amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Cooking & Food

Showing 1-10 of 113 books

rated!
rated!

Alice Fleck's Recipes for Disaster

by Rachelle Delaney
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 10 to 14
  • Grade: 5 to 9
tagged: cooking & food, friendship, mysteries & detective stories

When Alice agreed to appear in a reality cooking show with her father, she had no idea she'd find herself in the middle of a mystery! Will Alice and her new friends be able to save the show? A light-hearted and funny middle grade novel for fans of Rebecca Stead and Linda Mulally Hunt.

Alice Fleck's father is a culinary historian, and for as long as …

rated!
rated!

The Great Cookie War

by Caroline Stellings
edition: Paperback
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: cooking & food, multigenerational, values & virtues

Life in her traditional Mennonite community is peaceful, if a little dull, for twelve-year-old Beth who dreams of being an artist. She goes to school, helps with the cooking and cleaning at home, and works with her parents at the local farmer’s market. One Saturday, however, excitement shows up in the form of a determined lawyer from New York Cit …

rated!
rated!

Rah! Rah! Mujadara

by Jamie Kiffel-Alcheh, illustrated by Claudine Gévry
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 1 to 4
  • Grade: p
tagged: cooking & food, middle east

Rah, rah,
mu-JA-dara!
Lentil rice
tastes so nice!

A rhyming, rhythmic story follows a diverse group of Israeli children as they taste a variety of different ethnic foods found in Israel

rated!
rated!

Embrace the Chicken

by Mahtab Narsimhan
edition: Paperback
also available: Paperback eBook
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: parents, hindu, cooking & food

Even though she only left Mumbai a few months ago, Shivani isn't feeling like such an outsider anymore. She likes her new school. She finally has a best friend. But when her mother volunteers for the school's annual fundraiser, Shivani is sure she will completely embarrass her. Especially if she cooks one of the "stinky" dishes that Shivani loves …

rated!
rated!

Our Little Kitchen

illustrated by Jillian Tamaki
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 4 to 8
  • Grade: k to 3
tagged: cooking & food, stories in verse, homelessness & poverty

A picture book about a lively evening in a community kitchen from Governor General’s Award–winning author and illustrator Jillian Tamaki.

Tie on your apron!
Roll up your sleeves!
Pans are out, oven is hot.
The kitchen’s all ready,
Where do we start?

In this lively, rousing picture book from Caldecott Honoree Jillian Tamaki, a crew of resourcefu …

rated!
rated!

It Happened on Sweet Street

by Caroline Adderson & Stéphane Jorisch
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 4 to 8
  • Grade: p to 3
tagged: cooking & food, imagination & play, humorous stories

Cakes, cookies or pie? A rivalry among local bakers is the basis for this deliciously sweet, off-the-wall picture book.

Monsieur Oliphant's cake shop, the only bakery game in town, has long had customers lining up outside its door for Oliphant's delicious jelly rolls and marvelous wedding cakes . . . until the day cookie concocter Mademoiselle Fée …

rated!
rated!

Un monstre dans ma cuisine

by Marie-France Comeau, illustrated by Isabelle Léger
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 6
  • Grade: p to 1
tagged: monsters, imagination & play, cooking & food, size & shape

Grandma Rosi said it: if you want a beautiful and delicious monster, you need some elbow grease! You have to mold the monster, knead it, att ack it, hit it! And when it moves, when bubbles come out of its belly? Quick, flatt en it down, you need to master your monster! And then? Heat, and a nice nap. Discover the best monster recipe in this new pic …

rated!
rated!

I Am Eating

Inuinnaqtun Edition

by Inhabit Education, illustrated by Lenny Lishchenko
edition: Paperback
also available: Paperback
  • age: 0 to 3
  • Grade: p
tagged: beginner, cooking & food, native canadian

What do you like to eat? This illustrated book features different foods people eat in the Arctic.

rated!
rated!

Salma the Syrian Chef

by Danny Ramadan, illustrated by Anna Bron
edition: Hardcover
also available: eBook
  • age: 4 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged: cooking & food, new experience, emigration & immigration

Newcomer Salma and friends cook up a heartwarming dish to cheer up Mama.

All Salma wants is to make her mama smile again. Between English classes, job interviews, and missing Papa back in Syria, Mama always seems busy or sad. A homemade Syrian meal might cheer her up, but Salma doesn’t know the recipe, or what to call the vegetables in English, or …

Show editions