amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

People & Places

Showing 1-10 of 284 books

rated!
rated!

Version Control

by David A. Robertson, illustrated by Scott B. Henderson & Donovan Yaciuk
edition: Paperback
  • age: 15 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: aboriginal & indigenous, paranormal, science fiction, superheroes, mental illness

After a vicious battle with Mihko’s newest test subject, Eva discovers the company's secret laboratory—a horror movie come to life. But with Brady missing and Cole barely clinging to life, Eva is on her own.

What new terrors has Mihko created? Can they be stopped? And can she find Brady before it’s too late? 

rated!
rated!

The Last Time I Saw Her

by Alexandra Harrington
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 16
  • Grade: 7 to 11
tagged: thrillers & suspense, friendship, canada

Friends and family are pitted against each other after a tragic accident leaves behind shattered relationships and shocking secrets. A riveting novel by a new voice in teen fiction.

It's been almost a year since Charlotte Romer set foot in her hometown of River John, Nova Scotia. She's been living at a boarding school hours away, safe from the traum …

rated!
rated!

The Coming Storm

by Regina M. Hansen
edition: eBook
  • age: 12 to 99
  • Grade: 7 to 17
tagged: adaptations, historical, canada

Music, myth, and horror blend in this romantic, atmospheric fantasy debut about a teen girl who must fight a powerful evil that’s invaded her Prince Edward Island home—perfect for fans of An Enchantment of Ravens.

There’s a certain wild magic in the salt air and the thrum of the sea. Beet MacNeill has known this all her life. It added spice t …

rated!
rated!

Road Allowance Era

by Katherena Vermette, illustrated by Scott B. Henderson & Donovan Yaciuk
edition: eBook
also available: Paperback
  • age: 13 to 15
  • Grade: 7 to 9
tagged: aboriginal & indigenous, action & adventure, girls & women, prejudice & racism, orphans & foster homes, coming of age, canada

In Road Allowance Era, Echo’s story picks up again when she travels back in time to 1885.

The Manitoba Act’s promise of land for the Métis has gone unfulfilled, and many Métis flee to the Northwest. As part of the fallout from the Northwest Resistance, their advocate and champion Louis Riel is executed. As new legislation corrodes Métis land …

rated!
rated!

Sugar Falls

A Residential School Story

by David A. Robertson, illustrated by Scott B. Henderson & Donovan Yaciuk, foreword by Senator Murray Sinclair, afterword by Betty Ross
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook
  • age: 15 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: aboriginal & indigenous, prejudice & racism, historical, canada

A young girl struggles to survive residential school in this timeless graphic novel from the bestselling author of The Barren Grounds—a story of strength, family, and culture, inspired by true events, that shares the awe-inspiring resilience of Betty Ross.

Abandoned as a young child, Betsy was soon adopted into a loving family. A few short years l …

rated!
rated!

My Summer of Love and Misfortune

by Lindsay Wong
edition: Paperback
  • age: 14 to 99
  • Grade: 9 to 17
tagged: contemporary, self-esteem & self-reliance, asia

Confessions of a Shopaholic meets Crazy Rich Asians” (Kirkus Reviews) in this hilarious, quirky novel about a Chinese-American teen who is thrust into the decadent world of Beijing high society when she is sent away to spend the summer in China.

Iris Wang is having a bit of a rough start to her summer: Her boyfriend cheated on her, she didn’ …

rated!
rated!

Made in Korea

by Sarah Suk
edition: Hardcover
also available: Audiobook
  • age: 12 to 99
  • Grade: 7 to 17
tagged: romantic comedy, asian american, self-esteem & self-reliance

Frankly in Love meets Shark Tank in this feel-good romantic comedy about two entrepreneurial Korean American teens who butt heads—and maybe fall in love—while running competing Korean beauty businesses at their high school.

There’s nothing Valerie Kwon loves more than making a good sale. Together with her cousin Charlie, they run V&C K-BEAUTY …

rated!
rated!

Munro vs. the Coyote

by Darren Groth
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover eBook
  • age: 12 to 100
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: disabilities & special needs, siblings, australia & oceania

Since the sudden death of his younger sister, Evie, sixteen-year-old Munro Maddux has been having flashbacks and anger-management issues. He has a constant ache in his right hand. And there's a taunting, barking, biting voice he calls "the Coyote." Munro knows a six-month student exchange will not be the stuff of teenage dreams, but in Brisbane he …

Show editions

Sub-categories