amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Cooking & Food

Showing 1-10 of 137 books

rated!
rated!

Alice Fleck's Recipes for Disaster

by Rachelle Delaney
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: cooking & food, friendship, mysteries & detective stories

When Alice agreed to appear in a reality cooking show with her father, she had no idea she'd find herself in the middle of a mystery! Will Alice and her new friends be able to save the show? A light-hearted and funny middle grade novel for fans of Rebecca Stead and Linda Mulally Hunt.

Alice Fleck's father is a culinary historian, and for as long as …

rated!
rated!

Alina in a Pinch

by Shenaaz Nanji
edition: Paperback
  • age: 6 to 8
  • Grade: 1 to 3
tagged: prejudice & racism, cooking & food, friendship

Moving to a new city means Alina has to make new friends, and nothing is worse than lunch at a new school. When her grandmother visits, Alina is inspired to help her cook the delicious Afro-Indian meals she’s always loved, but a cruel note from a mysterious lunchtime bully leaves a bitter taste that even Nani’s excellent cooking can’t erase.

W …

rated!
rated!

Something Good (Classic Munsch Audio)

read by Robert Munsch
edition: Audiobook
  • age: 4 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged: humorous stories, cooking & food, adoption

 

“Something good” is exactly what Tyya, Andrew and Julie want to put into their shopping cart. Tyya’s dad won’t buy anything good at the store—no ice cream, no candy, no cookies. But when the saleslady puts a price sticker on Tyya’s nose, Daddy is finally forced to buy something good.

 

rated!
rated!

My Delicious Garden

by Anne-Marie Fortin, illustrated by Julien Castanié, translated by Heather Camlot
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 4 to 8
  • Grade: 2 to 12
tagged: cooking & food, camping & outdoor activities, country life

A girl lovingly tends to her garden through the seasons

In the depths of winter, one young girl is already dreaming of planting her very own vegetable garden. In January, she sketches out the rows of lettuce, the trellis for the peas, and a large plot for the tomatoes while she waits for warmer weather. March is time for sowing, and April gives way …

rated!
rated!

Hot Cross Buns for Everyone

by Yolanda T. Marshall, illustrated by Daria Lavrova
edition: Paperback
tagged: cooking & food, caribbean & latin america

Hot Cross Buns For Everyone!

Jackson’s friends and their families bake assorted hot cross buns for his Easter party. Liam’s foster parents use his most memorable Scottish ingredient, and Dimitris’s dad adds Greek mahlepi spice. Some have rainbow colours for all to see and a sweet Jamaican bun and cheese recipe! One by one, the children arrive …

rated!
rated!

Autour de la table

illustrated by Peter H. Reynolds
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 4 to 18
  • Grade: p to 12
tagged: cooking & food

 

See below for English description.

Violette adore la table à manger familiale. Elle apprécie la façon dont les gens qu’elle aime s’y rassemblent pour chanter, rire, célébrer et créer toutes sortes de souvenirs. Au fil du temps, elle remarque que la table est plus souvent seule qu’entourée de gens. Et moins sa famille l’utilise, plus …

rated!
rated!

Chaiwala!

by Priti Birla Maheshwari, illustrated by Ashley Barron
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 7
  • Grade: 2 to 12
tagged: senses & sensation, asia, cooking & food, diversity & multicultural

A sensory celebration of family, food, and culture

 

When their train makes a 10-minute stop at the station in Jaipur, a young girl and her mother hurry to get in line for a cup of chai. While the girl waits for her mug of milky spiced tea, readers are treated to the sights, sounds, and smells of the Chaiwala’s cart. The aroma of ginger, cardamom, …

rated!
rated!

Lentil Soup

by Carole Tremblay, illustrated by Maurèen Poignonec, translated by Charles Simard
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 6 to 8
  • Grade: 1 to 3
tagged: cooking & food, mice, hamsters, guinea pigs, etc., humorous stories

Who knew a simple bowl of soup could be so interesting?

When a younger brother decides his soup is too hot to eat, he starts peppering his older brother with questions: Where do lentils come from? What are those white things? Why is it called celery? One question leads to another and another and another, and the older brother answers them all with h …

Show editions

Sub-categories