amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Diversity & Multicultural

Showing 1-10 of 61 books

rated!
rated!

Lessons In Fusion

A Novel

by Primrose Madayag Knazan
edition: Paperback
tagged: diversity & multicultural

Sixteen-year-old Sarah (it's pronounced SAH-rah, thank you) has a successful blog creating fusion recipes. When Sarah is invited to compete on Cyber Chef, a virtual cooking competition that soars in popularity at the height of the pandemic, her twists on her Baba's recipes are not enough to pique the palate of the show's producers. She is pushed to …

rated!
rated!

Iron Widow

by Xiran Jay Zhao
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: diversity & multicultural, girls & women

An instant #1 New York Times bestseller!
Pacific Rim meets The Handmaid's Tale in this blend of Chinese history and mecha science fiction for YA readers.

The boys of Huaxia dream of pairing up with girls to pilot Chrysalises, giant transforming robots that can battle the mecha aliens that lurk beyond the Great Wall. It doesn't matter that the girls …

rated!
rated!

Walking in Two Worlds

by Wab Kinew
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: diversity & multicultural, self-esteem & self-reliance

An Indigenous teen girl is caught between two worlds, both real and virtual, in the YA fantasy debut from bestselling Indigenous author Wab Kinew. Perfect for fans of Ready Player One and the Otherworld series.

Bugz is caught between two worlds. In the real world, she's a shy and self-conscious Indigenous teen who faces the stresses of teenage angs …

rated!
rated!

Edokko

by Loren Greene
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: diversity & multicultural, asia

Lily Jennings is Going. To. Japan.

Sixteen and on top of the world, she's beyond excited to be setting off for an entire year as an exchange student in Tokyo. Fashion and fun are foremost on her mind as she arrives ready to meet her new host family and embark on a grand adventure, livestreaming all the way.

What Lily isn't expecting, however, is for …

rated!
rated!

Dreaming in Color

by Melanie Florence, read by Chanin Lee
edition: Audiobook
also available: eBook Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: diversity & multicultural, siblings, prejudice & racism

Jennifer McCaffrey has been working hard on her art for years and is thrilled when she is accepted to a prestigious art school. The school is everything she always thought it would be, mostly. There is one group of kids who seem to resent her and say she only got in because of her skin color. Jen, who loves to create new pieces of artwork that inco …

rated!
rated!

Kings, Queens, and In-Betweens

by Tanya Boteju
edition: Paperback
also available: Audiobook Hardcover eBook
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: lgbt, diversity & multicultural, romantic comedy

“Poignant and important.” —Refinery29
“A bright and sparkly celebration of love and self-acceptance.” —Kirkus Reviews
Judy Blume meets RuPaul’s Drag Race in this funny, feel-good debut novel about a queer teen who navigates questions of identity and self-acceptance while discovering the magical world of drag.

Perpetually awkward Nima …

rated!
rated!

Pickpocket

by Karen Spafford-Fitz
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: thrillers & suspense, contemporary, runaways, diversity & multicultural

After his younger sister dies, 17-year-old Jean-Luc goes into a downward spiral. He is sent away for the summer to live with his uncle in a small town on the coast of France. His first day there he meets the beautiful Selina and decides that this summer might not be so bad after all. That is until he realizes that she stole his wallet. Jean-Luc doe …

rated!
rated!

Meet You By Hachiko

by Loren Greene
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: diversity & multicultural, asia

What would you do if your best friend lived half a world away—and suddenly vanished?
Loner Grace Ryan feels completely invisible. Awkward and shy, she can't seem to get ahead in her studies, social circle, or new relationship with her childhood best friend. But discovering Tokyo street fashion ignites her creativity and leads her into an unlikel …

rated!
rated!

Annaka

by Andre Fenton
edition: eBook
also available: Paperback
  • age: 14 to 17
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: self-esteem & self-reliance, diversity & multicultural

Annaka has always hated her first name. That's why, when her mother packed her up at age seven and moved from Yarmouth to Halifax, she decided she would go by Anna. Now Anna is back in Yarmouth after the death of her beloved Grampy, and sorting through memories from her younger self. She discovers a journal Grampy gifted her years ago; it is fil …

Show editions

Sub-categories