amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

rated!
rated!

Amy Mathers Teen Book Award (2019)

Created by 49th Teachers
  • Age: 12 to 100
  • Grade: 7 to 17
tagged: amy mathers award, ya lit, awards, young adult
The shortlist for the $5,000 2019 Amy Mathers Teen Book Award.

Showing 1-4 of 4 books

rated!
rated!

Aftermath

by Kelley Armstrong
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 100
  • Grade: 7 to 17
tagged: thrillers & suspense, contemporary, siblings

#1 New York Times bestselling author Kelley Armstrong delivers spine-chilling thrills as a small town deals with the fallout of a school shooting. Secrets don't remain hidden for long in this read: perfect for fans of Kara Thomas's Darkest Corners and Lynn Weingarten's Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls.

Three years ago, Skye's brother Luka died in …

rated!
rated!

Learning to Breathe

by Janice Lynn Mather
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover eBook
  • age: 14 to 99
  • Grade: 9 to 17
tagged: coming of age, sexual abuse, pregnancy

A 2019 YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Selection
Amelia Bloomer List’s 2019 Top Ten Recommended Feminist Books for Young Readers
A Governor General’s Literary Award Finalist
A Junior Library Guild Selection
A Sheila A. Egoff Children’s Literature Prize Semifinalist
A BC Book Prize Finalist
“A love letter to girls—bittersweet and full …

rated!
rated!

A Girl Like That

by Tanaz Bhathena
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 13
tagged: dating & sex

A timeless exploration of high-stakes romance, self-discovery, and the lengths we go to love and be loved.
“Fascinating and disturbing.” —Jodi Picoult, #1New York Times–bestselling author ofSmall Great ThingsandLeaving Time
Sixteen-year-old Zarin Wadia is many things: a bright and vivacious student, an orphan, a risk taker. She’s also the …

rated!
rated!

The House of One Thousand Eyes

by Michelle Barker
edition: eBook
also available: Paperback Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 100
  • Grade: 9 to 17
tagged: europe, thrillers & suspense, dystopian

 

Who can Lena trust to help her find out the truth?

 

Life in East Germany in the early 1980s is not easy for most people, but for Lena, it’s particularly hard. After the death of her parents in a factory explosion and time spent in a psychiatric hospital recovering from the trauma, she is sent to live with her stern aunt, a devoted member of the r …