amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Diversity & Multicultural

Showing 1-10 of 63 books

rated!
rated!

Wrong Side of the Court

by H.N. Khan
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: basketball, diversity & multicultural, coming of age

Fifteen-year-old Fawad has big dreams about being the world's first Pakistani to be drafted into the NBA. A first-generation Pakistani coming-of-age story for fans of David Yoon and Ben Philippe.

Fifteen-year-old Fawad Chaudhry loves two things: basketball and his mother's potato and ground beef stuffed parathas. Both are round and both help him fo …

rated!
rated!

Fight Like a Girl

by Sheena Kamal
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: diversity & multicultural, martial arts, parents

Award-winning thriller writer Sheena Kamal delivers a kick-ass debut YA novel about a teenage kick-boxer coming to terms with her father passing away.

Love and violence. In some families they're bound up together, dysfunctional and poisonous, passed from generation to generation like eye color or a quirk of smile. Trisha's trying to break the chain, …

rated!
rated!

Lessons In Fusion

A Novel

by Primrose Madayag Knazan
edition: Paperback
tagged: diversity & multicultural

Sixteen-year-old Sarah (it's pronounced SAH-rah, thank you) has a successful blog creating fusion recipes. When Sarah is invited to compete on Cyber Chef, a virtual cooking competition that soars in popularity at the height of the pandemic, her twists on her Baba's recipes are not enough to pique the palate of the show's producers. She is pushed to …

rated!
rated!

Iron Widow

by Xiran Jay Zhao
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: diversity & multicultural, girls & women

An instant #1 New York Times bestseller!
Pacific Rim meets The Handmaid's Tale in this blend of Chinese history and mecha science fiction for YA readers.

The boys of Huaxia dream of pairing up with girls to pilot Chrysalises, giant transforming robots that can battle the mecha aliens that lurk beyond the Great Wall. It doesn't matter that the girls …

rated!
rated!

Walking in Two Worlds

by Wab Kinew
edition: Hardcover
also available: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: diversity & multicultural, self-esteem & self-reliance

An Indigenous teen girl is caught between two worlds, both real and virtual, in the YA fantasy debut from bestselling Indigenous author Wab Kinew. Perfect for fans of Ready Player One and the Otherworld series.

In the real world, Bugz is a shy and self-conscious Indigenous teen who faces the stresses of teenage angst and life on the Rez. But in the …

rated!
rated!

Edokko

by Loren Greene
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: diversity & multicultural, asia

Lily Jennings is Going. To. Japan.

Sixteen and on top of the world, she's beyond excited to be setting off for an entire year as an exchange student in Tokyo. Fashion and fun are foremost on her mind as she arrives ready to meet her new host family and embark on a grand adventure, livestreaming all the way.

What Lily isn't expecting, however, is for …

rated!
rated!

Dreaming in Color

by Melanie Florence, read by Chanin Lee
edition: Audiobook
also available: eBook Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: diversity & multicultural, siblings, prejudice & racism

Jennifer McCaffrey has been working hard on her art for years and is thrilled when she is accepted to a prestigious art school. The school is everything she always thought it would be, mostly. There is one group of kids who seem to resent her and say she only got in because of her skin color. Jen, who loves to create new pieces of artwork that inco …

rated!
rated!

Kings, Queens, and In-Betweens

by Tanya Boteju
edition: Paperback
also available: Audiobook Hardcover eBook
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: lgbt, diversity & multicultural, romantic comedy

“Poignant and important.” —Refinery29
“A bright and sparkly celebration of love and self-acceptance.” —Kirkus Reviews
Judy Blume meets RuPaul’s Drag Race in this funny, feel-good debut novel about a queer teen who navigates questions of identity and self-acceptance while discovering the magical world of drag.

Perpetually awkward Nima …

rated!
rated!

Pickpocket

by Karen Spafford-Fitz
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: thrillers & suspense, contemporary, runaways, diversity & multicultural

After his younger sister dies, 17-year-old Jean-Luc goes into a downward spiral. He is sent away for the summer to live with his uncle in a small town on the coast of France. His first day there he meets the beautiful Selina and decides that this summer might not be so bad after all. That is until he realizes that she stole his wallet. Jean-Luc doe …

Show editions

Sub-categories