amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

People & Places

Showing 1-10 of 300 books

rated!
rated!

The Hidden

A Compendium of Arctic Giants, Dwarves, Gnomes, Trolls, Faeries and Other Strange Beings from Inuit Oral History

by Neil Christopher, illustrated by Mike Austin
edition: eBook
also available: Paperback Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: monsters, country & ethnic, polar regions

Forget fairies and forget vampires! Let yourself be drawn into the dark world of the shape-shifters, ogresses, trolls, and demons of the Canadian Arctic. This collection of field notes meticulously documents the dark side of Inuit legends, complete with hideous monsters and unspeakable deeds. Each creature is brought to life by the stunning illustr …

rated!
rated!

The Coming Storm

by Regina M. Hansen
edition: eBook
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: adaptations, historical, canada

Music, myth, and horror blend in this romantic, atmospheric fantasy debut about a teen girl who must fight a powerful evil that’s invaded her Prince Edward Island home—perfect for fans of An Enchantment of Ravens.

There’s a certain wild magic in the salt air and the thrum of the sea. Beet MacNeill has known this all her life. It added spice t …

rated!
rated!

Road Allowance Era

by Katherena Vermette, illustrated by Scott B. Henderson & Donovan Yaciuk
edition: eBook
also available: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 14
  • Grade: 7 to 8
tagged: aboriginal & indigenous, action & adventure, girls & women, prejudice & racism, orphans & foster homes, coming of age, canada

In Road Allowance Era, Echo’s story picks up again when she travels back in time to 1885.

The government has not fulfilled its promise of land for the Métis, and many flee to the Northwest. As part of the fallout from the Northwest Resistance, their advocate and champion Louis Riel is executed. As new legislation corrodes Métis land rights, and …

rated!
rated!

My Summer of Love and Misfortune

by Lindsay Wong
edition: Paperback
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: contemporary, self-esteem & self-reliance, asia

Confessions of a Shopaholic meets Crazy Rich Asians” (Kirkus Reviews) in this hilarious, quirky novel about a Chinese-American teen who is thrust into the decadent world of Beijing high society when she is sent away to spend the summer in China.

Iris Wang is having a bit of a rough start to her summer: Her boyfriend cheated on her, she didn’ …

rated!
rated!

Sugar Falls

A Residential School Story

by David A. Robertson, illustrated by Scott B. Henderson & Donovan Yaciuk, foreword by Murray Sinclair, afterword by Betty Ross
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook
  • age: 15 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: aboriginal & indigenous, prejudice & racism, historical, canada, own voices

Inspired by true events, this story of strength, family, and culture shares the awe-inspiring resilience of Elder Betty Ross.

Abandoned as a young child, Betsy is adopted into a loving family. A few short years later, at the age of 8, everything changes. Betsy is taken away to a residential school. There she is forced to endure abuse and indignity, …

rated!
rated!

Made in Korea

by Sarah Suk
edition: eBook
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: romantic comedy, self-esteem & self-reliance, asian american

Frankly in Love meets Shark Tank in this feel-good romantic comedy about two entrepreneurial Korean American teens who butt heads—and maybe fall in love—while running competing Korean beauty businesses at their high school.

There’s nothing Valerie Kwon loves more than making a good sale. Together with her cousin Charlie, they run V&C K-BEAUTY …

rated!
rated!

Edokko

by Loren Greene
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: diversity & multicultural, asia

Lily Jennings is Going. To. Japan.

Sixteen and on top of the world, she's beyond excited to be setting off for an entire year as an exchange student in Tokyo. Fashion and fun are foremost on her mind as she arrives ready to meet her new host family and embark on a grand adventure, livestreaming all the way.

What Lily isn't expecting, however, is for …

Show editions

Sub-categories