amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Natural Disasters

Showing 1-10 of 50 books

rated!
rated!

On Borrowed Time

North America’s Next Big Quake

by Gregor Craigie
edition: Paperback
tagged: natural disasters, earthquakes & volcanoes

Finalist, Balsillie Prize for Public Policy
A Globe and Mail Top 100 Book
The Big One and what we can do to get ready for it.

Mention the word earthquake and most people think of California. But while the Golden State shakes on a regular basis, Washington State, Oregon, and British Columbia are located in a zone that can produce the world’s bigges …

rated!
rated!

First Nations Wildfire Evacuations

A Guide for Communities and External Agencies

by Tara K. McGee; Amy Cardinal Christianson & First Nations Wildfire Evacuation Partnership
edition: eBook
tagged: disasters & disaster relief, natural disasters, indigenous studies, environmental conservation & protection

Nearly one-third of wildfire evacuations in Canada involve Indigenous communities. While evacuations are carried out to protect people from smoke and flames, deciding to leave brings its own challenges.

 

Based on interviews with evacuees from seven First Nations, this book outlines how Indigenous communities and external organizations can best prepa …

rated!
rated!

British Columbia in Flames

Stories from a Blazing Summer

by Claudia Cornwall
edition: Paperback
tagged: natural disasters, personal memoirs, fire & emergency services

Like many British Columbians in 2017, Claudia Cornwall found herself glued to the news about the disastrous wildfires across the province. Her worry was personal: her cabin at Sheridan Lake had been in the family for sixty years and was now in danger of destruction.

Cornwall, a long-time writer, was stricken not just by her own experience, but by th …

rated!
rated!

The Wake

The Deadly Legacy of a Newfoundland Tsunami

by Linden MacIntyre
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook
tagged: 20th century, natural disasters

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

“Fascinating, infuriating, eloquent and cautionary.” Postmedia

A Globe and Mail, CBC Books and Maclean’s Book of the Year

In the vein of Erik Larson’s Isaac’s Storm and Dead Wake comes an incredible true story of destruction and survival in Newfoundland by one of Canada’s best-known writers

On November 18, 1929, a tsu …

rated!
rated!

Atlantic Canada's Greatest Storms

by Dan Soucoup
edition: eBook
tagged: natural disasters, maritime history & piracy

Wind, waves and snow: Atlantic Canada has experienced more than its share of dramatic and tragic storms. In this accessible narrative, author Dan Soucoup takes readers from the eighteenth century to present day, as he details the blizzards, floods, tornadoes—and even tsunamis—that have brought havoc to the East Coast.

rated!
rated!

Captured by Fire

Surviving British Columbia's New Wildfire Reality

by Chris Czajkowski & Fred Reid
edition: Paperback
tagged: personal memoirs, natural disasters, wilderness

In the summer of 2017, wildfires dominated the headlines in British Columbia. As a low pressure weather system continued to cause lightning strikes, starting new fires, strong winds fanned the existing ones. Over two hundred fires burned in the province and nearly ten thousand people in or around the towns of 100 Mile House, Ashcroft, Cache Creek, …

Show editions