amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Blog

Most Anticipated: Our 2022 Books for Young Readers Spring Preview

Our 2022 Spring Preview concludes with books for young readers, including picture books, middle grade and young adult titles, by authors including Andrew Larsen, Catherine Hernandez, Marie-Louise Gay, Lawrence Hill, Eric Walters, and more, plus many exciting debuts.

*****

Picture Books

Inspired by a true story, Journey of the Midnight Sun (March), by Shazia Afzal, illustrated by Aliya Ghare, reminds us that the collective dream of fostering a multicultural and tolerant Canada exists and that people of all backgrounds will come together to build bridges and overcome obstacles for the greater good of their neighbours. The cooking of a healthy breakfast moves from parent-child bonding to an eloquent conversation about energy, the growth of plants, and the miraculous ways the sun’s light nourishes us all in Sun in My Tummy (April), by Laura Alary and Andrea Blinick. Alary is also out with The Astronomer Who Questioned Everything (May), illustrated by Ellen Rooney, perfect for fans of STEM, an inspiring picture book biography telling the extraordinary story of pioneering astronomer Maria Mitchell.

Continue reading »

Most Anticipated: Our Fall 2020 Books for Young Readers Preview

New books for young readers...and readers of all ages!

*****

Picture Books

Told in rhyming verse, The Old Man and the Penguin (October), by Julie Abery and illustrated by Pierre Pratt, is the touching true story of an oil-soaked penguin, the man who rescues him and an unlikely friendship. Cakes, cookies or pie? A rivalry among local bakers is the basis for the deliciously sweet, off-the-wall picture book It Happened On Sweet Street (July), by Caroline Adderson, illustrated by Stephane Jorisch. Bed has something to say. Bed knows you do not like bedtime. Bed gets it. But look ... YOU are not so great, either: Monica Arnaldo provides the other side of the story in Time for Bed's Story (September). And a young girl discovers nature’s surprising beauty in The Most Amazing Bird (November), from renowned Inuit storyteller Michael Arvaarluk Kusugak, illustrated by Andrew Qappik.

Book Cover Princesses Vs Dinosaurs

Two popular storybook titans, princesses and dinosaurs, battle to determine who should star in Linda Bailey's new laugh-out-loud picture book, Princesses Versus Dinosaurs (September), …

Continue reading »