amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Diversity & Multicultural

Showing 1-10 of 53 books

rated!
rated!

Walking in Two Worlds

by Wab Kinew
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 100
  • Grade: 7 to 17
tagged: diversity & multicultural, self-esteem & self-reliance

An Indigenous teen girl caught is between two worlds, both real and virtual, in the YA fantasy debut from bestselling Indigenous author Wab Kinew. Perfect for fans of Ready Player One and the Otherworld series.

Bugz is caught between two worlds. In the real world, she's a shy and self-conscious Indigenous teen who faces the stresses of teenage angs …

rated!
rated!

Iron Widow

by Xiran Jay Zhao
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 100
  • Grade: 9 to 17
tagged: diversity & multicultural, girls & women

Pacific Rim meets The Handmaid's Tale in this blend of Chinese history and mecha science fiction for YA readers.

The boys of Huaxia dream of pairing up with girls to pilot Chrysalises, giant transforming robots that can battle the mecha aliens that lurk beyond the Great Wall. It doesn't matter that the girls often die from the mental strain.
 
When …

rated!
rated!

Fight Like a Girl

by Sheena Kamal
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 100
  • Grade: 9 to 17
tagged: diversity & multicultural, martial arts, parents

Award-winning thriller writer Sheena Kamal delivers a kick-ass debut YA novel about a teenage kick-boxer coming to terms with her father passing away.

Love and violence. In some families they're bound up together, dysfunctional and poisonous, passed from generation to generation like eye color or a quirk of smile. Trisha's trying to break the chain, …

rated!
rated!

Kings, Queens, and In-Betweens

by Tanya Boteju
edition: Paperback
also available: Audiobook Hardcover eBook
  • age: 12 to 99
  • Grade: 7 to 17
tagged: lgbt, diversity & multicultural, romantic comedy

“Poignant and important.” —Refinery29
“A bright and sparkly celebration of love and self-acceptance.” —Kirkus Reviews
Judy Blume meets RuPaul’s Drag Race in this funny, feel-good debut novel about a queer teen who navigates questions of identity and self-acceptance while discovering the magical world of drag.

Perpetually awkward Nima …

rated!
rated!

Pickpocket

by Karen Spafford-Fitz
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 100
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: thrillers & suspense, contemporary, runaways, diversity & multicultural

After his younger sister dies, 17-year-old Jean-Luc goes into a downward spiral. He is sent away for the summer to live with his uncle in a small town on the coast of France. His first day there he meets the beautiful Selina and decides that this summer might not be so bad after all. That is until he realizes that she stole his wallet. Jean-Luc doe …

rated!
rated!

Meet You By Hachiko

by Loren Greene
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 13
tagged: diversity & multicultural, asia, japan, newfoundland

What would you do if your best friend lived half a world away—and suddenly vanished?
Loner Grace Ryan feels completely invisible. Awkward and shy, she can't seem to get ahead in her studies, social circle, or new relationship with her childhood best friend. But discovering Tokyo street fashion ignites her creativity and leads her into an unlikel …

rated!
rated!

The In-Between

by Marcus Youssef
edition: Paperback
tagged: drama, prejudice & racism, diversity & multicultural, canadian

Adopted as a baby by white parents who found her in an orphanage in Vietnam, Lily has always considered herself Canadian. When Karim – a guy she’s liked for a long time – finally starts to show interest in her, Lily’s best friend Brit starts to hang out with some grade-twelves with radical opinions about immigrants. After a conflict between …

rated!
rated!

Dreaming in Color

by Melanie Florence
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook Audiobook
  • age: 12 to 100
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: diversity & multicultural, siblings, prejudice & racism

Jennifer McCaffrey has been working hard on her art for years and is thrilled when she is accepted to a prestigious art school. The school is everything she always thought it would be, mostly. There is one group of kids who seem to resent her and say she only got in because of her skin color. Jen, who loves to create new pieces of artwork that inco …

rated!
rated!

Annaka

by Andre Fenton
edition: eBook
also available: Paperback
  • age: 14 to 17
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: self-esteem & self-reliance, diversity & multicultural

Annaka has always hated her first name. That's why, when her mother packed her up at age seven and moved from Yarmouth to Halifax, she decided she would go by Anna. Now Anna is back in Yarmouth after the death of her beloved Grampy, and sorting through memories from her younger self. She discovers a journal Grampy gifted her years ago; it is fil …

Show editions