amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Legends, Myths, Fables

Showing 1-10 of 497 books

rated!
rated!

The Little Hummingbird

by Michael Nicoll Yahgulanaas
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
tagged:
rated!
rated!

Genie Meanie

by Mahtab Narsimhan, illustrated by Michelle Simpson
edition: Paperback
  • age: 6 to 8
  • Grade: 1 to 3
tagged: bullying, friendship, asian

When eight-year-old Kiara discovers that her recently deceased grandmother left her a genie, trapped in a bottle of garam-masala, she’s elated. She’ll be a modern-day Aladdin and have someone to do her bidding. And Kiara could really use a little magic. Third grade is just about to start and she’s spent the summer worried about being in class …

rated!
rated!

The Egyptian Mirror

by Michael Bedard
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: african, mysteries & detective stories, thrillers & suspense, paranormal

A darkly fantastic middle-grade mystery with the ominous atmosphere loved by fans of Jonathan Auxier and Jonathan Stroud

Thirteen-year-old Simon’s life has been knocked askew ever since his family moved into his deceased grandfather’s house. First there’s his eccentric neighbor Mr. Hawkins, who is laid up with a broken leg. Simon’s mother be …

rated!
rated!

How Jack Lost Time

by Stéphanie Lapointe, illustrated by Delphie Côté-Lacroix, translated by Arielle Aaronson
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: death & dying

“An artful and timeless exploration of love, loss, grief, and family, How Jack Lost Time will appeal to readers of Charlie Mackesy’s The Boy, The Mole, The Fox and The Horse, and other picture books for older readers and adults. 

Jack is not like other sea captains. Fishermen say he’s weird, but Jack only cares about one thing: the grey whale …

rated!
rated!

Once Upon an Hour

by Ann Yu-Kyung Choi, read by Kirstie Hudson
edition: Audiobook
  • age: 3 to 5
  • Grade: p to k
tagged: asian, date & time, bedtime & dreams

Yu-Rhee, a young Korean girl, wants to know how to tell time using a clock. Her mother tells her a tale from her childhood based on the traditional Korean practice of timekeeping, where the 12 animals of the zodiac are assigned to 2-hour sections of the 24-hour clock. Told from the point of view of a mountain, the story follows a child as they clim …

rated!
rated!

Haunted Hospital

by Marty Chan
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: ghost stories, thrillers & suspense

Xander thinks the George Wickerman Hospital would be the perfect setting for Spirits and Specters, a role-playing game where players go on “missions” to find evidence of paranormal activities. According to local legend, tuberculosis patients were used as test subjects in medical experiments that ended tragically, and their disfigured ghosts wal …

rated!
rated!

The Barren Grounds

The Misewa Saga, Book 1

by David A. Robertson
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 10 to 100
  • Grade: 5 to 17
tagged: fantasy & magic, native american, orphans & foster homes

Narnia meets traditional Indigenous stories of the sky and constellations in an epic middle grade fantasy series from award-winning author David Robertson.

Morgan and Eli, two Indigenous children forced away from their families and communities, are brought together in a foster home in Winnipeg, Manitoba. They each feel disconnected, from their cultu …

Show editions

Sub-categories