amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

rated!
rated!

Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction

Created by bruceg
  • Age: 17
  • Grade: 12
tagged: creative nonfiction, nonfiction, cnf
A list of books that have won the Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction, administered by the Faculty of Arts at Wilfrid Laurier University.

Showing 1-8 of 25 books

rated!
rated!

Lands of Lost Borders

Out of Bounds on the Silk Road

by Kate Harris
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
tagged: adventurers & explorers, personal memoirs

NATIONAL BESTSELLER
WINNER OF THE RBC TAYLOR PRIZE
WINNER OF THE EDNA STAEBLER AWARD FOR CREATIVE NON-FICTION
"Every day on a bike trip is like the one before--but it is also completely different, or perhaps you are different, woken up in new ways by the mile."

As a teenager, Kate Harris realized that the career she most craved--that of a generali …

rated!
rated!

Run, Hide, Repeat

A Memoir of a Fugitive Childhood

by Pauline Dakin
edition: Paperback
tagged: personal memoirs, hoaxes & deceptions, editors, journalists, publishers

Winner of the 2018 Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction
Longlisted for British Columbia's National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction 2018
Shortlisted for the 2018 Evelyn Richardson Non-fiction Award
Shortlisted for the 2018 Atlantic Book Awards - Margaret and John Savage First Book Award
Shortlisted for the 2018 Frank Hegyi Award for Emerging …

rated!
rated!

Red Star Tattoo

My Life as a Girl Revolutionary

by Sonja Larsen
edition: Hardcover
also available: Paperback Audiobook (CD)
tagged: personal memoirs, women, political

Winner of the Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction
Finalist for the Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction
 
Red Star Tattoo is Sonja Larsen's unforgettable memoir of a young life spent on the move, from hardscrabble Milwaukee to dreamy Hawaii, from turbulent Montreal to free-spirited California. At the age of 16, Sonja joins a …

rated!
rated!

The Prison Book Club

by Ann Walmsley
edition: Hardcover
also available: Paperback
tagged: personal memoirs, criminology

A daring journalist goes behind bars to explore the redemptive power of books with bikers, bank robbers, and gunmen
     An attack in London left Ann Walmsley unable to walk alone down the street, and shook her belief in the fundamental goodness of people. A few years later, when a friend asked her to participate in a bold new venture in a men's m …

rated!
rated!

Birding with Yeats

A Mother's Memoir

by Lynn Thomson
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook
tagged: personal memoirs, motherhood

A delicately rendered memoir on motherhood, family, and the beauty of the natural world.

In fall 2007, Lynn Thomson experiences a huge life shift. Her teenage son, Yeats, is just beginning high school. Yeats has always struggled against the system, against the pressure to conform. He is a poet at heart: acutely sensitive, highly intelligent, and sol …

rated!
rated!

Oil Man and the Sea, The

Navigating the Northern Gateway

by Arno Kopecky
edition: Paperback
tagged: environmental conservation & protection, personal memoirs, adventure

Short-listed for the Governor General's Literary Award and the Banff Mountain Book Award and winner of the Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction.

With Enbridge Inc.'s Northern Gateway proposal nearing approval, supertankers loaded with two million barrels of bitumen each may soon join herring, humpbacks and salmon on their annual migration th …

rated!
rated!

Into the Abyss

How a Deadly Plane Crash Changed the Lives of a Pilot, a Politician, a Criminal and a Cop

by Carol Shaben
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
tagged: adventure, personal memoirs

In the tradition of Into Thin Air and The Perfect Storm comes the riveting account of a deadly plane crash in northern Canada and its aftermath. Written by an award-winning journalist who is the daughter of one of the survivors, Into the Abyss is a dramatic true story of survival, and a compassionate account of 4 men's journey from the depths of t …

rated!
rated!

Hot Art

Chasing Thieves and Detectives through the Secret World of Stolen Art

by Joshua Knelman
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover eBook
tagged: contemporary (1945-), white collar crime

Winner of the Edna Staebler Award and the Arthur Ellis Award for Non Fiction

The Thomas Crown Affair meets The Devil in the White City in this fast-paced true crime story of the seedy-underbelly of international art theft. A major work of investigative journalism, Hot Art is a globetrotting mystery filled with cunning and eccentric characters.

Joshua …