amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

rated!
rated!

Want to read

Created by Veeray14@gmail.com
tagged: To read...
Fiction

Showing 1-5 of 5 books

rated!
rated!

Becoming Leidah

by Michelle Grierson
edition: eBook
also available: Paperback
tagged: historical, contemporary, literary

An utterly gripping love story set in nineteenth-century Norway, about a woman rescued from the sea, the fisherman who marries her, their tiny and unusually gifted daughter, and the shapeshifter who follows their every move, perfect for fans of Alice Hoffman, Yangsze Choo, Eowyn Ivey, and Neil Gaiman.

The sky opens up... I hear them laugh.
They don …

rated!
rated!

Dominion of Mercy

by Danial Neil
edition: eBook
also available: Paperback
tagged: historical, small town & rural, literary

Edinburgh, 1917: Headstrong Highland lass Mary Stewart is a vibrant woman forced into the world’s oldest profession in order to provide for her ailing father and younger sister in the city’s Old Town. When her uncle, a well-to-do solicitor with political aspirations, thinks that her presence might impede his lofty ambitions he gives her a way o …

rated!
rated!

The Winter Sea

by Susanna Kearsley
edition: Paperback
tagged: scottish, historical

*NATIONAL BESTSELLER
A haunting tale of love across time perfect for fans of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series—from New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Susanna Kearsley.

1707. The walls of Slains castle shelter Jacobite rebels, who are conspiring to sail the young, exiled James Stewart from France into Scotland to reclaim his crown …

rated!
rated!

A Bite of the Apple

A Life with Books, Writers and Virago

by Lennie Goodings
edition: Paperback
tagged: personal memoirs, publishing

A Globe and Mail Top 100 Book for 2020

Carmen is vigorously polishing one of our three telephones. I am just twenty-five, Canadian, new to Britain and in awe of this formidable woman but as there are only two of us in the office I feel emboldened to ask: “Why did you start Virago?” She looks up and without missing a beat, replies “To change th …

rated!
rated!

Five Little Indians

A Novel

by Michelle Good
edition: eBook
also available: Paperback Paperback
tagged: native american & aboriginal, literary

Finalist Writers' Trust Fiction Prize

Scotiabank Giller Prize Longlist

National Bestseller

A Globe and Mail Top 100 Book of the Year

A CBC Best Book of the Year

An Apple Best Book of the Year

A Kobo Best Book of the Year

An Indigo Best Book of the Year

Taken from their families when they are very small and sent to a remote, church-run residential school, K …