amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

United States

Showing 1-10 of 22 books

rated!
rated!

The Silver Blonde

by Elizabeth Ross
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: 20th century, europe, mysteries & detective stories

For fans of Ruta Septys and Monica Hesse comes a lush historical mystery set in post-World War II America against the flashy backdrop of Hollywood's film studios about a shocking murder that threatens to unearth the ghosts of a young German immigrant's past.

Hollywood, 1946. The war is over, and eighteen-year-old Clara Berg spends her days shelving …

rated!
rated!

Kid Sterling

by Christine Welldon
edition: eBook
  • age: 13 to 17
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: african american

Sterling lives on the streets of New Orleans, supporting his mother and plays trumpet from his idol.

rated!
rated!

To See the Stars

by Jan Andrews, illustrated by Tara Bryan
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 17
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: self-esteem & self-reliance, girls & women, 20th century, homelessness & poverty

In her deeply-affecting final novel, acclaimed children's writer and storyteller Jan Andrews gives us Edie Murphy – an indomitable and engaging heroine on the cusp of womanhood. The novel moves from Edie's remote Newfoundland outport to St. John's and finally to New York City's Lower East Side. Against the background of the history-making "Uprisi …

rated!
rated!

Every Hidden Thing

by Kenneth Oppel
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: 19th century

Romeo and Juliet meets Indiana Jones in this epic tale that combines the hunt for a dinosaur skeleton, a mysterious legend, bitter rivalries and a forbidden romance

Somewhere in the Badlands, embedded deep in ancient rock and sand, lies the skeleton of a massive dinosaur, larger than anything the late nineteenth-century world has ever seen. Some leg …

rated!
rated!

Rose Sees Red

by Cecil Castellucci, read by Julia Farhat
also available: eBook
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: 20th century, dance

Partly based on the author's own experiences at the famous Manhattan high school for the performing arts, this novel explores friendship, freedom, and the art of challenging convention.

Set in New York in the 1980s, this story of two ballet dancers (one American, one Russian) recounts the unforgettable night they spend in the city, and celebrates t …

rated!
rated!

The Gospel Truth

by Caroline Pignat
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 15
  • Grade: 7 to 10
tagged: civil war period (1850-1877), 19th century, novels in verse
Show editions

Sub-categories