Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Children's Fiction Counting & Numbers

Fishes in the Ocean

by (author) Maggee Spicer

Fitzhenry and Whiteside
Initial publish date
Sep 1998
Counting & Numbers, Beginner
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Sep 1998
    List Price

Classroom Resources

Where to buy it


From first thing in the morning to the last kiss goodnight, Fishes In The Ocean is a playful counting book that follows three children through their day of play.
The rhythmic text makes this the perfect choice for parents to read aloud, while the simple vocabulary invites emergent readers to tackle the story on their own.

About the author

Husband and wife team Richard Thompson and Maggie Spicer have collaborated on the two previous books in the series - We'll All Go Sailing and We'll All Go Flying - as well as the early reader, Fishes in the Ocean. Richard is also the author of The Follower, The Night Walker, Then and Now, and There is Music in a Pussy Cat. They make their home in Prince George, British Columbia.

Maggee Spicer's profile page

Editorial Reviews

"The rhythmic simple text is perfect for the neophyte reader... But it is the illustrations and the story in those illustrations that make Fishes in the Ocean an extra special delight."

- The Lethbridge Herald

" . . . a charming repetitive text that follows three children in a family through the day while affirming the joy in ordinary activities without becoming overly sentimental."

- Judy Sarick, The Bayview Post, Toronto, Ontario

" . . . even the most rhythm-challenged adult can?t help but fall into the cadence of its easy rhymes."

- Owl Canadian Family

Other titles by Maggee Spicer