amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

20th Century

Showing 1-7 of 7 books

rated!
rated!

To See The Stars

by Jan Andrews, illustrated by Tara Bryan
edition: eBook
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: girls & women, self-esteem & self-reliance, homelessness & poverty, 20th century

In her deeply affecting final novel, acclaimed children's writer and storyteller Jan Andrews gives us Edie Murphy, an indomitable and engaging heroine on the cusp of womanhood. The novel moves from Edie's remote Newfoundland outport to St. John's, and finally to New York City's Lower East Side. Against the backdrop of the history-making "Uprising" …

rated!
rated!

The Silver Blonde

by Elizabeth Ross
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: 20th century, europe, mysteries & detective stories

For fans of Ruta Septys and Monica Hesse comes a lush historical mystery set in post-World War II America against the flashy backdrop of Hollywood's film studios about a shocking murder that threatens to unearth the ghosts of a young German immigrant's past.

Hollywood, 1946. The war is over, and eighteen-year-old Clara Berg spends her days shelving …

rated!
rated!

To See the Stars

by Jan Andrews, illustrated by Tara Bryan
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: self-esteem & self-reliance, girls & women, 20th century, homelessness & poverty

In her deeply-affecting final novel, acclaimed children's writer and storyteller Jan Andrews gives us Edie Murphy – an indomitable and engaging heroine on the cusp of womanhood. The novel moves from Edie's remote Newfoundland outport to St. John's and finally to New York City's Lower East Side. Against the background of the history-making "Uprisi …

rated!
rated!

Rose Sees Red

by Cecil Castellucci, read by Julia Farhat
also available: eBook
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: 20th century, dance

Partly based on the author's own experiences at the famous Manhattan high school for the performing arts, this novel explores friendship, freedom, and the art of challenging convention.

Set in New York in the 1980s, this story of two ballet dancers (one American, one Russian) recounts the unforgettable night they spend in the city, and celebrates t …

rated!
rated!

Rachel's Hope

by Shelly Sanders
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook
  • age: 13 to 17
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: 20th century, jewish, prejudice & racism

Rachel was forced to leave her home in Russia because of the anti-Semitic violence that killed her father. She made her way to Shanghai, China where she managed to establish herself as a newspaper writer – no easy task for a woman at the turn of the 20th century. Now eighteen, Rachel remains separated from her sweetheart, Sergei, but she has fina …

rated!
rated!

The Runaway

by Glen Huser
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: theater & musicals, adoption, 20th century

It's 1923 and Leroy is on the run from a couple of abusive cousins. He stumbles into a traveling Chautauqua show, where it's easy to get lost in a crowd—but also easy to lose your heart. This funny and endearing novel by Governor General's Award-winning novelist Glen Huser will make an absorbing read for fourteen- and fifteen-year-olds, boys and …

rated!
rated!

Don't Think Twice

by Alison Lohans
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: literary, runaways, 20th century

1967
Shy 17-year-old Jan Carlson lives in Sierra Vista, California, a conservative farming town. The Vietnam War rages. Friends' brothers get drafted and the daily pledge of alliegiance becomes a test of conscience.

1997
Thirty years later she's living in Canada. Worried sick about her runaway daughter, Jan writes a long letter in a desperate attemp …

Sub-categories