amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Social Themes

Showing 1-10 of 1564 books

rated!
rated!

thinandbeautiful.com

by Liane Shaw, read by Miranda Millar
edition: Audiobook
also available: eBook Paperback
  • age: 13 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: eating disorders & body image

 

Seventeen-year-old Maddie has always felt a hole in her life, but she has finally found a way to fill it with her quest to mold her body into her ideal, thinnest shape. When she comes across the world of “thinspiration” websites, where young people encourage each other in their mission to lose weight, she quickly becomes addicted. Finally, she …

rated!
rated!

Zara Hossain Is Here

by Sabina Khan
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover eBook
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: prejudice & racism, bullying, emigration & immigration

Zara’s family has waited years for their visa process to be finalized so that they can officially become US citizens. But it only takes one moment for that dream to come crashing down around them.

 

Seventeen-year-old Pakistani immigrant, Zara Hossain, has been leading a fairly typical life in Corpus Christi, Texas, since her family moved there for …

rated!
rated!

TJ Powar Has Something to Prove

by Jesmeen Kaur Deo
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: self-esteem & self-reliance, diversity & multicultural, contemporary

“With an iconic heroine, delightful banter and a deeply felt message, this debut proves many times over that Jesmeen Kaur Deo is an invaluable new voice. TJ Powar Has Something to Prove is rife with insight and rich with rom-com joy, often on the same page.” — Emily Wibberley and Austin Siegemund-Broka, authors of If I’m Being Honest

When T …

rated!
rated!

Twice as Perfect

by Louisa Onomé
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: friendship, coming of age, diversity & multicultural

Netflix’s Never Have I Ever meets Crazy Rich Asians with a Nigerian twist in this brilliant young-adult novel about being caught in between worlds

The only things worth doing are those that will lead to success.

For seventeen-year-old Adanna Nkwachi, life is all about duty: to school and the debate team, to her Nigerian parents, and even to her cou …

rated!
rated!

The Choice

by Kathy Clark, read by Mark Harrietha
edition: Audiobook
also available: eBook Paperback
  • age: 9 to 15
  • Grade: 6 to 9
tagged: holocaust, military & wars, prejudice & racism

 

Jakob and his family hide their Jewish identity in Nazi-occupied Hungary. Discovered, he is sent as a prisoner to Auschwitz where he keeps himself alive out of a desire for revenge on the friend he believes turned on him, only to discover when he is free that things are not as he thought.

Thirteen-year-old Jakob’s family has hidden their true ide …

rated!
rated!

Just Lucky

by Melanie Florence, read by Michelle Bardach
edition: Audiobook
also available: Paperback eBook
  • age: 13 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: orphans & foster homes, girls & women, bullying

 

There’s nothing lucky about your family falling apart.

Lucky loves her grandparents, and they are all the family she really has. True, her grandma forgets things … like turning off the stove, or Lucky’s name. But her grandpa takes such good care of them that Lucky doesn’t realize how bad things are. That is until he’s gone. When her grand …

rated!
rated!

Version Control

by David A. Robertson, illustrated by Scott B. Henderson & Donovan Yaciuk
edition: eBook
also available: Paperback
  • age: 15 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: aboriginal & indigenous, science fiction, mental illness, superheroes

After finding out Mihko reinstated the Reckoner Initiative in Breakdown, Cole and Eva confronted Mihko head-on. But when Eva stumbles across a secret laboratory, she finds her worst nightmares come to life. After a vicious battle with Mihko’s newest test subject leaves Cole close to death, Eva is forced to continue their investigation without him …

rated!
rated!

Made in Korea

by Sarah Suk
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover eBook Audiobook
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: romantic comedy, asian american, self-esteem & self-reliance

Frankly in Love meets Shark Tank in this feel-good romantic comedy about two entrepreneurial Korean American teens who butt heads—and maybe fall in love—while running competing Korean beauty businesses at their high school.

There’s nothing Valerie Kwon loves more than making a good sale. Together with her cousin Charlie, they run V&C K-BEAUTY …

rated!
rated!

What World is Left

by Monique Polak
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: holocaust, values & virtues, general (see also headings under social themes)

“Heartbreaking. An important addition to the Holocaust curriculum.”—Booklist, starred review

A pampered child used to having her own way, Anneke Van Raalte lives outside Amsterdam, where her father is a cartoonist for an Amsterdam newspaper. Though Anneke's family is Jewish, her religion means little to her. Anneke's life changes in 1942 w …

rated!
rated!

Tell Me When You Feel Something

by Vicki Grant
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: thrillers & suspense, drugs, alcohol, substance abuse, sexual abuse

The perfect after-school job turns deadly for teens working as "simulated patients" at the local med school. Everyone has something to hide and no one is safe in this contemporary YA thriller that exposes the dark reality of #MeToo in the world of medicine, for fans of Karen McManus and Holly Jackson.

It seemed like a cool part-time program — bei …

Sub-categories