amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

9781250800558_interior Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $24.99
edition:Hardcover
published: Jan 2022
pages: 336
ISBN:9781250800558
publisher: Feiwel & Friends

The Red Palace

by June Hur

tagged: mysteries & detective stories
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $24.99
edition:Hardcover
published: Jan 2022
pages: 336
ISBN:9781250800558
publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Description

June Hur, critically acclaimed author ofThe Silence of Bones andThe Forest of Stolen Girls, returns withThe Red Palace—a third evocative, atmospheric historical mystery perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Kerri Maniscalco.
To enter the palace means to walk a path stained in blood...
Joseon (Korea), 1758. There are few options available to illegitimate daughters in the capital city, but through hard work and study, eighteen-year-old Hyeon has earned a position as a palace nurse. All she wants is to keep her head down, do a good job, and perhaps finally win her estranged father's approval.
But Hyeon is suddenly thrust into the dark and dangerous world of court politics when someone murders four women in a single night, and the prime suspect is Hyeon's closest friend and mentor. Determined to prove her beloved teacher's innocence, Hyeon launches her own secret investigation.
In her hunt for the truth, she encounters Eojin, a young police inspector also searching for the killer. When evidence begins to point to the Crown Prince himself as the murderer, Hyeon and Eojin must work together to search the darkest corners of the palace to uncover the deadly secrets behind the bloodshed.
Praise forThe Red Palace:
A Junior Library Guild Selection
"Compulsively readable and utterly unique,The Red Palace is a must-read murder mystery steeped in royal intrigue." —Jennifer Lynn Barnes,New York Times-bestselling author ofThe Inheritance Games
"Court politics and hierarchal society are the stunning backdrop of June Hur’s page-turning, atmosphericThe Red Palace. ... Will have readers totally obsessed." —Adrienne Young,New York Times-bestselling author ofFable

Contributor Notes

June Hur was born in South Korea and raised in Canada, except for the time when she moved back to Korea and attended high school there. She studied History and Literature at the University of Toronto. She began writing her debut novel after obsessing over books about Joseon Korea. When she's not writing, she can be found wandering through nature or journaling at a coffee shop. She is the author ofThe Silence of Bones,The Forest of Stolen Girls, andThe Red Palace, and currently lives in Toronto with her husband and daughter.

Recommended Age and Grade
Age:
13 to 18
Grade:
8 to 12
Editorial Review

Praise forThe Red Palace:
A Junior Library Guild Selection
"Compulsively readable and utterly unique,The Red Palace is a must-read murder mystery steeped in royal intrigue." —Jennifer Lynn Barnes,New York Times-bestselling author ofThe Inheritance Games
"Court politics and hierarchal society are thestunning backdrop of June Hur’spage-turning, atmosphericThe Red Palace. Hur’smeticulous worldbuilding and immersive storytelling will have readers totally obsessed." —Adrienne Young,New York Times-bestselling author ofFable
Praise forThe Forest of Stolen Girls:
A Junior Library Guild Selection
A YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Nominee
A 2022 White Pine Award Nominee
"Abreathtaking journey through 1400s Korea. ... The mystery complements the setting perfectly, and the conclusion iswell-plotted and satisfying. ...A must for all collections." —School Library Journal,starred review
"Crafting asuspenseful, atmospheric historical mystery, Hur (The Silence of Bones) explores women’s lack of bodily agency during this time and the dangers of obsessive protection, adroitly interweaving the historical context of the real horrors that afflicted Korean women from the 13th-century Mongol rule until after 1435." —Publishers Weekly
"Set against the backdrop of fifteenth-century Korea—or Joseon, as it was known then—this tightly plotted historical mystery will please fans of both genres. ... Those who love well-researched historical fiction with darker themes such as Ruta Sepetys’Out of the Easyor Elizabeth Wein’s Verity series, will appreciate Hur’s attention to detail.Give to fans of Sherri L. Smith’sThe Blossom and the Firefly or Stacy Lee’sDownstairs Girl looking for other well developed Asian characters." —YALSA
"Rich, exquisite, and deeply atmospheric,The Forest of Stolen Girls draws the reader in from the very first page and doesn't let go.A dark and utterly engrossing mystery, beautifully drawn from start to finish." —Kathleen Glasgow,New York Times-bestselling author ofGirl in Pieces
"The Forest of Stolen Girls isa haunting, breathtaking tale that will have readers on the edge of their seats. With its lush and atmospheric prose, complex character dynamics, and an immersive mystery I was ravenous to uncover, I could not turn the pages fast enough!Hur is an absolute master of mystery, and I will be reading her gorgeous books for years to come." —Adalyn Grace,New York Times-bestselling author ofAll the Stars and Teeth
"Haunting and lyrical. Beware, this tale will draw you deeper into the forest than you want to go." —Stacey Lee, award-winning author ofThe Downstairs Girl
"Abrilliant historical fiction mystery that issuspenseful, gorgeous and absolutely riveting! Hur brings Jeju Island during the early Joseon period completely to life in a rich, evocative manner that reminds me of watching my favorite historical Kdrama. ... I adored this book from start to finish!” —Ellen Oh, author of the Prophecy series
"Knee-deep inside Hur'staut, suspensefulsnare, I felt the cold touch of secrets poking at my shoulder and sometimes, neck. Disappearances, quests, and family tension? I'm all the way in." —Rita Williams-Garcia, National Book Award finalistNew York Times-bestselling author ofA Sitting in St. James
Praise forThe Silence of Bones:
An ABA Indies Introduce Selection
A Junior Library Guild Selection
A 2021 Edgar Allan Poe Award Nominee
A 2021 ALA Rise Selection
A 2020 Freeman Award Honorable Mention
A 2021 CCBC Amy Mathers Teen Book Award Finalist
"At oncehaunting and evocative, June Hur'sThe Silence of Bones is a gorgeous, tightly-woven debut. Prepare to delve deep into the lush and dangerous world of Korea in the 1800's fora page-turner you won't soon forget." —Hafsah Faizal,New York Times-bestselling author ofWe Hunt the Flame
"An intriguing tale that touches on class, honor, the value of one's beliefs, and the lengths one is willing to go for loyalty and family. Hur presents such a vivid portrayal of the Joseon Era that it's like stepping back in time. With its breathtaking prose and complex characters, this mystery novel issure to keep you guessing until the very end!" —Kat Cho, author ofWicked Fox
"This gripping drama is definitely one you're not going to want to miss." —Buzzfeed
"A total knockout." —Popsugar
"Gripping... Anexhilarating thriller, pitting the powerful against the power-hungry, endowing the powerless with affecting agency." —Shelf Awareness
"This book isbeautifully written, and moves at a brisk pace. ...Engaging and dynamic. Hur’s first novel does an excellent job of exploring a topic that isn’t found widely in YA literature." —School Library Journal
"The Korean concept of han, as well as customs, language, and politics, are woven flawlessly into the narrative ... Seol’s determined pursuit of literacy and freedom, as well as the bittersweet ending, make fora memorable and worthwhile read." —Publishers Weekly
"In thisstriking debut, Hur has crafted an intriguing historical mystery set in a time period often overlooked in YA ... A compelling mystery for lovers of Victorian murder cases who are ready for an alternative to the London setting." —Booklist
"Anexcellent historical mystery thatasks big questions about family, religion, morality, and what it means to belong." —Book Riot
"Read this book if you enjoy: supporting debut authors, Korean history, the 1800s, atmospheric reads, K-drama dramatics, books in which you start suspectingeveryone." —Goodreads
"A fantastic debut from Hur, who writes acaptivating story that keeps readers guessing and expertly explains the complex political climate ... The female characters’ courage, ingenuity and warrior hearts areinspiring, and the story that reveals them isentrancing." —The Canadian Children's Book Centre
"I was struck by the depth of thisgripping story. ... The meditative quality of the narration of this historical mystery felt perfectly suited to the Korean setting and the backdrop of political and religious struggles.Seol’s courage, curiosity, and dedication make her a character I can’t get enough of." —Tegan Tigani, Queen Anne Book Company
"The Silence of Bones is a historic and richly atmospheric mystery that isutterly unique and difficult to put down! ...Mesmerizing." —Sarah True, Joseph-Beth Booksellers

Buy the e-book: