amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Legends, Myths, Fables

Showing 1-10 of 496 books

rated!
rated!

The Little Hummingbird

by Michael Nicoll Yahgulanaas
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
tagged:
rated!
rated!

The Egyptian Mirror

by Michael Bedard
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: african, mysteries & detective stories, thrillers & suspense, paranormal

A darkly fantastic middle-grade mystery with the ominous atmosphere loved by fans of Jonathan Auxier and Jonathan Stroud

Thirteen-year-old Simon’s life has been knocked askew ever since his family moved into his deceased grandfather’s house. First there’s his eccentric neighbor Mr. Hawkins, who is laid up with a broken leg. Simon’s mother be …

rated!
rated!

How Jack Lost Time

by Stéphanie Lapointe, illustrated by Delphie Côté-Lacroix, translated by Arielle Aaronson
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: death & dying

“An artful and timeless exploration of love, loss, grief, and family, How Jack Lost Time will appeal to readers of Charlie Mackesy’s The Boy, The Mole, The Fox and The Horse, and other picture books for older readers and adults. 

Jack is not like other sea captains. Fishermen say he’s weird, but Jack only cares about one thing: the grey whale …

rated!
rated!

Genie Meanie

by Mahtab Narsimhan, illustrated by Michelle Simpson
edition: eBook
  • age: 6 to 8
  • Grade: 1 to 3
tagged: bullying, asian, friendship

When eight-year-old Kiara discovers that her recently deceased grandmother left her a genie, trapped in a bottle of garam-masala, she’s elated. She’ll be a modern-day Aladdin and have someone to do her bidding. And Kiara could really use a little magic. Third grade is just about to start and she’s spent the summer worried about being in class …

rated!
rated!

The Barren Grounds

The Misewa Saga, Book 1

by David A. Robertson
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 10 to 100
  • Grade: 5 to 17
tagged: fantasy & magic, native american, orphans & foster homes

Narnia meets traditional Indigenous stories of the sky and constellations in an epic middle grade fantasy series from award-winning author David Robertson.

Morgan and Eli, two Indigenous children forced away from their families and communities, are brought together in a foster home in Winnipeg, Manitoba. They each feel disconnected, from their cultu …

rated!
rated!

Wind Among Grasses

by Jennifer Pool, by (artist) David Dodson
edition: Paperback
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 2 to 6
tagged: native american

Wind Among Grasses is an indigenous folktale about a Cherokee girl named Wind, who lives as an outcast because she is different; all the people in her village have a great power except for her. While living in solitude, Wind finds an injured baby sparrow and begins to care for it despite ridicule and discouragement from her people. When Baby Bird g …

rated!
rated!

Screech!

Ghost Stories from Old Newfoundland

by Charis Cotter, illustrated by Genevieve Simms
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: ghost stories, thrillers & suspense, paranormal

The whole world seemed to tilt at that moment, like a painting on a wall that gets knocked a little crooked. Everything she had known as real up until now was slightly altered, and she seemed to be standing on the edge of a huge, dark, trembling world that was just a little different than it had been one minute before. Ghosts were real.

There is no …

rated!
rated!

Haunted Hospital

by Marty Chan
edition: eBook
also available: Paperback
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: ghost stories, thrillers & suspense

Xander thinks the George Wickerman Hospital would be the perfect setting for Spirits and Specters, a role-playing game where players go on “missions” to find evidence of paranormal activities. According to local legend, tuberculosis patients were used as test subjects in medical experiments that ended tragically, and their disfigured ghosts wal …

rated!
rated!

Once Upon an Hour

by Ann Yu-Kyung Choi, illustrated by Soyeon Kim
edition: Hardcover
also available: eBook Audiobook
  • age: 3 to 5
  • Grade: p to k
tagged: asian, bedtime & dreams, date & time

Yu-Rhee, a young Korean girl, wants to know how to tell time using a clock. Her mother tells her a tale from her childhood based on the traditional Korean practice of timekeeping, where the 12 animals of the zodiac are assigned to 2-hour sections of the 24-hour clock. Told from the point of view of a mountain, the story follows a child as they clim …

Show editions

Sub-categories