amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

rated!
rated!

Black History Month

Created by 49th Teachers
  • Age: 3 to 18
  • Grade: p to 12
tagged: black history and black lives, diversity and inclusion
Celebrate & honour Black voices, Black history, and Black lives with this selection of books for Black History Month and all year long.

Showing 1-8 of 25 books

rated!
rated!

Boys and Girls Screaming

by Kern Carter
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: emotions & feelings, friendship, literary

When Ever’s father passes away suddenly, she is devastated. Not long after that, her mom has a stroke and Ever’s anguish becomes almost too much for her to handle. That’s when she gets the idea to form a group she calls Boys and Girls Screaming. Along with her brother, Jericho, and her best friend, Candace, Ever wants to bring together kids f …

rated!
rated!

The Witch's Apprentice

by Zetta Elliott, illustrated by Cherise Harris
edition: Hardcover
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: fantasy & magic, african american, mythical

The dragons may be out of the bag, but Jaxon is ready to hatch some magic of his own in this third book in the critically acclaimed series.

Ever since the baby dragons were returned to the magical realm, things have been off. The New York summer has been unusually cold. A strange sleeping sickness is spreading across the city. And Jaxon’s friends …

rated!
rated!

Welcome to the Cypher

by Khodi Dill, illustrated by Awuradwoa Afful
edition: Hardcover
also available: eBook
  • age: 4 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged: poetry (see also stories in verse), self-esteem & self-reliance, music

WELCOME TO THE CYPHER is a delight to read—a story that will move every part of you to a wild and wonderful beat.” —Jael Richardson, Author and Executive Director, The Festival of Literary Diversity

"WELCOME TO THE CYPHER is a beautiful, rhythmic exploration of the joy of language and self-expression. Our whole family loved how the bright i …

rated!
rated!

Chasing Bats and Tracking Rats

Urban Ecology, Community Science, and How We Share Our Cities

by Cylita Guy, illustrated by Cornelia Li
edition: Hardcover
also available: Paperback eBook
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: biology, environmental science & ecosystems, experiments & projects

Gripping narrative non-fiction with STEM and social justice themes that proves cities can be surprisingly wild places—and why understanding urban nature matters.

What can city bees tell us about climate change? How are we changing coyote behavior? And what the heck is a science bike? Featuring the work of a diverse group of eleven scientists—her …

rated!
rated!

The Bones of Ruin

by Sarah Raughley
edition: eBook
also available: Hardcover Audiobook Paperback
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: historical, apocalyptic & post-apocalyptic

An African tightrope walker who can’t die gets embroiled in a secret society’s deadly gladiatorial tournament in this “bloodily spectacular” (Chloe Gong, New York Times bestselling author of These Violent Delights) historical fantasy set in an alternate 1880s London, perfect for fans of The Last Magician and The Gilded Wolves.

As an African …

rated!
rated!

#BlackInSchool

by Habiba Cooper Diallo, foreword by Awad Ibrahim
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover eBook
  • age: 16 to 18
  • Grade: 11 to 12
tagged: black studies (global), cultural heritage, prejudice & racism, personal memoirs, african american & black, race & ethnic relations

A young Black woman documents the systemic racism in her high school diary and calls for justice and educational reform.

The prevalence of anti-Black racism and its many faces, from racial profiling to police brutality, in North America is indisputable. How do we stop racist ideas and violence if the very foundation of our society is built upon whi …

rated!
rated!

A Feast for Joseph

by Terry Farish & OD Bonny, illustrated by Ken Daley
edition: Hardcover
also available: eBook
  • age: 3 to 6
  • Grade: p to 1
tagged: emigration & immigration, friendship, cooking & food

Joseph misses sharing meals with lots of people like he did back in the refugee camp, so when the neighbors finally come over, it’s a feast! A companion book to Joseph’s Big Ride, described in Kirkus as “a joyful, upbeat tale.”

When Joseph and Mama lived in a refugee camp in East Africa, everyone cooked and ate together. And Joseph could alw …

rated!
rated!

Race with Me!

by Andre De Grasse & Robert Budd, illustrated by Joseph Osei Bonsu
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 6 to 10
  • Grade: 1 to 4
tagged: sports & recreation, track & field, fitness & exercise

 

A celebration of sport and Andre De Grasse’s positive, winning attitude

 

Everyone gets nervous butterflies. I don’t let that feeling stop me.

I love the feeling of being proud of myself. I can only feel it by trying my best.

My butterflies just mean I am excited to run.

Lace up your shoes and get ready for race day with Canada’s 2019 Athlete …