amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

9780735265370_cover Enlarge Cover View Excerpt
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $11.99
edition:Paperback
also available: Hardcover
published: May 2020
ISBN:9780735265370
publisher: PRH Canada Young Readers
imprint: Puffin Canada

A Royal Guide to Monster Slaying

by Kelley Armstrong

tagged: fantasy & magic, monsters, self-esteem & self-reliance
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $11.99
edition:Paperback
also available: Hardcover
published: May 2020
ISBN:9780735265370
publisher: PRH Canada Young Readers
imprint: Puffin Canada
Description

Monster hunting isn't for the faint of heart -- the first in a brand-new middle-grade series by NYT bestselling author, Kelley Armstrong.

Twelve-year-old Rowan is destined to be Queen; her twin brother, Rhydd, to be Royal Monster Hunter. Rowan would give anything to switch places, but the oldest child is always next in line, even if she is only older by two minutes. She resigns herself to admiring her monster hunting aunt's glorious sword and joining her queen mother for boring diplomatic teas. But tragedy shatters the longstanding rule, and Rowan finds herself hunting the most dangerous monster of all: a gryphon. 
     Accompanied by a feisty baby jackalope and a giant wolf that barely tolerates her, Rowan sets off on a journey that will see her join other unlikely allies: a boy with monster-hunting ambitions of his own, and a girl hiding dangerous motives. It will take all of Rowan's skills, both physical and diplomatic, to keep this adventure on track. The future of her kingdom depends on it.

About the Author

Kelley Armstrong

When librarians finally granted Kelley Armstrong an adult card, she made straight for the epic fantasy and horror shelves. She spent the rest of her childhood and teen years happily roaming fantastical and terrible worlds, and vowed that someday she'd write a story combining swords, sorcery, and the ravenous undead. That story began with the New York Times bestselling Sea of Shadows and continues with Empire of Night.

Armstrong's first works for teens were the New York Times bestselling Darkest Powers and Darkness Rising trilogies. She lives in rural Ontario with her husband, three children, and far too many pets.

Author profile page >
Contributor Notes

KELLEY ARMSTRONG is the #1 New York Times-bestselling author of three trilogies for teens: the Darkest Powers; Darkness Rising and Age of Legends, as well as several thriller and fantasy series for adults and three YA thrillers (The Masked Truth, Missing and Aftermath). She is also the co-author (with Melissa Marr) of the Blackwell Pages series, a middle-grade fantasy series based on Norse gods. The Masked Truth received a starred review from PW ("overflowing with twists"), while Missing received a starred review from VOYA ("a compelling thriller that keeps the reader hooked until the end"). Visit Kelley online at kelleyarmstrong.com

Recommended Age and Grade
Age:
10 to 14
Grade:
5 to 9
Editorial Review

One of the School Library Journal’s Best Middle Grade Books of 2019
One of the Ontario Library Association’s 2019 Top Ten Titles
PRAISE FOR A Royal Guide to Monster Slaying:

". . . [A] fast and fun read, a great read-a-like for Tamora Pierce’s 'Tortall' series." --STARRED REVIEW, School Library Journal

"A fresh take on familiar fantasy creatures and situations." --STARRED REVIEW, Shelf Awareness
"A rousing romp for monster hunters and monster lovers alike." --Kirkus Reviews
"A gripping middle grade debut." --Publishers Weekly

“Armstrong’s characters challenge gender norms, and her writing attends to themes of social justice and animal welfare, relying on strong episodic tension to drive the narrative. Highly Recommended.” --CM Magazine
“A 100% engaging romp for fans of fantasy and feisty heroes!”  --49th Shelf