amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Blog

Introducing the 49th Shelf Summer Books List: Part 2

Summer Reads Part 2

Our summer reads extravaganza continues with PART 2 of our Summer Books List, and once again, each and every title is up for giveaway. Nine books at five giveaways each means FORTY-FIVE (45!) books up for grabs, so the odds are good, and the goods are AMAZING.

And if you can't wait, pick up these titles from your local bookstore or library shelf just in time for the long weekend!

*****

Probaby Ruby, by Lisa Bird Wilson

About the book: For readers of Tommy Orange's There There and Terese Marie Mailhot's Heart Berries, Probably Ruby is an audacious, brave and beautiful book about an adopted woman's search for her Indigenous identity.

Relinquished as an infant, Ruby is placed in a foster home and finally adopted by Alice and Mel, a less-than-desirable couple who can't afford to complain too loudly about Ruby's Indigenous roots. But when her new parents' marriage falls apart, Ruby finds herself vulnerable and in compromising situations that lead her to search, in the unlikeliest of places, for her Indigenous identity.

Unabashedly self-destructing on alcohol, …

Continue reading »

Introducing the 49th Shelf Summer Books List: Part 1

Book Cover Summer Reads

Summer is HERE, and with it our impeccably curated Summer Books List, and just to make that sweet deal even sweeter, every single (awesome!) book on the list is up for giveaway.

There's something for every kind of reader on this list—fun fiction, speculative adventures, gripping mysteries, family drama, short fiction, and more. 

And even better? We're just getting your summer reading started! Stay tuned for the 49th Shelf Summer Books List: Part 2, coming to you at the end of July with ten more picks and another fantastic round of giveaways.

But in the meantime, don't miss your chance to win this excellent selection.

*****

Home of the Floating Lily, by Silmy Abdullah

About the book: Caught between cultures, immigrant families from a Bengali neighbourhood in Toronto strive to navigate their home, relationships, and happiness.

Set in both Canada and Bangladesh, the eight stories in Home of the Floating Lily follow the lives of everyday people as they navigate the complexities of migration, displacement, love, friendship, and familial conflict. A young wo …

Continue reading »