Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search

Sports & Recreation Fishing

Fisherman's Winter

by (author) Roderick Haig-Brown

Douglas & McIntyre
Initial publish date
Sep 1990
Fishing, Seasons
  • Paperback / softback

    Publish Date
    Sep 1990
    List Price

Classroom Resources

Where to buy it


Fisherman's Winter is another book in Roderick Haig-Brown's famed "seasons" cycle, this time taking the author far from the trout streams of his beloved British Columbia to the new angling realm of South America. Here he fishes the Tolten and Laja rivers of Chile, Argentina's Manso and Traful, always with the keen eye and open heart of the superb writer that he was. Readers who delight in good writing -- and adventurous fishing -- will relish Fisherman's Winter.

About the author

Roderick L. Haig-Brown (1908-1976) was a Canadian writer, magistrate and conservationist. A prolific writer, he is the author of twenty-eight books and hundreds of articles, essays and poems. Some of the titles include Saltwater Summer (Governor General Award Winner, 1948), A River Never Sleeps, and Fisherman's Summer. In recognition of his contribution to Canadian environmental literature, the Haig-Brown name has been gifted to a national park near Kamloops, a Canada Council sponsored writer-in-residence retreat near Campbell River, and a mountain on Vancouver Island.

Roderick Haig-Brown's profile page

Editorial Reviews

"Haig-Brown is a talented fly fisherman who is also gifted with an uncommon sense and sensibility."

The New Yorker

Other titles by Roderick Haig-Brown