Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Book Lists

Winners: 2020 CCBC Book Awards

The Canadian Children’s Book Centre (CCBC) is delighted to announce the winners of its English‐language children’s book awards. Awarded tonight at a virtual event in Toronto hosted by CBC host Tony Kim, Julie Flett took home the title of most distinguished children’s book of the year and $50,000 — the largest cash prize in Canadian children’s literature — by winning the TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award. The winning title, Birdsong, is one of the first picture books published under Greystone’s new children’s imprint, Greystone Kids. The winning publisher receives $2,500 for promotional purposes, and an additional $10,000 is shared among the four remaining finalists for their contributions to Canadian children’s literature. The awards event was hosted through the Toronto International Festival of Authors (TIFA). Leading up to the awards ceremony, a series of three panels showcasing the awards took place as a part of TIFA. These videos will be available on Bibliovideo, the CCBC’s YouTube channel, permanently after the festival. On October 31 and November 1, each winner of the CCBC Book Awards will read from their winning book as a part of TIFA Kids! Register for these readings today and see the full schedule at our events page. This year marks the 15th anniversary of the Marilyn Baillie Picture Book Award, which went to Small in the City by Sydney Smith, published by Groundwood Books. The John Spray Mystery Award celebrates its 10-year anniversary and was awarded to The Starlight Claim by Tim Wynne-Jones, published by Candlewick Press. Tonight’s other winners include Serah-Marie McMahon, Alison Matthews David, Tina Athaide and Natasha Deen. - See more at:

by Kerry Clare · Tagged book awards, kids books