amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Humorous

Showing 1-10 of 49 books

rated!
rated!

Tremendous Things

by Susin Nielsen
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 100
  • Grade: 7 to 17
tagged: friendship, coming of age

From Governor General's Literary Award--winning author Susin Nielsen comes a funny and heartfelt story about learning how to rise above your most embarrassing moment with humor, best friends and a killer triangle solo.

We all have moments that define us. For the comically clueless Wilbur, his moment happened on the first day of middle school, when s …

rated!
rated!

Followers

by Raziel Reid
edition: Paperback
  • age: 14 to 100
  • Grade: 9 to 17
tagged: black comedy, drugs, alcohol, substance abuse, television & radio

A naïve teenager is thrown into the high-stakes, back-stabbing world of reality television in this gossipy, satirical romp, perfect for fans of reality TV.

After a disastrous date results in her arrest, sixteen-year-old Lily Rhode is horrified to discover her mugshot is leaked on a gossip website. Lily is the niece of Whitney Paley, a Hollywood ho …

rated!
rated!

Barry Squires, Full Tilt

by Heather Smith
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 100
  • Grade: 7 to 17
tagged: coming of age, self-esteem & self-reliance

Barry Squires, Full Tilt takes readers on a romp through the streets of St. John's and into the Squires household, a place where tragedy strikes but love prevails. Derry Girls meets Billy Elliot with an East coast twist.

It's 1995. When the Full Tilt Dancers give an inspiring performance at the opening of the new bingo hall, twelve-year-old Finbar ( …

rated!
rated!

The Field Guide to the North American Teenager

by Ben Philippe
edition: Paperback
  • age: 13 to 100
  • Grade: 8 to 17
tagged: emigration & immigration, coming of age

Morris Award Finalist for Best Debut YA Novel of the Year!

A hilarious YA contemporary realistic novel about a witty Black French Canadian teen who moves to Austin, Texas, and experiences the joys, clichés, and awkward humiliations of the American high school experience—including falling in love. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon, When Dimple Met R …

rated!
rated!

Crime Club

by Melodie Campbell
edition: eBook
  • age: 12 to 100
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: mysteries & detective stories, black comedy, law & crime

Sixteen-year-old Penny has moved with her mom and huge dog, Ollie, to live above a small-town pub owned by her aunt. It's a relief to start over in a place where no one knows her father is in prison.

It's summer, and the only person she knows is her nerdy cousin Simon. Soon she meets Simon's best friend, Brent, and Brent's twin sister, Tara, and …

rated!
rated!

The Crime Club

by Melodie Campbell
edition: eBook
  • age: 12 to 100
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: black comedy, law & crime, mysteries & detective stories

Sixteen-year-old Penny has moved with her mom and huge dog, Ollie, to live above a small-town pub owned by her aunt. It's a relief to start over in a place where no one knows her father is in prison.

It's summer, and the only person she knows is her nerdy cousin Simon. Soon she meets Simon's best friend, Brent, and Brent's twin sister, Tara, and the …

rated!
rated!

Amber Fang: Hunted

by Arthur Slade
edition: eBook
  • age: 12 to 100
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: vampires, dark fantasy, black comedy

Amber Fang enjoys life's simple pleasures. A perfect evening for her includes a good book, a glass of wine and, of course, a great meal, preferably straight from the jugular.
Raised to eat ethically, Amber dines only on delicious cold-blooded killers. But confirming that her chosen victims deserve to die takes time. And patience. So it's a good th …

Show editions