amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

rated!
rated!

White Pine Award 2020

Created by 49th Teachers
  • Age: 12 to 100
  • Grade: 7 to 17
tagged: forest of reading, award nominees
The White Pine Award™ reading program offers teens of all ages the opportunity to read the best of Canada's recent young adult fiction titles. This program promotes reading for enjoyment and familiarizes teenagers with great Canadian books. The Forest of Reading® is Canada's largest recreational reading program! This initiative of the Ontario Library Association (OLA) offers ten reading programs to encourage a love of reading in people of all ages.

Showing 1-7 of 7 books

rated!
rated!

We Contain Multitudes

by Sarah Henstra
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 100
  • Grade: 9 to 17
tagged: lgbt, epistolary (letters & diaries), boys & men

An exhilarating and emotional LGBTQ story about the growing relationship between two teen boys, told through the letters written to one another. For fans of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe and I’ll Give You the Sun.

Thrown together by a zealous English teacher's classroom-mailbox assignment, notorious scrapper, Adam "Kur …

rated!
rated!

Comics Will Break Your Heart

A Novel

by Faith Erin Hicks
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 13
tagged: contemporary

Comics Will Break Your Heart is a sweet, funny contemporary teen romance for the inner geek in all of us from graphic novelist Faith Erin Hicks.

Miriam's family should be rich. After all, her grandfather was the co-creator of smash-hit comics series The TomorrowMen. But he sold his rights to the series to his co-creator in the 1960s for practically …

rated!
rated!

Crown of Feathers

by Nicki Pau Preto
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover eBook Audiobook
  • age: 12 to 99
  • Grade: 7 to 17
tagged: epic, siblings

“Absolutely unforgettable.” —Kendare Blake, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Three Dark Crowns series
“A beautifully told story about justice, sisterhood, and warrior women.” —Shea Ernshaw, New York Times bestselling author of The Wicked Deep
“Epic in the truest sense.” —Quill and Quire
An Ember in the Ashes meets Three …

rated!
rated!

Baggage

by Wendy Phillips
edition: eBook
also available: Paperback
  • age: 15 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: survival stories, emigration & immigration, novels in verse

A mysterious young African turns up abandoned at the Vancouver airport. He speaks no English, but would he tell his whole story even if he could? An enthusiastic young woman throws herself into working for a cause. But whose cause is it that she’s actually working for? Her “boyfriend” finds a growing connection happening with her sister.

Wendy …

rated!
rated!

The Beauty of the Moment

by Tanaz Bhathena
edition: Hardcover
also available: Hardcover Paperback
  • age: 12 to 100
  • Grade: 7 to 17
tagged: contemporary, coming of age, diversity & multicultural

Susan dreams of being an artist. Malcolm wants to move him and his sister out of a bad living situation. Sparks fly when the two teens meet at a fundraiser for Syrian refugees. A Canadian YA romance for fans of The Sun is Also a Star.

Susan is the new girl -- she's sharp and driven, and strives to meet her parents' expectations of excellence. Malco …

rated!
rated!

The Love and Lies of Rukhsana Ali

by Sabina Khan
edition: Hardcover
also available: Paperback
  • age: 14 to 100
  • Grade: 9 to 17
tagged: lgbt, multigenerational, muslim

With a welcome mix of humor, heart, and high-stakes drama, Sabina Khan provides a timely and honest portrait of what it's like to grow up feeling unwelcome in your own culture.

 

With a welcome mix of humor, heart, and high-stakes drama, Sabina Khan provides a timely and honest portrait of what it's like to grow up feeling unwelcome in your own cultu …

rated!
rated!

Synchro Boy

by Shannon McFerran
edition: Paperback
  • age: 14 to 100
  • Grade: 9 to 17
tagged: lgbt, coming of age, water sports

Sixteen-year-old Bart Lively desperately wants to feel comfortable in his own skin. Being a jock doesn't mean he isn't the target of gay jokes, and the macho culture of his swim team is wearing him down. When he gives in to his curiosity and tries synchronized swimming, he discovers he has a natural talent -- not to mention a spark with one of the …