Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Children's Fiction Bedtime & Dreams

To My Panik: To My Daughter

by (author) Nadia Sammurtok

illustrated by Pelin Turgut

Publisher
Inhabit Media
Initial publish date
Oct 2022
Category
Bedtime & Dreams, Native Canadian, Polar Regions, Girls & Women
Recommended Age
3 to 5
Recommended Grade
p to k
Recommended Reading age
3 to 5
  • Hardback

    ISBN
    9781772274486
    Publish Date
    Oct 2022
    List Price
    $18.95
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781772274585
    Publish Date
    Oct 2022
    List Price
    $14.95
  • Paperback / softback

    ISBN
    9781772274714
    Publish Date
    Nov 2022
    List Price
    $13.95

Classroom Resources

Where to buy it

Description

“Panik, do you know how much I love you? When I look at the horizon, past the vast tundra, I see no end. That is how much I love you.”

In this lovingly told book, a mother recounts for her daughter all the things she loves about her, connecting each attribute to an element of the Arctic landscape or Inuit traditional life. As her daughter’s eyes glisten like the fire of an oil lamp, and her courage shines bright like buds of purple saxifrage fighting through a thick blanket of snow, the mother weaves a beautiful narrative of connection and love that will warm the hearts of all readers.

About the authors

Nadia Sammurtok is an Inuit writer and educator originally from Rankin Inlet, Nunavut. Nadia is passionate about preserving the traditional Inuit lifestyle and Inuktitut language so that they may be enjoyed by future generations. Nadia currently lives in Iqaluit, Nunavut, with her family.

 

Nadia Sammurtok's profile page

Pelin Turgut is an illustrator, born and raised in Turkey. She completed her undergraduate studies at Yeditepe University of Fine Arts, Faculty of Graphic Design. Since 2018, she has illustrated many children's books. In fact, she wants to be a children's book one day, when she grows up. Pelin loves what she does and she continues to work in her studio in Bodrum to make her dreams come true.

 

Pelin Turgut's profile page

Awards

  • Unknown, Best Books for Kids and Teens

Editorial Reviews

"In the vein of Guess How Much I Love You, Inuit author Sammurtok writes an emotional question-and-answer story that centers an Inuit mother-daughter relationship...It’s a soothingly paced read whose metaphors offer ample promise of love across an unending horizon." — Publishers Weekly

"The bond between a mother and her daughter is explored in ways both familiar and novel in this stunning watercolor picture book highlighting Inuit culture"—Foreword Reviews

"Young children will enjoy listening to To My Panik: To My Daughter. The universal theme of a mother’s love for her daughter is a comfortable one for little ones...Highly Recommended"—CM: Canadian Review of Materials

"To My Panik is highly recommended as a bedtime book for small children, that would also be a good addition to public and school libraries."—Polar Libraries Bulletin

Other titles by

Other titles by