amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

rated!
rated!

2018 Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Awards Shortlists

Created by 49thShelf
  • Age: 4 to 100
  • Grade: p to 17
tagged: schwartz awards, 49th kids, award nominees
The shortlists for the 2018 Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children’s Book Awards were announced today. The Schwartz Awards are the only Canadian literary award where student jurors work together to choose the winning books. - See more at: http://bookcentre.ca/shortlists-2018-ruth-sylvia-schwartz-childrens-book-awards-announced/?platform=hootsuite#sthash.vwRDSIBN.dpuf

Showing 1-8 of 10 books

rated!
rated!

Everything Beautiful Is Not Ruined

by Danielle Younge-Ullman
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 100
  • Grade: 9 to 17
tagged: parents, survival stories, theater & musicals

Like Wild for teens! In the tradition of Sara Zarr and A. S. King, a girl must survive an extreme wilderness experience to prove to her mother that she has the strength to pursue her dreams.

     When she was a little girl, Ingrid's entire world was her mother: Margot-Sophia, the brilliant and sophisticated opera star. So when Margot-Sophia loses he …

rated!
rated!

Louis Undercover

by Fanny Britt, illustrated by Isabelle Arsenault
edition: Hardcover
also available: eBook
  • age: 10 to 14
  • Grade: 5 to 9
tagged: marriage & divorce, drugs, alcohol, substance abuse

A stunning graphic novel from the award-winning creators of Jane, the Fox and Me.

?

In this powerful new graphic novel from Fanny Britt and Isabelle Arsenault, we meet Louis, a young boy who shuttles between his alcoholic dad and his worried mom, and who, with the help of his best friend, tries to summon up the courage to speak to his true love, Bill …

rated!
rated!

Sit

by Deborah Ellis
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover eBook
  • age: 10 to 13
  • Grade: 5 to 8
tagged: short stories, self-esteem & self-reliance

Nine poignant and empowering short stories from the author of The Breadwinner.

??

The seated child. With a single powerful image, Deborah Ellis draws our attention to nine children and the situations they find themselves in, often through no fault of their own. In each story, a child makes a decision and takes action, be that a tiny gesture or a life …

rated!
rated!

The Heart's Song

by Gilles Tibo, illustrated by Irene Luxbacher
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 4 to 8
  • Grade: p to 3
tagged: emotions & feelings, friendship, death & dying

 

We cannot live without experiencing loss; but we gain much more from what we give each other.

Children flock to Miss Matilda at her bench in the park. She is the trusted fixer of broken toys and umbrellas. But she is also called on to help mend problems of the heart — a boy who misses his mom; a girl who wants her dad to come home; a child who lo …

rated!
rated!

The Agony of Bun O'Keefe

by Heather Smith
edition: Hardcover
also available: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 100
  • Grade: 7 to 17
tagged: runaways, friendship, sexual abuse)

Little Miss Sunshine meets Room in this quirky, heartwarming story of friendship, loyalty and discovery.

It's Newfoundland, 1986. Fourteen-year-old Bun O'Keefe has lived a solitary life in an unsafe, unsanitary house. Her mother is a compulsive hoarder, and Bun has had little contact with the outside world. What she's learned about life comes from t …

rated!
rated!

Stolen Words

by Melanie Florence, illustrated by Gabrielle Grimard
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 6 to 9
  • Grade: 1 to 3
tagged: native canadian, prejudice & racism, native american, multigenerational

The story of the beautiful relationship between a little girl and her grandfather. When she asks her grandfather how to say something in his language – Cree – he admits that his language was stolen from him when he was a boy. The little girl then sets out to help her grandfather find his language again. This sensitive and warmly illustrated pic …

rated!
rated!

Marrow Thieves

by Cherie Dimaline
edition: Paperback
  • age: 13 to 25
  • Grade: 8 to 17
tagged: aboriginal & indigenous, environment, dystopian

P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0cm 0cm 10pt">Shortlisted for 2018 CBC Canada Reads

Winner of 2017 Governor General's Literary Award (Young People's Literature - Text)
Winner of 2017 Kirkus Prize
Nominated for 2018 Forest of Reading - White Pine Awards
A Globe and Mail Best Book

Shortlisted for the Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children's Book Award
Sho …

rated!
rated!

Away

by Emil Sher, illustrated by Qin Leng
edition: Hardcover
also available: eBook
  • age: 4 to 7
  • Grade: k to 2
tagged: parents, camping & outdoor activities, new experience

Love shines through in the sticky notes shared between a mother and daughter in this picture book about making time for family in the midst of our busy lives.

Between work and school, homework and housework, a mother and daughter don’t always get to spend as much time together as they’d like. Add to that a little girl’s fears about leaving hom …