Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Walters Rules YA Fiction

Twice a month, we invite an educator to share their perspective on essential books for your classroom. To apply to become a contributor, please send us an email!


Eric Walters is a well-known Canadian author who has published an astounding 100 books (and counting). Only a writer who can adapt to the changing interests of readers can maintain such a long and distinguished career. His most recent pieces of Young Adult fiction, specifically involving catastrophic events, are very appealing to the modern young adult (and young adult at heart) reader.

Do you remember where you were during the blackout of 2003? The Rule of Three series will bring those memories back and take you on a wild ride of what it could have been like if ALL the computers on Earth crashed! Sixteen-year-old Adam is at the heart of the chaos and it’s his unique hobby that may be the key to the survival of his community. Friends, family, and neighbours (with secret pasts) will have to contribute all of the their knowledge and skills if anyone is going to survive. But who can you trust when your life—and the lives of loved ones—are on the line?

Walters takes the reader on a roller coaster of emotions, as chaos quickly erupts in a world without technology. His writing evokes vivid images of everything that is happening. If you’ve spent any time living in the Greater Toronto Area, you’ll recognize many landmarks, roads, and neighbourhoods that will draw you even deeper into the story.

Any noteworthy “end of the world” story will keep you guessing and provide moments you never expected. This series is no exception. You’ll want to read all three books in the trilogy without interruption to find out how this exciting thriller concludes. The first book in the series, The Rule of Three, was the winner of the Red Maple Award in 2015. This is an award that Walters has won on two other occasions.

There are many factors at play that make it a challenge for teachers and parents to get adolescents reading. Walters appeals to the modern YA reader by creating a world filled with characters that they can relate to.

Once they’ve read this series, your YA enthusiasts will want to pick up these other novels by Eric Walters: RegenesisEnd of Days, Wave, Shaken, Innocent, and Stand Your Ground.

Follow the author on Twitter at: @EricRWalters

Books in the Trilogy: The Rule of Three, Fight for Power, Will to Survive

Spinoff Novel: Fourth Dimension



Since jumping at the opportunity to become a Teacher-Librarian, Geoffrey Ruggero has transformed the Learning Commons at a Maple Public School into a modern learning space. His passion for reading and making inspires students to bring their learning to life in many unique ways.


>> Back to the Teaching With Canadian Books homepage

May 2, 2019
comments powered by Disqus