Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Fiction Women Sleuths

I Only Read Murder

A Novel

by (author) Will Ferguson & Ian Ferguson

MIRA Books
Initial publish date
Feb 2024
Women Sleuths, Cozy, Amateur Sleuth, General
  • eBook

    Publish Date
    Jun 2023
    List Price
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Jun 2023
    List Price
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Feb 2024
    List Price

Classroom Resources

Where to buy it


“Strap in for a hilarious and satisfying ride.” —Terry Fallis, bestselling author of Operation Angus

A once-famous TV sleuth
An amateur theater production
An onstage murder
A town full of suspects…

Miranda Abbott, once known for the crime-solving, karate-chopping church pastor she played on network television, has hit hard times. She’s facing ruin when a mysterious postcard arrives, summoning her to Happy Rock, a small town in the Pacific Northwest. But when she gets there, nothing is what she expected.

In dire straits, she signs up for an amateur production at the Happy Rock Little Theater. On opening night, one of the actors is murdered, live, in front of the audience. But no one actually saw what happened. Now everyone is under a cloud of suspicion, including the town doctor, the high school drama teacher, an oil-stained car mechanic, an elderly gentleman who may have been in the CIA—and Miranda herself.

Clearly, the only way to solve this mystery is for Miranda to summon her skills as television’s Pastor Fran. Because the show must go on!

Miranda Abbott Mystery

Book 1: I Only Read Murder by Will Ferguson and Ian Ferguson
Book 2: Mystery in the Title by Ian Ferguson and Will Ferguson
Book 2: Mystery in the Title by Will Ferguson and Ian Ferguson

About the authors

Travel writer and novelist Will Ferguson is the author of several award-winning memoirs, including Beyond Belfast, about a 560-mile walk across Northern Ireland in the rain; Hitching Rides with Buddha, about an end-to-end journey across Japan by thumb; and most recently the humour collection Canadian Pie, which includes his travels from Yukon to PEI.

Ferguson's novels include Happiness™, a satire set in the world of self-help publishing, and Spanish Fly, a coming-of-age tale of con men and call girls set amid the jazz clubs of the Great Depression. His work, which has been published in more than twenty languages around the world, has been nominated for both an IMPAC Dublin Award and a Commonwealth Writers' Prize, and he is a three-time winner of the Leacock Medal.


Will Ferguson's profile page

Ian Ferguson won the Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour for his book Village of the Small Houses and is the co-author, with his brother Will Ferguson, of How to Be a Canadian, which was shortlisted for the Leacock and which won the CBA Libris Award for non-fiction. He was selected for inclusion in the Penguin Anthology of Canadian Humour, was a contributing essayist to Me Funny, an anthology of Aboriginal humour, and has had his writing published in the Globe & Mail, the National Post, Reader’s Digest, Maclean’s, and EnRoute, among other publications. For the past ten years, he has worked as a writer and creative director in the film and television industry.

Ian Ferguson's profile page

Editorial Reviews

“The only thing better than one Ferguson is two. I thoroughly enjoyed this fun page-turner. It’s full of characters that will stay with you and a mystery that keeps you on the edge of your seat. In Miranda Abbott, the Fergusons have created a detective for the ages. Bravo!”
—Mark Critch, bestselling author of An Embarrassment of Critch’s

"I Only Read Murder is pure joy. The Ferguson dream team had me laughing from the opening curtain and I just never stopped. You're in the hands of two masterful storytellers in this sidesplitting whodunnit, chock-full of vivid and quirky characters. Strap in for a hilarious and satisfying ride.”
—Terry Fallis, two-time winner of the Leacock Medal for Humour

“A delightful romp of a read that will have you laughing out loud on every page. Miranda Abbott is the irreverent cozy mystery heroine we didn’t know we needed.”
—Bianca Marais, bestselling author of The Witches of Moonshyne Manor

“Two of our funniest writers team-up to write a perfect and perfectly fun mystery. Clever, charming and constantly surprising. A great read.”
—Mark Leiren-Young, Leacock Medal for Humour–winning author of Never Shoot a Stampede Queen

I Only Read Murder is sure to make you laugh out loud while trying to solve who- and whydunit. Encore, please!”
—Hannah Mary McKinnon, internationally bestselling author of The Revenge List

"Terribly fun! Filled with eccentric characters you'll quickly fall in love with, and a puzzling plot you'll be desperate to solve."
—T.A. Willberg, author of the Marion Lane series

"The brothers Ferguson pull out all the comedic stops, taking on Hollywood elitism, community theater, and small-town quirkiness in a fast-paced, lighthearted murder mystery...readers will enjoy following the hilariously inept Miranda as she tries to solve the crime in this promising series starter."

"A charming new detective...[a] delightful new novel."
Toronto Star

"One heck of a Cozy... A delightfully amusing whodunit... Gosh darn, it's a lot of fun."
Winnipeg Free Press