Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Children's Fiction Adolescence

Tig

by (author) Heather Smith

Publisher
Tundra Book Group
Initial publish date
Sep 2024
Category
Adolescence, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Alternative Family
Recommended Age
10 to 18
Recommended Grade
5 to 12
  • Hardback

    ISBN
    9780735267497
    Publish Date
    Sep 2024
    List Price
    $23.99

Classroom Resources

Where to buy it

Description

A new, heartwarming middle-grade story from the critically acclaimed author Heather Smith featuring Tig, a young girl struggling to find peace within herself and in her new family. For fans of Rebecca Stead, Wendy Mass and Lynda Mullaly Hunt.

After months of living without electricity or parents, Tig and Peter are forced to move in with their Uncle Scott and his partner, Manny. The transition from down-and-out to picture-perfect isn't easy, especially in pristine Wensleydale with the idyllic couple and their beautiful home.

Tig, with Peter's support, decides to make their new life messy, starting with daily arguments and her plans to become a competitive cheese racer. She'll run circles around her new guardians, outrun a wheel of cheese, and leave the past buried in her dust.

But things don't always go as planned, and Tig must decide what to truly leave behind in order to move forward.

About the author

Contributor Notes

HEATHER SMITH is originally from Newfoundland and now lives in Waterloo, Ontario, with her husband and three children. Her east coast roots inspire much of her writing. Her novel, The Agony of Bun O'Keefe, won both the Ontario Library Association's White Pine Award and the Ruth & Sylvia Schwartz Award, and was also shortlisted for several others. It also received starred reviews from Kirkus and Quill & Quire, and was named a best book by Kirkus, Bank Street College of Education, Globe and Mail and Quill & Quire (honorable mention), as well as selected as an Outstanding International Book by USBBY. Her most recent novel, Barry Squires, Full Tilt, was longlisted for the prestigious international Dublin Literary Award.

Editorial Reviews

“A moving, accessible tale of trauma, laced with a compelling sense of optimism.”Kirkus Reviews

Other titles by