amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

People & Places

Showing 1-10 of 306 books

rated!
rated!

Hunting by Stars

(A Marrow Thieves Novel)

by Cherie Dimaline
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: dystopian, prejudice & racism, aboriginal & indigenous

The thrilling follow-up to the bestselling, award-winning novel The Marrow Thieves, about a dystopian world where the Indigenous people of North America are being hunted for their bone marrow and ability to dream.

Years ago, when plagues and natural disasters killed millions of people, much of the world stopped dreaming. Without dreams, people are h …

rated!
rated!

The Starlight Claim

by Tim Wynne-Jones
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover Audiobook (CD)
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: survival stories, thrillers & suspense, canada

Fast-paced, evocative, and intensely suspenseful, Tim Wynne-Jones’s latest psychological thriller finds a teenager setting his wits against the frigid wilderness and a menacing crew of escapees.

Four months after his best friend, Dodge, disappeared near their families’ camp in a boat accident, Nate is still haunted by nightmares. He’d been pla …

rated!
rated!

Four Faces of the Moon

by Amanda Strong, afterword by Dr. Sherry Farrell Racette
edition: Hardcover
also available: eBook
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: aboriginal & indigenous, native american

On a journey to uncover her family’s story, Spotted Fawn travels through time and space to reclaim connection to ancestors, language, and the land in this essential graphic novel.  

In the dreamworld, she bears witness to a mountain of buffalo skulls, a ghostly monument to the slaughter of the buffalo—a key tactic to starve and contain the Indig …

rated!
rated!

Strange Light Afar

Tales of the Supernatural from Old Japan

by Rui Umezawa, illustrated by Mikiko Fujita
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 6 to 12
tagged: country & ethnic, horror, asia

A bitterly jealous brother, a samurai who makes the ultimate sacrifice, a cold-hearted husband, a monk who mistakes desire for piety, a fraudulent merchant who meets his match in a supernatural river otter — the motives underlying these traditional Japanese folktale characters are explored with haunting results.

Prompted by the sometimes illogica …

rated!
rated!

Algonquin Legacy

An Algonquin Quest Novel

by Rick Revelle
edition: Paperback
  • age: 13 to 16
  • Grade: 8 to 11
tagged: pre-confederation (to 1867), aboriginal & indigenous

Algonquin Legacy starts out about 15 years after the Battle of Crow Wing River where the combined allies of the Anishinaabe had fought the powerful nation of the Lakota in the Lakota home lands. The battle ended abruptly when there was a solar eclipse of the sun. This was an actual event that took place on July 16th 1330 from 1:03 to 3:10 PM in the …

rated!
rated!

Little Red Warrior and His Lawyer

A Trickster Land Claim Fable

by Kevin Loring
edition: Paperback
tagged: canadian, aboriginal & indigenous, historical

Little Red Warrior is the last remaining member of the Little Red Warrior First Nation. One day, he discovers a development company has begun construction on his ancestral lands. In a fit of rage, Little Red attacks one of the engineers and is arrested for assault and trespassing on his own lands. In jail he meets his court-appointed lawyer, Larry, …

rated!
rated!

The Hidden

A Compendium of Arctic Giants, Dwarves, Gnomes, Trolls, Faeries and Other Strange Beings from Inuit Oral History

by Neil Christopher, illustrated by Mike Austin
edition: eBook
also available: Paperback Hardcover
  • age: 12
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: monsters, country & ethnic, polar regions

Forget fairies and forget vampires! Let yourself be drawn into the dark world of the shape-shifters, ogresses, trolls, and demons of the Canadian Arctic. This collection of field notes meticulously documents the dark side of Inuit legends, complete with hideous monsters and unspeakable deeds. Each creature is brought to life by the stunning illustr …

rated!
rated!

The Last Time I Saw Her

by Alexandra Harrington
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook
  • age: 12 to 16
  • Grade: 7 to 11
tagged: thrillers & suspense, friendship, canada

Friends and family are pitted against each other after a tragic accident leaves behind shattered relationships and shocking secrets. A riveting novel by a new voice in teen fiction.

It's been almost a year since Charlotte Romer set foot in her hometown of River John, Nova Scotia. She's been living at a boarding school hours away, safe from the traum …

rated!
rated!

The Coming Storm

by Regina M. Hansen
edition: eBook
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: adaptations, historical, canada

Music, myth, and horror blend in this romantic, “eerie…atmospheric” (Publishers Weekly) fantasy debut about a teen girl who must fight a powerful evil that’s invaded her Prince Edward Island home—perfect for fans of An Enchantment of Ravens.

There’s a certain wild magic in the salt air and the thrum of the sea. Beet MacNeill has known t …

Show editions

Sub-categories