilarious and surprising he-said, she-said story about a fashion competition that will change both of their lives, from acclaimed author Susan Juby.

     Charlie Dean is a style-obsessed girl who eats, sleeps and breathes fashion. John Thomas-Smith is a boy who forges metal sculptures in his garage and …

rated!
rated!

Optimists Die First

by Susin Nielsen
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: diseases, illnesses & injuries, general (see also headings under social themes)

This touching, hilarious tragi-comedy by award-winning author Susin Nielsen proves: Life is out to get you. But so is love. A quirky alternative to the "sick lit" genre for YA readers.

     Petula's funny, and a crafting genius, but no social star at high school, and it doesn't help that she's isolated herself after her adored toddler sister died. P …

Show editions

Sub-categories