amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Social Themes

Showing 1-10 of 1469 books

rated!
rated!

Version Control

by David A. Robertson, illustrated by Scott B. Henderson & Donovan Yaciuk
edition: Paperback
  • age: 15 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: aboriginal & indigenous, paranormal, science fiction, superheroes, mental illness

After a vicious battle with Mihko’s newest test subject, Eva discovers the company's secret laboratory—a horror movie come to life. But with Brady missing and Cole barely clinging to life, Eva is on her own.

What new terrors has Mihko created? Can they be stopped? And can she find Brady before it’s too late? 

rated!
rated!

Under the Iron Bridge

by Kathy Kacer
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook
  • age: 12 to 14
  • Grade: 7 to 9
tagged: holocaust, prejudice & racism, europe

It’s 1938 in Dusseldorf, Germany, and Paul is feeling pressured to join the Hitler Youth. The last thing he wants to do is march around with a bunch of bullies, supporting the Gestapo and abusing the city’s Jews, but even Paul’s parents think he should go along with his classmates in order to keep himself safe.

Just when he’s starting to des …

rated!
rated!

Walking in Two Worlds

by Wab Kinew
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 100
  • Grade: 7 to 17
tagged: diversity & multicultural, self-esteem & self-reliance

An Indigenous teen girl caught is between two worlds, both real and virtual, in the YA fantasy debut from bestselling Indigenous author Wab Kinew. Perfect for fans of Ready Player One and the Otherworld series.

Bugz is caught between two worlds. In the real world, she's a shy and self-conscious Indigenous teen who faces the stresses of teenage angs …

rated!
rated!

Sink or Swim

by Tash McAdam
edition: eBook
  • age: 12 to 100
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: survival stories, self-esteem & self-reliance, lgbt

Sixteen-year-old shy, socially awkward trans teen Bass reluctantly skips school and goes on a boat trip with his adventure-seeking girlfriend, Rosie. When a sudden storm smashes their boat on a rocky shore off a deserted island, Bass and Rosie struggle to make it to safety. Bruised and battling hypothermia, the pair have to seek shelter and work to …

rated!
rated!

I Dare You

by Jeff Ross
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 100
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: film, ghost stories, peer pressure

Sixteen-year-old Rainey is surprised when a video he made of a schoolyard fight goes viral. Two schoolmates, Jordan and Rowan, convince him to make another one, this time about a mysterious figure in the woods. Soon rumors are circulating that someone is out there kidnapping kids. Or maybe it’s a ghost. The teens are thrilled with the attention t …

rated!
rated!

Blood Donor

by Karen Bass
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 100
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: thrillers & suspense, violence, homelessness & poverty

Seventeen-year-old Jo McNair is one minute late for her curfew, and thanks to her controlling father, she's now locked out, cold and wandering the streets. She has no money and nowhere to sleep. Halfway through the night she meets someone who says they’re with a group working with at-risk kids, helping them get back on their feet. Jo gratefully a …

rated!
rated!

Sanctuary Trilogy

Sanctuary; Containment; Salvation

by Caryn Lix
edition: Paperback
  • age: 14 to 99
  • Grade: 9 to 17
tagged: alien contact, emotions & feelings, thrillers & suspense

Alien meets The Darkest Minds in this thrilling trilogy about prison-guard-in-training, Kenzie, who teams up with a group of superpowered criminal teens to save the Earth from an alien invasion. The Sanctuary series is now available together in a paperback boxed set!

Kenzie holds one truth above all: the company is everything.
As a citizen of Omnis …

Show editions

Sub-categories