amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Art

Showing 1-10 of 30 books

rated!
rated!

The Rule of Thirds

A Pippa Greene Novel

by Chantel Guertin, narrator Ana Sani
edition: Audiobook
also available: Paperback eBook
  • age: 13 to 17
  • Grade: 7 to 17
tagged: friendship, careers, occupations, internships, art

 

A fresh voice in YA fiction brings a charming heroine to life in this series debut

Sixteen-year-old Pippa Greene never goes anywhere without her camera. She and her best friend/supermodel-in-training Dace long ago mapped out their life plan: Pippa will be the noted fashion photographer, and Dace the cover girl. But ever since last spring, things ha …

rated!
rated!

Chaotic Good

by Whitney Gardner
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 100
  • Grade: 7 to 17
tagged: bullying, art, emotions & feelings

Cosplay, comic shops, and college applications collide in this new novel from the author of You're Welcome, Universe, perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Noelle Stevenson!

Cameron's cosplay creations are finally starting to earn her attention--attention she hopes to use to get into the CalArts costume design department for college. But after she wi …

rated!
rated!

El plan de Zee

by Kristin Butcher
edition: Paperback
also available: Paperback eBook
  • age: 12 to 100
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: prejudice & racism, law & crime, art

Zee y sus amigos están furiosos porque su refugio de siempre ha sido reemplazado por tiendas que no son para ellos y porque los vendedores los tratan con desconfianza. Para que los comerciantes sepan lo que Zee y sus amigos piensan, Zee pinta un grafiti en la pared de la ferretería. Cuando lo borran con pintura, Zee decide repetir el vandalismo, …

rated!
rated!

Ophelia

by Charlotte Gingras, illustrated by Daniel Sylvestre, translated by Christelle Morelli & Susan Ouriou
edition: eBook
  • age: 14 to 100
  • Grade: 8 to 17
tagged: loners & outcasts, friendship, epistolary (letters & diaries), art

The kids at school call her rag girl because she hides under layers of oversized clothing, but she calls herself Ophelia. She hardly speaks to anyone — until one day a visiting author comes to give a talk in the school library. The writer speaks about what it means to create art, and at the end of her talk, she thanks Ophelia for asking the first …

rated!
rated!

The Mosaic

by Nina Berkhout
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 100
  • Grade: 9 to 17
tagged: coming of age, art, loners & outcasts

A beautifully written and thought-provoking novel about a teen facing the collision of love, ideals and uncertainty about her own future.
Twyla Jane Lee has one goal. To finish senior year so she can get out of her military hometown of Halo, Montana. But to graduate, she needs to complete forty hours of community service, and that means helping ou …

rated!
rated!

Goth Girl

by Melanie Mosher
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook
  • age: 12 to 15
  • Grade: 7 to 10
tagged: loners & outcasts, art

There are only three things fifteen-year-old Victoria Markham truly enjoys: English class, her signature "Goth Girl" look, and art. It's just that she tends to do the last one late at night, with spray paint, in public places. It isn't long before Vic is caught red-handed and forced into community service with a bunch of stereotypes: there's Rachae …

rated!
rated!

All Good Children

by Catherine Austen
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover eBook
  • age: 12 to 100
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: dystopian, politics & government, art

This best-selling book is now available in paperback.
It's the middle of the twenty-first century and the elite children of New Middletown are lined up to receive a treatment that turns them into obedient, well-mannered citizens. Maxwell Connors, a fifteen-year-old prankster, misfit and graffiti artist, observes the changes with growing concern, es …

rated!
rated!

Young Man With Camera

by Emil Sher, photographs by David Wyman
edition: Hardcover
also available: eBook Paperback
  • age: 12 to 100
  • Grade: 7 to 17
tagged: bullying, homelessness & poverty, art & architecture

A picture is worth a thousand words -- and with a unique photographic format, a stunning original voice, and a provocative portrayal of bullying, YOUNG MAN WITH CAMERA is a book to get people talking.

 

T-- is used to getting grief. He gets it from his mom, who blames herself for his accident years earlier. He gets it from Mr. Lam, who suspects every …

Show editions