Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Book Lists

2022 Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize

Funded annually by the Weston Family Foundation, the $60,000 prize is the richest annual literary award for a book of nonfiction by a Canadian writer. The prizewinner will be announced on Wednesday, November 2 at the Writers’ Trust Awards ceremony hosted at CBC’s Glenn Gould Studio in Toronto. The ceremony marks the first in-person celebration of the nonfiction prize since 2019. A jury composed of Canadian writers Mark Bourrie, Cheryl Foggo, and Jessica McDiarmid selected the finalists. In total, 103 titles were submitted by 63 publishing imprints. Each finalist receives $5,000; the winner receives $60,000.

by Kerry Clare